| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/09 04:25:17
Subject: Sorry to cont. with the noob questions.....
|
 |
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle
|
When using a arch node does it cost any extra focus?
Thanks and sorry again for a question that I am sure is in the book. I picked it up a few days ago and haven't got all the way through it.
Also when casting you add the focus left after the attack is "purchased" Ex.
Warwitch Deneghra has 7 focus if i cast crippling grasp for 3 forces i would then roll 2 D6+4?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/09 04:30:27
"Look upon me and know that I can slay you at will. You have no defence save one: to look into the darkness at the back of your own mind. There, you will find Father Nurgle waiting to offer you life in return for your submission. Deny him, and you are mine." — Typhus the Traveller, Herald of Nurgle
9,500-CSM
3,500-GK
Cryx
Trollbloods
Neverborn
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/09 05:19:27
Subject: Sorry to cont. with the noob questions.....
|
 |
Bane Lord Tartar Sauce
|
Son of aY3ti wrote:When using a arch node does it cost any extra focus?
Thanks and sorry again for a question that I am sure is in the book. I picked it up a few days ago and haven't got all the way through it.
Also when casting you add the focus left after the attack is "purchased" Ex.
Warwitch Deneghra has 7 focus if i cast crippling grasp for 3 forces i would then roll 2 D6+4?
To answer as best as I can:
1. No, there is no additional cost to using an arc node to cast a spell unless otherwise stated in either the spell or the specific rules of the model with the arc node.
2. To clarify, there is a difference between the FOCUS stat, and the number of FOCUS COUNTERS allocated to a model. A models FOCUS stat is the value printed on the card, while the FOCUS Counters are allocated at the start of your turn. Using offensive spells requires that you make a magic attack role using the FOCUS stat against the enemy model, not the focus currently on the warcaster. So if Warwitch Denegrah attempted to cast Crippling Grasp, on her to-hit role she would use 2D6 + 7 to hit, no matter how many focus points she has left on her.
The easiest way to think about it is that the FOCUS stat does double duty. It both controls how much focus your warcaster generates, as well as acting as a " RAT for spellcasting" stat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/09 12:34:34
Subject: Sorry to cont. with the noob questions.....
|
 |
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer
|
When you cast a magic ability with a Warcaster/Warlock, you use your focus stat, not how much focus you have. So if pDenny casts Crippling Grasp, your roll is 2d6+7 (and you can spend a focus to boost it and get 3d6+7). Your FOCUS stat never changes, the amount of Focus doesn't apply to your roll. In this case let's say you have the full 7 focus on her. You spend 3 to cast Crippling Grasp, leaving you with 4. That has no bearing on the roll, which uses the stat (i.e. 7) not how much is currently on you. For warcasters, the main thing to worry about the Focus remaining on you is determining the extra ARM you get from Power Field. To put it another way, there's a subtle difference between FOCUS (the stat) and Focus (the amount). In most nomenclature you'll see the stat in all-caps like I just did to differentiate it. To answer your other question, no there is no extra cost for using an Arc Node, the Arc Node just needs to be in your caster's control area (i.e. FOCUS stat 2x, or 14" in the case of Warwitch Deneghra) when she casts the spell, and then the Arc Node becomes the point of origin for the spell.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/01/09 12:36:23
- Wayne
Formerly WayneTheGame |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/09 17:20:15
Subject: Re:Sorry to cont. with the noob questions.....
|
 |
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle
|
Thank you guys!!! Made it so simple a noob could read it.
|
"Look upon me and know that I can slay you at will. You have no defence save one: to look into the darkness at the back of your own mind. There, you will find Father Nurgle waiting to offer you life in return for your submission. Deny him, and you are mine." — Typhus the Traveller, Herald of Nurgle
9,500-CSM
3,500-GK
Cryx
Trollbloods
Neverborn
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/09 18:58:52
Subject: Sorry to cont. with the noob questions.....
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Just to clarify, this is not always true.
pDenny's feat actually does reduce FOCUS for one round. So it will change how much Focus is generated by effected warcasters on the turn after she pops it, and it will reduce their Control range by 4" as well.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/16 23:26:05
Subject: Sorry to cont. with the noob questions.....
|
 |
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter
|
FOCUS and Focus are two different things. FOCUS is the number below your warcaster's portrait on the card that tell you how much Focus you get to generate every turn and is added to spell attack rolls.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|