Switch Theme:

A couple of rules clarifications  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator






Played the 3 rulebook scenarios last night and picked up another couple of minis to add to the core set today, but had a question or two that I was a little hazy on when we last played.

First off the shields DON'T regenerate right?

Secondly, target lock rerolls the whole hand or do you get to pick the dice to reroll?

And lastly, if you say get a focus free from an ability, can you then use an action to focus again for instance? (Basically do actions like that stack through the turn)

- 1250 points
Empire of the Blazing Sun (Combined Theaters)- 1950 points
FUBAR Starship Troopers- Would you like to know more?
GENERATION 9: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.  
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Solahma






RVA

 doc1234 wrote:
First off the shields DON'T regenerate right?
Only if you have an upgrade that allows this, such as R2-D2:


 doc1234 wrote:

Secondly, target lock rerolls the whole hand or do you get to pick the dice to reroll?
You can choose any number of attack dice to re-roll.
 doc1234 wrote:
And lastly, if you say get a focus free from an ability, can you then use an action to focus again for instance? (Basically do actions like that stack through the turn)
Rulebook p.8:
If an ability allows a ship to perform a “free action,” this action does not count as the one action allowed during the “Perform Action” step.
And then on p. 9:
Card abilities without the “action:” header may be resolved when specified on the card and do not count as the ship’s action. However, a ship cannot perform the same action more than once during a single game round (not even when the action is a “free action”).

   
Made in gb
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator






Ok thanks for the clarifying there, the last one especially I guess didn't click in my brain together (as for the first I meant naturally regening)

- 1250 points
Empire of the Blazing Sun (Combined Theaters)- 1950 points
FUBAR Starship Troopers- Would you like to know more?
GENERATION 9: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.  
   
Made in gb
Joined the Military for Authentic Experience





On an Express Elevator to Hell!!

doc1234 - hope you don't mind me hijacking your thread with another question!

Regarding R2D2 - can he be used every single turn? Just played a game with Luke Skywalker with that card and he was nigh-on indestructible..


Epic 30K&40K! A new players guide, contributors welcome https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/751316.page
 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 Pacific wrote:
doc1234 - hope you don't mind me hijacking your thread with another question!

Regarding R2D2 - can he be used every single turn? Just played a game with Luke Skywalker with that card and he was nigh-on indestructible..


Unless a card explicitly states a limit on how often it can be used ("do X and discard this card", for example) then you can use it as many times as you want (assuming you meet the conditions for a triggered event, spend an action to use cards that grant a new action, etc). Since R2-D2 does not have any explicit limit other than performing a green maneuver you may regain a shield every time you make a green maneuver.

Just don't forget that since you can't spend your droid slot on a basic R2 to give you additional green maneuvers that condition is going to make Luke fly pretty predictably (straight 1-2 or 1 bank) so you should be able to get multiple ships to focus fire on him pretty easily. And it's a pretty expensive combo, you're paying 32 points minimum without any other upgrades which can be a serious "all your eggs in one basket" problem.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/24 01:04:56


There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in gb
Joined the Military for Authentic Experience





On an Express Elevator to Hell!!

OK cheers for the clarification on that Peregrine.

Epic 30K&40K! A new players guide, contributors welcome https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/751316.page
 
   
Made in us
2nd Lieutenant




San Jose, California

 Peregrine wrote:
 Pacific wrote:
doc1234 - hope you don't mind me hijacking your thread with another question!

Regarding R2D2 - can he be used every single turn? Just played a game with Luke Skywalker with that card and he was nigh-on indestructible..


Unless a card explicitly states a limit on how often it can be used ("do X and discard this card", for example) then you can use it as many times as you want (assuming you meet the conditions for a triggered event, spend an action to use cards that grant a new action, etc). Since R2-D2 does not have any explicit limit other than performing a green maneuver you may regain a shield every time you make a green maneuver.

Just don't forget that since you can't spend your droid slot on a basic R2 to give you additional green maneuvers that condition is going to make Luke fly pretty predictably (straight 1-2 or 1 bank) so you should be able to get multiple ships to focus fire on him pretty easily. And it's a pretty expensive combo, you're paying 32 points minimum without any other upgrades which can be a serious "all your eggs in one basket" problem.


Agreed. It depends on who you pair Luke up with when you kit him out this way with R2D2. When I run him it's usually with this set up:

Luke w/Veteran Instincts, R2D2 and Shield (37)
Wedge w/Swarm Tactics and R2 (32)
Biggs w/R2F2 and Stealth (31)

I've run this list 3 times so far and have yet to lose Luke (he hasn't even taken a point of hull damage yet). I've learned to keep Biggs in trail but within range 1 of Luke & Wedge, activating R2F2 for the extra agility, to draw fire away from the primary attackers. It also gives me a PS10 and 2 PS9 pilots, thanks to Swarm Tactics, shooting in the combat phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/24 15:28:17


Solve a man's problem with violence and help him for a day. Teach a man how to solve his problems with violence, help him for a lifetime - Belkar Bitterleaf 
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

 doc1234 wrote:


And lastly, if you say get a focus free from an ability, can you then use an action to focus again for instance? (Basically do actions like that stack through the turn)


Manchu's answer was right in most cases, but I just wanted to clarify a bit further.

If you received a focus token as a result of another action (such as the Baron's ability or Garven Dreiss' move it once he's used it) then you are free to focus again.

