Switch Theme:

Confused about Angel's Wrath r.o.w.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Been Around the Block




Hi all. I'm reading the Angel's Wrath rules in my LA:CAL red book (NOT the most recently updated one). I'm confused about exactly what units I can and can't take. I think the two first limitations don't make sense together. I may be reading it wrong.

Under limitations, the first bit says only jump infantry, skimmers, jetbikes, and infantry in transporting flyers/skimmers can be taken in the force. However, the next bit says no tanks can be taken, unless they are also flyers/skimmers.

1) the second bit seems completely redundant, as tanks aren't in the list of things you can take in the first place, and as for the flyers -
2) It's not actually clear what flyers you can take. I think they forgot to add 'flyers' in the first list. They way it's written, it sounds like only transport flyers could be taken with infantry inside, eg no fire raptor or fighters. Or perhaps the second limitation is a bizarre way of saying you may also take tank-flyers in the force, in addition to the first list of units.

I can't figure out what their intent is. Maybe this was changed in the most recent update? Any clarification would be greatly appreciated.
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






ArikTaranis wrote:
2) It's not actually clear what flyers you can take. I think they forgot to add 'flyers' in the first list. They way it's written, it sounds like only transport flyers could be taken with infantry inside, eg no fire raptor or fighters.


This is obviously correct, given that one of the rules is that Fire Raptor gunships (not a transport flyer) gain the strafing run USR. It would make no sense to give a bonus to a unit that you're not allowed to take, so the most likely RAI answer is that you add "flyers" to the list of permitted unit types.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Did Fulgrim Just Behead Ferrus?





Fort Worth, TX

Perhaps the tank limitation is meant to prevent people from taking a squad, in a rhino, carried by a Thunderhawk transporter.

"Through the darkness of future past, the magician longs to see.
One chants out between two worlds: Fire, walk with me."
- Twin Peaks
"You listen to me. While I will admit to a certain cynicism, the fact is that I am a naysayer and hatchetman in the fight against violence. I pride myself in taking a punch and I'll gladly take another because I choose to live my life in the company of Gandhi and King. My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method... is love. I love you Sheriff Truman." - Twin Peaks 
   
Made in us
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe




Bodt

It probably mentions no tanks excepts flyers to cover the Caestus, which is also a tank. Trying to clear up confusion of "well, it doesn't say you can take tanks so you can't take your Caestus" except just causing unnecessary redundancy.

4000 pts
4700+ pts
2500 pts Hive Fleet Gungnir

St. Peter don't you call me 'cause I can't go. I owe my soul to GW's store. 
   
 
Forum Index » The Horus Heresy
Go to: