This is probably wishful thinking, but I'd like to get a ruling.
When a Chaos Greater Daemon sucessfully casts Gift of Chaos, the newly transformed Chaos Spawn - a follower - forms a unit with the Daemon.
If this newly-formed unit gets shot at, the rules say that the Daemon is big enough that it can be targeted on its own "even if it has joined a unit."
Would this apply to the Daemon-Spawn unit as well, meaning that the enemy can concentrate all of its firepower on the daemon and still make make both models go poof?
The easy answer is probably yes... however, the RAW state that this large target-type rule is in effect if the Daemon joins a unit, and in the case of Gift of Chaos, the Daemon never actually actively joined a unit. I wouldn't actually make this argument to an opponent though... it's RAW, but pretty ridiculous.
I am, however, wondering if the fact that followers "are essentially wargear" might mitigate the large target rule. There is precedence for followers acting differently than standard unit-mates (e.g., they don't suffer from nurgle's rot). Can you really target the Daemon and ignore his "essentially wargear?" Again, I am probably answering my own question and guessing yes, but it might be worth a discussion.
Same question then applies for treating the Daemon - which is an IC - as a separate unit from the Spawn in CC. In this case, however, I would assume that if a Tau commander is attacked separately from his drones, so is a Daemon with a Spawn.
Thanks!