Switch Theme:

Veil of Tears & Barrage weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Dives with Horses

It notes in the veil of tears entry that you have to roll to TARGET the unit and VOT doesn't really follow normal stealth rules (Night Fight rules) so the question is, can a Harlequin unit be targeted by barrage weapons?

Drano doesn't exactly scream "toy" to me.

engine

 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Only if they're inside the rolled distance. As you have noticed, barrage/indirect/guess weapons allow you to fire at a target despite not having LOS, which helps in Nightfighting. But it doesn't help against the Harlequins, as Veil of Tears doesn't deny LOS, it prevents targeting.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Widowmaker






Syracuse, NY

As the barrage rules do not mention targeting, this is still a grey area. Is placing a template over a model considered to be targeting the unit with an attack?


   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





If you don't roll within the spotting distance you may not fire that turn. Clear and simple.

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By Moz on 12/14/2006 1:26 PM
As the barrage rules do not mention targeting, this is still a grey area. Is placing a template over a model considered to be targeting the unit with an attack?



Cleary you jest sir.

Page 31, under Barrage weapons states:

"Designate the target unit and place the Blast marker over it. . ."

Barrage weapons cannot target a veiled unit unless they roll enough on the spotting distance, period.

 


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Widowmaker






Syracuse, NY

Woah, right you are. I somehow got tunnel vision on the 2 bullet marked entries on that page.

I agree then, it is clear barrage weapons require a target unit, and if you don't make the spot check for the harlies then they may not be targeted.

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia

there is one exception.
you can fire castellan missiles from a whirlwind.
the harlequins will then be hit as per the castellan rules from C:SM
finally they're good for something

If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it.
item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Los Angeles, CA

The veil of tears does mention that you roll the dice and "this is your spotting distance".
It is worded fairly closely to the way the rules for night fight are worded.

I am of the opinion that units that ignore LOS can shoot harlies.

Call me The Master of Strategy

Warhammer
Army Strategy
Unit Strategy 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Posted By marv335 on 12/15/2006 1:58 PM
there is one exception.
you can fire castellan missiles from a whirlwind.
the harlequins will then be hit as per the castellan rules from C:SM
finally they're good for something



You can't put a minefield so that it's over enemy models unless you target that squad.

You can, however, put it close and hope it scatters onto them

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Posted By cypher on 12/15/2006 2:39 PM
The veil of tears does mention that you roll the dice and "this is your spotting distance".
It is worded fairly closely to the way the rules for night fight are worded.

I am of the opinion that units that ignore LOS can shoot harlies.

If the unit does not roll within spotting distance it may not fire. LOS means nothing. Night fighting rules mean nothing.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: