Switch Theme:

[Lotr][THaUJ] rules clarifications  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Skillful Swordsman





Leicheberg

So, after my 1st game last night (my Angmar vs. Isengard) have a couple of things I'm hoping the vets here can help with. Definitely looking for more "How I would play it" than YMDC.

1. We played that a model with a spear/pike "joining a fight" to support a friendly model that had successfully charged an enemy model with Terror did not have to make a Courage test since it is not "charging," just "joining the fight in a special way." Thoughts?

2. A Fell Light is in Them doesn't seem to fit the definition of a "Magical Power" (no Will is spent, no casting roll) and so shouldn't be subject to the restriction on those powers being cast once the model is engaged in combat. However, the description of the power states "At any point in its move, a Spectre can..." Now, the movement rules say that a model that has been charged can't move any further, but does that mean that it doesn't get a move. After reading what I just wrote I'm inclined to think I'm I just parsing too hard and can't use it once engaged.

I'm sure there were others, but I guess I should have written them down 'cause they're not coming to me atm.

Thanks in advance.

"What holds the Empire together, lad, is that our mutual dislike of each other is less than our dislike of everyone else."
- A Priest of Sigmar
 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker




New York

 Verd_Warr wrote:
So, after my 1st game last night (my Angmar vs. Isengard) have a couple of things I'm hoping the vets here can help with. Definitely looking for more "How I would play it" than YMDC.

1. We played that a model with a spear/pike "joining a fight" to support a friendly model that had successfully charged an enemy model with Terror did not have to make a Courage test since it is not "charging," just "joining the fight in a special way." Thoughts?

2. A Fell Light is in Them doesn't seem to fit the definition of a "Magical Power" (no Will is spent, no casting roll) and so shouldn't be subject to the restriction on those powers being cast once the model is engaged in combat. However, the description of the power states "At any point in its move, a Spectre can..." Now, the movement rules say that a model that has been charged can't move any further, but does that mean that it doesn't get a move. After reading what I just wrote I'm inclined to think I'm I just parsing too hard and can't use it once engaged.

I'm sure there were others, but I guess I should have written them down 'cause they're not coming to me atm.

Thanks in advance.


1. Spears/Pikes don't need courage tests to support.

2. I've always played it that you can use it on a model, but it gets to move again in its own phase.
   
Made in us
Skillful Swordsman





Leicheberg

I knew there were 4 new heroic actions and new monster attacks (rend, throw & something else?) in the rulebook.

"What holds the Empire together, lad, is that our mutual dislike of each other is less than our dislike of everyone else."
- A Priest of Sigmar
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings
Go to: