Hi,
I have been reading the poles and discovering that various ways people read and interpret the rules.
The two regarding the Pile In rules got me thinking. They seem to contradict, but what if we assume they don't contradict, then it almost makes sense. (caveat, not near my book, so can't check how this impacts other rules.)
Threads here:
http://dakkadakka.com/Forums/tabid/56/forumid/15/postid/104876/view/topic/Default.aspx http://dakkadakka.com/Forums/tabid/56/forumid/15/view/topic/postid/104888/Default.aspx What if you followed both rules.
Unit A B and C are all in
cc. Unit A goes through the assault steps, and at step 6 all of those not in *Base contact* pile in up to 6". In the vast majority of cases, those that do move, will either end up in base contact, or at least engaged. Unit B and Unit C do the same.
Now it is the end of the assault phase. The rules now state that you look at all of these models again, are any of them not *engaged*? If they are not engaged, then they move up to 6" to be in Base contact, or at least engaged.
Technically, this could allow for a 12" pile in move, but realistically, that would almost never happen. Most that would move at the end of the assault phase, would have not moved during step 6, or moved only a few inches. The chances of being locked in
CC, then moving 6", and still being on the fringe enough for deaths to leave you not even engaged....
And this way we can follow all of the rules.