| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 13:11:04
Subject: Religious and Linked Teams
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So im finally going to try linked teams tonight for the first time ever... with 5 Magster knights
Was looking in FAQ and ended up confusing myself.
If they are all 5 linked, are they impetious still? Seems like it goes away
If I enter Loss of LT, the 5 man team keeps regular orders? because they are religious?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 13:36:32
Subject: Religious and Linked Teams
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
|
As long as they are linked they are regular, but in LoL, since they are in a link and considered regular religious not Impetious, they will become Irregular in the LoL.
If they are not in their link they would become Irregular and Impetious.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 14:11:21
Subject: Re:Religious and Linked Teams
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So in LoL they are all irregular, can I not use them as a link team? Or can I still use one of the irregular orders to move or shoot with the team
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 14:24:04
Subject: Religious and Linked Teams
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
|
I don't have access to the N3 FAQs at work to answer that one correctly. If you know a link (not on Infinity's or data-sphere) I can see if I can figure that one out.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 17:46:53
Subject: Religious and Linked Teams
|
 |
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter
|
Link Teams haven't been updated to N3 that I know of but I've been digging and the Human Sphere rules say (on page 6 of http://www.infinitythegame.com/infinity/downloads/rules/[en]RulesHS.pdf ) that if a Religious Troop in a Link Team uses his order while the army is in Loss of Lieutenant he leaves the link. Automatically Appended Next Post: (Link doing weird things, copy-paste the whole thing and it'll work)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/13 17:47:51
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 18:53:16
Subject: Re:Religious and Linked Teams
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Guess that makes sense for balance purposes. Linked and they are just regular, but LoL they break link if they use their irregular order.
Thanks guys!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 18:53:42
Subject: Religious and Linked Teams
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
|
So yeah. Knights Link - Now regular- LoL - Knights now Irregular- Irregular can only be used on the troop himself- if troop uses that order the link breaks.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/13 18:55:59
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 23:16:55
Subject: Re:Religious and Linked Teams
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
From the errata:
DOES THIS PARAGRAPH CONCERNING RELIGIOUS TROOPS IN FIRETEAMS STILL APPLY IN 3RD ED?
[“In a Loss of Lieutenant situation, any figure belonging to a Linked Team and possessing the Religious Troop Special Skill, who uses its Order (The Order the Religious Troop Special Skill allows it to keep for itself) is no longer part of the Linked Team."]
No, it doesn't. The overhaul of the Religious Troop Special Skill in 3rd Ed has rendered that ruling obsolete.
On the other hand...
UNDER 3RD ED RULES, WHAT HAPPENS TO A
FIRETEAM THAT ENTERS LOSS OF LIEUTENANT?
Loss of Lieutenant in 3rd Ed does not automatically break Fireteam links.
However, troops in Loss of Lieutenant become Irregular. Should a member of a Fireteam expend his Irregular Order, he au- tomatically and immediately abandons the Fireteam and forfeits all its bonuses.
That last sentence is really important, and applies beyond the context of the question.
Should a member of a Fireteam expend his Irregular Order, he au- tomatically and immediately abandons the Fireteam and forfeits all its bonuses.
If you have a source of regular orders, you can spend them on the models in the link team without breaking it. But if you spend an irregular order (which, of course, you can only spend on the model that generates the irregular order), you cause the model to leave the link team.
So, essentially, "The same result, but for a different reason."
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 23:34:48
Subject: Re:Religious and Linked Teams
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
|
solkan wrote:From the errata:
DOES THIS PARAGRAPH CONCERNING RELIGIOUS TROOPS IN FIRETEAMS STILL APPLY IN 3RD ED?
[“In a Loss of Lieutenant situation, any figure belonging to a Linked Team and possessing the Religious Troop Special Skill, who uses its Order (The Order the Religious Troop Special Skill allows it to keep for itself) is no longer part of the Linked Team."]
No, it doesn't. The overhaul of the Religious Troop Special Skill in 3rd Ed has rendered that ruling obsolete.
On the other hand...
UNDER 3RD ED RULES, WHAT HAPPENS TO A
FIRETEAM THAT ENTERS LOSS OF LIEUTENANT?
Loss of Lieutenant in 3rd Ed does not automatically break Fireteam links.
However, troops in Loss of Lieutenant become Irregular. Should a member of a Fireteam expend his Irregular Order, he au- tomatically and immediately abandons the Fireteam and forfeits all its bonuses.
That last sentence is really important, and applies beyond the context of the question.
Should a member of a Fireteam expend his Irregular Order, he au- tomatically and immediately abandons the Fireteam and forfeits all its bonuses.
If you have a source of regular orders, you can spend them on the models in the link team without breaking it. But if you spend an irregular order (which, of course, you can only spend on the model that generates the irregular order), you cause the model to leave the link team.
So, essentially, "The same result, but for a different reason."
So what I said ;P Thanks for the citations though lol of course the only way you would have orders lying about to use is if you have a Vet1 or you are Morat in which case doesn't matter cause Morats give no damns about LoL.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|