Switch Theme:

I'm confused about reactionary stratagems...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests






Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.

The recent rules reveal for 1kSons got me thinking about this ability, and others like it:



Ok so my opponent selects my Scarab Terminators as a target for a unit. I use this strat. Can my opponent then just change their mind, switch targets and shoot at something else, leaving my CP (kinda) wasted?

Industrial Insanity - My Terrain Blog
"GW really needs to understand 'Less is more' when it comes to AoS." - Wha-Mu-077

 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





No, because they've started shooting with that unit, and have selected the unit as a target of the attack. After you've selected your targets, and after you play this strat, the rules move on to actually firing the weapons.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Agreed with Yarium. Your opponent has already committed to shooting the unit before you use the stratagem, so he can't back out of that.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Agreed, selecting a target is part of the shooting process. Once he's selected the unit, and procs the strat, that's it, he can't back out.

Edit: To piggy-back on this question; if I used this strat and reduced D2 weapons to D1, would that then trigger All is Dust? It's technically a D2 weapon but the damage has been reduced.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/08/06 18:31:39


 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 Valkyrie wrote:
Agreed, selecting a target is part of the shooting process. Once he's selected the unit, and procs the strat, that's it, he can't back out.

Edit: To piggy-back on this question; if I used this strat and reduced D2 weapons to D1, would that then trigger All is Dust? It's technically a D2 weapon but the damage has been reduced.
Not having seen the Codex, only the article, I think the answer to your latter question is yes.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 JNAProductions wrote:
 Valkyrie wrote:
Agreed, selecting a target is part of the shooting process. Once he's selected the unit, and procs the strat, that's it, he can't back out.

Edit: To piggy-back on this question; if I used this strat and reduced D2 weapons to D1, would that then trigger All is Dust? It's technically a D2 weapon but the damage has been reduced.
Not having seen the Codex, only the article, I think the answer to your latter question is yes.

It's yes, the community article specifically states this works
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Warcom articles arent rules. They have been wrong multiple times.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Valkyrie wrote:
Agreed, selecting a target is part of the shooting process. Once he's selected the unit, and procs the strat, that's it, he can't back out.

Edit: To piggy-back on this question; if I used this strat and reduced D2 weapons to D1, would that then trigger All is Dust? It's technically a D2 weapon but the damage has been reduced.


The characteristic has been reduced so it looks to me like it would trigger. It's now a D1 weapon thanks to the strat.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
Warcom articles arent rules. They have been wrong multiple times.

Except they gave the actual rules, so yes, they are rules. Both rules. It's not difficult to work out damage 1 is damage 1
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






It's also the same wording as many other 9th edition stratagems, which work exactly in the same way.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: