Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/14 09:46:01
Subject: Landraider as a transport
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
My understanding about using Raiders as a transport is that they my carry troops in power armour or in terminator armour. Thus you cannot include a mix of both. The situation I'm thinking of would be a unit of terminators in a Crusader with an independant character in power armour attached. My own interpretation would make such a unit illegal if transported in the Raider. It seems a bit odd to me that a character would need to wear terminator armour when leading a terminator unit. The only instances I really see it worth tooling an ic in termie armour was if he planned to deepstrike or take a termie command squad.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/14 11:57:31
Subject: RE: Landraider as a transport
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You'd be wrong. A model in terminator armor takes up two slots, a unit in power armor one. You can mix and match to your heart's content, as long as you don't exceed the total number.
|
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/14 12:53:17
Subject: RE: Landraider as a transport
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Posted By Centurian99 on 02/14/2007 4:57 PM You'd be wrong. A model in terminator armor takes up two slots, a unit in power armor one. You can mix and match to your heart's content, as long as you don't exceed the total number. Although it's worth pointing out that up until now, this has been a common convention, rather than an actual rule. Codex: Dark Angels finally fixes the Marine vehicles' transport capacity by specifying 'up to 10 models' and pointing out that Terminators take 2 spaces, rather than the old '10 models in power armour or 5 in terminator armour'...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/14 13:59:17
Subject: RE: Landraider as a transport
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Great, thanks for enlightening me guys. GW sure has a way with wording its rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/15 03:10:29
Subject: RE: Landraider as a transport
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Los Angeles, CA
|
Out of curiosity, would it be possible to have remants of multiple squads in a land raider at once? Say, 2 marines from a tac squad, 1 marine from a dev squad, 1 chaplin, and 2 termies from a terminator assult squad? Assuming that this is a heavy support land raider and not one the termies brought with them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/15 03:17:09
Subject: RE: Landraider as a transport
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
@ Insaniak: I think that convention also comes from the fact that the 3rd ed. IG codex(both versions) states that Terminators(and Ogryns) take up 2 spaces in the Chimera entry, as well as a 2nd ed carry-over from us older folk. So in a roundabout way, we had the rule, just not in any of the multiple Marine(and Chaos) 'Dexes.
@ Cypher: No, you're only allowed to have any one squad plus attached IC's in any transport, dedicated or not, at any given time. This would mean you could have the Chappy plus any ONE remnant of a squad in there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/16 08:14:02
Subject: RE: Landraider as a transport
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Mi.
|
Sounds all good so far but dont forget the raider can hold objectives even when taken as a transport. To bad its such a gun magnet when loaded up with command squad and tank itself. It really dies a bit to easy for me to justify useing unless its a huge game.
|
The only easy day was yesterday. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/16 08:41:14
Subject: RE: Landraider as a transport
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Oh, it can hold objectives, you say? how do you say that? (if its a transport, I mean)
|
Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."
For Hearth and Home! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/16 09:02:22
Subject: RE: Landraider as a transport
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Mi.
|
It was a faq put out by gw. ANY raider is able to hold odjectives even if its a dedicated transport. YES YES let me find it online and post here before theres any issue.
|
The only easy day was yesterday. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/17 01:57:30
Subject: RE: Landraider as a transport
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Good luck finding it. AFAIK this only applies to Landraiders taken from Codex: Space Marines. Normally different armies with varying rules for the same vehicle in their codices each use the rules in their own codex.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/17 04:43:43
Subject: RE: Landraider as a transport
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
what about the wargear book that standardized the special rules?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/18 03:55:45
Subject: RE: Landraider as a transport
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Maple Valley, Washington, Holy Terra
|
(Falls down laughing.)
|
"Calgar hates Tyranids."
Your #1 Fan |
|
 |
 |
|