Switch Theme:

pMorghoul - Overtake & Double Strike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Venator





Greetings rules lawyers! I have a question that came up in a game I recently played.

pMorghoul has Overtake (which states that if he destroys a model with an attack, he can advance 1") and Double Strike (which states that he can make two additional attacks for each fury point spent.)

Now -- the question is, are the 2 attacks simultaneous? Is he able to spend a fury, kill the model he's B2B with the first attack, advance the inch, then kill another model with the second extra attack? The rule for Overtake says very specifically that after a strike that results in a killing blow is resolved, Morghoul can move an inch, so I am of the opinion that it would work.

Please help!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/29 18:01:14


 
   
Made in us
Druid Warder




SLC UT

Oftentimes, unless a rule states otherwise, attacks are sequential. So for Double-Strike, no rule in itself or the Tactical Tips in the book entry says they are simultaneous, so they are resolved one-by-one. He can surf quite a bit from it.

And stuff.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yes, morghoul can buy 2 attacks, kill something with one attack, move an inch, kill something else with the second attack, move another inch, and so on and so forth.

He can indeed move quite a bit when killing stuff.

Unless something explicitly says it is simultaneous it is not.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





He is literally a walking Blender

If he was a solo or something instead of a warcaster this combo would be godly,

but as a warcaster unless the points is on the lowish side. Its usually not a good idea to risk him just to kill some grunts

I understand he also has Sprint, allowing him to run away around 8" after he is done, but thats still pretty close


6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

7"

But thats why you need to weigh the risk of him going crazy on an opponent's infantry vs can he get away.

I haven't usually had a problem, especially if you have access to Fatewalker. Then you can get even farther away.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Paingiver





Admonition will help as well. Lets say some Bog Trog Ambushers came from behind. Morg goes in and kills 6 of the ten and then sprints 7 inches away and casts Admonition on himself. Next turn the remaining 4 Bog Trogs charge Morg lets say 2 make it into base to base then he Admonition advances 3 more inches away, ignoring free strikes due to Perfect Balance, outside of their reach and next turn finished them off.

Thus, After having thus successively taken each member of the community in its powerful grasp and fashioned him at will, the supreme power then extends its arm over the whole community. It covers the surface of society with a network of small complicated rules, minute and uniform, through which the most original minds and the most energetic characters cannot penetrate, to rise above the crowd. The will of man is not shattered, but softened, bent, and guided; men are seldom forced by it to act, but they are constantly restrained from acting. Such a power does not destroy, but it prevents existence; it does not tyrannize, but it compresses, enervates, extinguishes, and stupefies a people, till each nation is reduced to nothing better than a flock of timid and industrious animals, of which the government is the shepherd
-Alexis de Tocqueville. 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




i think Admonition already ignores free strikes, i use with Ossyan all the time.
   
Made in us
Paingiver





Yep Skornergy

Thus, After having thus successively taken each member of the community in its powerful grasp and fashioned him at will, the supreme power then extends its arm over the whole community. It covers the surface of society with a network of small complicated rules, minute and uniform, through which the most original minds and the most energetic characters cannot penetrate, to rise above the crowd. The will of man is not shattered, but softened, bent, and guided; men are seldom forced by it to act, but they are constantly restrained from acting. Such a power does not destroy, but it prevents existence; it does not tyrannize, but it compresses, enervates, extinguishes, and stupefies a people, till each nation is reduced to nothing better than a flock of timid and industrious animals, of which the government is the shepherd
-Alexis de Tocqueville. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Remember that Overtake says you can move 1" , it doesn't say it needs to be forward

So on your last one you move backwards, letting you escape 8", not 7


6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47
 
   
Made in no
Longtime Dakkanaut





Add Fate Walker to it and you can escape 15". A bit expensive though for a 5 Fury warlock.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Hargus56 wrote:
Admonition will help as well. Lets say some Bog Trog Ambushers came from behind. Morg goes in and kills 6 of the ten and then sprints 7 inches away and casts Admonition on himself. Next turn the remaining 4 Bog Trogs charge Morg lets say 2 make it into base to base then he Admonition advances 3 more inches away, ignoring free strikes due to Perfect Balance, outside of their reach and next turn finished them off.


In that scenario, when Morg gets charged by the 4 Trogs, wouldn't admonition go off at the first charge (potentially) allowing him to still be charged by the remaining 3 ?

Edit: I just re-read admonition and it reads
"When an enemy model advances and ends it's movement within 6" of target model in this model's battlegroup, the affected model can immediately advance up to 3", then Admonition expires"


So I suppose he could wait until the final model makes it's charge, THEN you could chose to 'activate' Admonition. Still it seems like you could end up in sort of a pickle situation. how exactly would the order of operation go down? Say he decides to charge with 1 model, he makes the charge. You have to decide to activate it before he does the charge with the 2nd model right ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/31 03:02:21


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion






Brisbane

Just being picky, you can't sprint and then cast admonition, at least by my reading. 'At the end of this model's activation...'

I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I'm saying Admonition is already cast, you just choose whether or not to activate it
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion






Brisbane

I was replying to Hargus' post in which he said sprint then cast admonition, just trying to make sure it's all clear

I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Each model moving within 6" will trigger Admonition individually.

So first Trog moves its charge, Skorne player may then choose to Admonition or not. And so on for each individual Trog. So Morghoul could wait till the last Trog finishes moving to Admonition away.

Admonition is basically a game of chicken between the two players.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 Grey Templar wrote:
Each model moving within 6" will trigger Admonition individually.

So first Trog moves its charge, Skorne player may then choose to Admonition or not. And so on for each individual Trog. So Morghoul could wait till the last Trog finishes moving to Admonition away.

Admonition is basically a game of chicken between the two players.


right, but say after 2 successful Trog charges to morgul, and morgul doesn't activate Admonition, the Trog player could then declare a run/charge and just run with the rest of the models, correct?
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yeah, you could choose to not move any more models near to Morghoul to avoid triggering Admonition.


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: