| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/13 06:16:10
Subject: IG Officer's Leadership special rule and transports
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Can a squad use the officer's leadership if they are within 12" and the officer is mounted in a chimera?
Using the RAW guidlines I am thinking that because the rule states the officer is within 12" they would be able to use his leadership. As no mention that the officer needs to be unmounted.
Thoughts?
Brave Rifles
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/13 07:30:36
Subject: RE: IG Officer's Leadership special rule and transports
|
 |
Master of the Hunt
|
You must work out with your opponent where exactly the mounted character is within the vehicle, as this is not clearly spelled out in the rules. Using the geometric center of the vehicle is usually an acceptable convention.
|
"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning. It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/13 08:36:27
Subject: RE: IG Officer's Leadership special rule and transports
|
 |
Sister Oh-So Repentia
Northeast USA
|
Whenever a model is referred to in the text, the model has to be on the table for any rules affecting it to apply. If you must be within 12" of the IG character's model to get a Ld boost from him, and he's in a transport 12" away, you get no benefit because the character's model is not actually on the table. Yes, he still exists and is in the game, but everything is done based on the model, not the idea of the model. You can't measure 12" from the character to another model because he isn't there. Only once he disembarks and exists as a model on the table from which you can measure 12" can the rule work.
|
"That thou wouldst bring them only death,/ That thou shouldst spare none,/ That thou shouldst pardon none/ We beseech thee, destroy them."
-Battle Hymn of the Adepta Sororitas |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/13 09:17:05
Subject: RE: IG Officer's Leadership special rule and transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dives with Horses
|
As I don't play IG I don't know if there has been an FAQ for IG on this but there has been for marines and thier chapter master and it notes that if a chapter master is in a transport you still get the LD bonus so if you are looking for precedent you have it. I would have a hard time with someone arguing that because a models feet aren't on the table you don't get the bonus.
|
Drano doesn't exactly scream "toy" to me.
engine
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/13 10:16:45
Subject: RE: IG Officer's Leadership special rule and transports
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ixe wrote: Whenever a model is referred to in the text, the model has to be on the table for any rules affecting it to apply. If you must be within 12" of the IG character's model to get a Ld boost from him, and he's in a transport 12" away, you get no benefit because the character's model is not actually on the table.
Why is that Ixe? The rules certainly don't tell you to remove your models from the table when they embark on a vehicle. Why aren't you putting your models inside your vehicles? Don't tell me you haven't fully modeled the interiors of your vehicles and convered them to a larger size to hold the appropriate amount of models! Okay, I'm kidding. But the point is, the rules don't tell us to remove embarked models from the board. They're supposed to be on/inside the vehicle that is carrying them. We are all using a common convention (removing models from the board) to get around an issue (that the models won't fit inside the vehicle model). So we have to make up another convention to guess where embarked models actually are. It isn't that hard to do. Using the center of the vehicle is quite fair because it gives the owning player the absolute least amount of advantage.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/14 09:31:48
Subject: RE: IG Officer's Leadership special rule and transports
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Well, orks get to use the benifits of a custom force feild if their character is mounted, so that means that is works for IG too.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/15 11:58:57
Subject: RE: IG Officer's Leadership special rule and transports
|
 |
Sister Oh-So Repentia
Northeast USA
|
What I said was inference, based on the fact that if the model is in a vehicle, you can't draw a line of sight to it, can't shoot, assault, or use psychic powers on it, or affect it at all aside from by hurting the vehicle. This says to me that the model becomes an abstract "transported troop" which doesn't function like an infantry model. However, since space marines can do it, that means IG should be able to as well in my book. Official text beats inferences any day.
|
"That thou wouldst bring them only death,/ That thou shouldst spare none,/ That thou shouldst pardon none/ We beseech thee, destroy them."
-Battle Hymn of the Adepta Sororitas |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|