What you wouldn't be able to do is use some sort of game effect that allowed you to Focus as a free action, then Focus again as your "paid for" action.

This is why Turr Phennir can't barrel roll as an action in the movement phase, and barrell roll again if he attacks that turn.

Essentially, if it is the consequence of another action, you're golden, if it is a duplicate action, you can't.

We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
Made in gb
Joined the Military for Authentic Experience





On an Express Elevator to Hell!!

A couple more questions here if I may!

- the 'out of bounds' rule, determining if a ship has left the tabletop. If you put down the move template, do you count just the starting/finishing positions of the ship with regards to it being out of bounds, or are you meant to track the ship along its path and if the base would have overhung the table edge at any point along it, then it counts as out of bounds?

- the 'determined pilot' upgrade card. It says 'discard any critical damage to pilot' damage cards. So you really just throw away those critical damage cards, and the ship doesn't suffer any damage at all? Seems rather powerful..

- how do the weapon malfunction cards work? We've been playing them as reducing attack dice by one (not an extra damage on the ship) - if the ship makes an action, rolling the dice and if it shows 'explosion', flipping the card and adding the damage to the ship. Is that correct?

Any thoughts on these appreciated!

Epic 30K&40K! A new players guide, contributors welcome https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/751316.page
 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 Pacific wrote:
- the 'out of bounds' rule, determining if a ship has left the tabletop. If you put down the move template, do you count just the starting/finishing positions of the ship with regards to it being out of bounds, or are you meant to track the ship along its path and if the base would have overhung the table edge at any point along it, then it counts as out of bounds?


Only the final position of the base counts. A ship does not move along the template, you place the template and move the ship directly to the end.

- the 'determined pilot' upgrade card. It says 'discard any critical damage to pilot' damage cards. So you really just throw away those critical damage cards, and the ship doesn't suffer any damage at all? Seems rather powerful..


That's exactly how it works. However, it only works on face up cards (only some of your damage) and only on that one category of damage (only a small part of the deck). So yes, it will save you some damage, but it's questionable whether it will make much of a difference in saving your ship compared to the other skills (for example, "push the limit" to focus and evade to boost your defense and not take the hit at all).

- how do the weapon malfunction cards work? We've been playing them as reducing attack dice by one (not an extra damage on the ship) - if the ship makes an action, rolling the dice and if it shows 'explosion', flipping the card and adding the damage to the ship. Is that correct?


You're playing it wrong. The card is dealt face-up to the ship as usual, counting towards the total number of damage cards to destroy it, and the attack dice reduction effect is applied. If you pass the roll to flip the card the card is turned face down and the critical effect ends, but the ship still has the damage card.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges






Limbo

 Peregrine wrote:

- how do the weapon malfunction cards work? We've been playing them as reducing attack dice by one (not an extra damage on the ship) - if the ship makes an action, rolling the dice and if it shows 'explosion', flipping the card and adding the damage to the ship. Is that correct?


You're playing it wrong. The card is dealt face-up to the ship as usual, counting towards the total number of damage cards to destroy it, and the attack dice reduction effect is applied. If you pass the roll to flip the card the card is turned face down and the critical effect ends, but the ship still has the damage card.


To follow up on this to maybe clarify on damage:

Minus shields (which just plink off instead of causing damage to the ship), consider that every damage card you are dealt (face-down or face-up) constitutes one point of damage. The only difference is that the face-up cards cause additional effects.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/14 13:47:08


DS:80S+GM--B++I+Pwhfb/re#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(O)DM+++

Madness and genius are separated by degrees of success.

Remember to follow the Swap Shop Rules and Guidelines! 
   
Made in gb
Joined the Military for Authentic Experience





On an Express Elevator to Hell!!

That's very helpful, thanks for the replies guys.

Epic 30K&40K! A new players guide, contributors welcome https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/751316.page
 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Wanted to make sure I'm playing it right, and this seems like a good thread to post a rules qustion too. Han Solo's reroll is all or nothing correct. So if I roll 1 hit and 2 blank, I reroll all three, not the 2 blank and keep the hit...correct?

pts tyranids
???? pts Imperial Guard
750 points Grey Knight Inquisitors
2500 FleshTearers
2500 pts Space Wolfs
1500 pts Eldar
Trades: Mark kelly, godswildcard, Uriels_Flame, Myrthan, Harakiri, jason2250, timetowaste85, Gav99, Alkaid
 
   
Made in us
2nd Lieutenant




San Jose, California

Kai wrote:
Wanted to make sure I'm playing it right, and this seems like a good thread to post a rules qustion too. Han Solo's reroll is all or nothing correct. So if I roll 1 hit and 2 blank, I reroll all three, not the 2 blank and keep the hit...correct?


Correct. With Solo you re-roll all of the attack dice using his ability....unless the target is Dark Curse.

Solve a man's problem with violence and help him for a day. Teach a man how to solve his problems with violence, help him for a lifetime - Belkar Bitterleaf 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 Zathras wrote:
Correct. With Solo you re-roll all of the attack dice using his ability....unless the target is Dark Curse.


One minor correction: you must re-roll all of the dice that you CAN re-roll. If, for example, a die has already been re-rolled (elusiveness skill) or specifically can not be re-rolled (sensor jammer) then you don't re-roll it. But you can still us Han's ability and will just re-roll the dice you're allowed to re-roll.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
 
Forum Index » Atomic Mass Games (Star Wars & Marvel: Crisis Protocol)
Go to: