Switch Theme:

Return Fire +Shield Guard  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I am curious about these interacting. I saw a discussion about it on a different forum, but no consensus was reached.

Return Fire says "When target friendly Faction model is targeted by an enemy ranged attack, after the attack is resolved the affected model can make one normal melee or ranged attack, then Return Fire expires. Return Fire lasts for one round."

Shield Guard says "Once per round, when a friendly model is directly hit by a ranged attack during your opponent's turn while withing 2" of this model, this model can become the target of the attack and be automatically hit instead."

So if Return Fire is on a model with Shield Guard (such as a Sentinel) and a friendly model within 2" of the Sentinel is shot by a ranged attack, would the Sentinel then be able to return fire as it becomes the new target?
   
Made in pt
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Yes. Like you said yourself, the Sentinel is the new target so it can shoot back as per the Return Fire rule.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




2nd Part to this question. Would the original target cease counting as targeted then? Or would it also count as having been targeted? Meaning if Return Fire was on the Shield Guard model and the Shield Guarded model, would they BOTH get to Return Fire?
   
Made in pt
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Wait a second, you have the definition of Shield Guard wrong:

Once per round, when a friendly model is directly hit by a ranged
attack during your opponent’s turn while within 2˝ of this
model, you can choose to have this model directly hit instead.
This model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and
effects. This model cannot use Shield Guard if it is incorporeal,
knocked down, or stationary.


As such I amend my original reply, the shield guard model is not the Target of the attack, the original model is, so only the original model can use Return Fire.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/10 17:12:16


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




What I posted for Shield Guard is the exact rules from Sentinel in the Cygnar book though...
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Biloxi, MS USA

Domine Nox wrote:
What I posted for Shield Guard is the exact rules from Sentinel in the Cygnar book though...


And Shield Guard has been Errata'd.

You know you're really doing something when you can make strangers hate you over the Internet. - Mauleed
Just remember folks. Panic. Panic all the time. It's the only way to survive, other than just being mindful, of course-but geez, that's so friggin' boring. - Aegis Grimm
Hallowed is the All Pie
The Before Times: A Place That Celebrates The World That Was 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Well, at least that clears it all up then. Thanks for the timely replies.
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: