Switch Theme:

Breaking Through VS revolting steach vats  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Revolting Stench Vats (Aura): While an enemy unit is within 6” of the bearer, that unit cannot make use of any rules that allow it to fight first and never counts as having made a charge move this turn.

How does this work?

[Thumb - Screenshot_20220102_181818_com.android.chrome.jpg]

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/01/02 17:20:32


 
   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

A unit that is within 6" of the bearer of the Revolting Stench-Vats cannot use the Breaking Through stratagem.

Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

I was wrong.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/01/02 18:01:06


 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

 MinMax wrote:
A unit that is within 6" of the bearer of the Revolting Stench-Vats cannot use the Breaking Through stratagem.


Yeah, that was how we played it.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, as they haven't made a charge.
   
Made in us
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle




I think this is one of those weird circumstances where what we think its asking for and what its actually asking for aren't aligned.

As with "counts as remaining stationary" still failing things that require no movement in the movement phase.

This isn't looking for a model that has charged, just one that has competed a charge move, which it did or it wouldn't be in range. It doesn't count as charging but still completed that charge move.
   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

PoorGravitasHandling wrote:
I think this is one of those weird circumstances where what we think its asking for and what its actually asking for aren't aligned.

As with "counts as remaining stationary" still failing things that require no movement in the movement phase.

This isn't looking for a model that has charged, just one that has competed a charge move, which it did or it wouldn't be in range. It doesn't count as charging but still completed that charge move.


Note the exact text - "doesn't count as having completed a charge move".

Only a unit which completed a charge move can use the stratagem, and any unit within 6" of the Revolting Stench-Vats does not count as such.

Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

PoorGravitasHandling wrote:
I think this is one of those weird circumstances where what we think its asking for and what its actually asking for aren't aligned.

As with "counts as remaining stationary" still failing things that require no movement in the movement phase.

This isn't looking for a model that has charged, just one that has competed a charge move, which it did or it wouldn't be in range. It doesn't count as charging but still completed that charge move.




Agreed. I see no reason why both cant be true. The strat can be used, but the tyranid unit would fight normally.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/01/03 07:41:42


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The start cannot be used p5, as the bug hasn't made a charge move.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

It has finished a charge move, otherwise it wouldnt be in engagement range. It just doesnt count as having made a charge move.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




So you're treating it as having made a charge move, despite being explicitly told it hasn't done so. Right.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






So its really all about timing.

You use the strat after it finish's its charge move.


The questions only comes down to: Did it finish its charge move if it doesnt count as having charged?


It certainly did make a charge move, and finished it, but now it counts as having not charged.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"never counts as having made a charge move this turn"

No timing. As soon as it is within 6" of the bearer of the relic, it NEVER counts as having made a charge move. At no point are you able to use the strat, because the model has NOT made a charge move.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

As nosferatu1001 noted, you have to use the stratagem on a unit that completed a Charge Move, but a unit within 6" of a model with Revolting Stench Vats never counts has having made a Charge Move. No valid target, no use of Stratagem.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Does this mean that Revolting Stench also removes the limitation that charging units can only target the units they declared against?

Attacks made by models in units that made a charge move this turn can only target enemy units that their unit declared a charge against, or that performed a Heroic Intervention this turn.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Oddly enough, it would since the unit does not count has having made a charge move.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Wow. That is huge for tyranids. Now we can fight twice again!

But once the model with the aura dies I count as having charged again, right? So if I do the fight again stratagem somewhere in the squience it would be good to have the aura alive. Espceialy if I want to do the rugular move intead of consolidate trick we tyranids use to do in 8th edition.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2022/01/06 22:14:41


   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Correct, as it states "while"
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: