Switch Theme:

A few rules queries  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





Hi Guys, I hope someone can help me with these rules queries that have come up at our local club.

We are using the rules from the hobbit SBG book

Cavalry charges.

The hobbit rulebook says when a cavalry model charges a model "on foot" it gets its bonus attack dice. Does this mean models on smaller bases or any model on foot, such as a warg or troll or even a dragon?

Spear and pike support:

Can models support other models on larger bases than themselves?

Exhaustion spells.

They run out when the caster has no will left?

so a caster with 1 will point left could cast them, but then the effects automatically end,?

Thanks

~ Krieg 6k
~ Necrons 2.5k
~ Space Wolves 5K
~ :Khorne CSM 2k
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






1: Only guys on a smaller base, that's how I play. It makes more sense that way - a dragon would roast the cavalry model!
2: No they may not.
3: The effects end when their will = 0.
   
Made in au
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





Thanks for the reply.

This came up in our local club when someones Warg was charged and he said that the cavalry charging bonus didn't apply because it was on the same sized base, then proceeded to support a troll with a goblin with a spear, saying there was nothing in the rule book that said you can't.

We checked the rulebook (the hobbit) and it doesn't say you can and it doesn't say you cant.

Would it be reasonable to say that you could do either to the same size bases or smaller?

So goblin supporting goblin = yes
goblin supporting troll = no
troll supporting troll = yes
cavalry charging goblin = yes
cavalry charging troll = yes (but it doesn't get knock to the ground form str 6)
cavalry charging dragon = no

because there is a bit in the rules that says str 6 doesn't get knocked down it reads to me that you can charge monsters like trolls

anyone's thoughts on this?

~ Krieg 6k
~ Necrons 2.5k
~ Space Wolves 5K
~ :Khorne CSM 2k
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






I have a feeling the hobbit rules weren't so clear . . .

In situations like this, I use my common sense. It may not be written in the rules, but is a goblin really going to be able to support a massive troll with a 1.5 metre long spear? I go with same base size or smaller.

I'm not sure about the cavalry charging the troll bit. I think it has to be a smaller base.
   
Made in us
Crafty Bray Shaman




NOVA

The rules for cavalry specify that any foot model less than strength 6 gets knocked over. The spear rules are likewise specific. If I get a chance later I'll try to find the page numbers.

 
   
 
Forum Index » The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings
Go to: