| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/21 17:43:52
Subject: Legion Chaplain Consul Question: Zealot
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The second part of the Zealot rule states that "in addition, units containing one or more models with the Zealot special rule re-roll all failed To Hit rolls during the first round of each close combat..." I had always thought that it was on the first round of close combat where the Zealot's charged in. Have I been wrong this whole time?
Dang.
|
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/22 13:43:44
Subject: Legion Chaplain Consul Question: Zealot
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
If I am remembering it correctly the key word is 'each' close combat.
So let's say you charge Turn 2 but the enemy unit is not wiped out that turn and they keep fighting. In Turn 3, they would not get the rerolls.
However let's say they do wipe out the enemy in Turn 3, if they charge a different unit in Turn 4 they would get the rerolls again because it's a different combat they charged into.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/23 15:52:08
Subject: Legion Chaplain Consul Question: Zealot
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I think we aren't talking about the same thing. I get that I could, in theory, get it every round if I charge a new unit each time.
My question is "Do I get the rerolls if I am charged?"
|
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/23 17:38:47
Subject: Legion Chaplain Consul Question: Zealot
|
 |
Ancient Venerable Black Templar Dreadnought
Where ever the Emperor needs his eyes
|
It would still be the first round of that combat so yes. There is no requirement listed for them to have charged.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/24 09:32:48
Subject: Legion Chaplain Consul Question: Zealot
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
VictorVonTzeentch wrote:It would still be the first round of that combat so yes. There is no requirement listed for them to have charged.
Yeah, agreed.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/24 16:48:42
Subject: Legion Chaplain Consul Question: Zealot
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Sweet!
|
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/26 21:28:57
Subject: Legion Chaplain Consul Question: Zealot
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
What about if round 1 I charge unit A, but don't kill them.
Round 2, another enemy unit B charges in making a 2v1 combat.
Do I get Zealot rerolls against everyone? Or only those attacks against unit B? Or none at all?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/03/01 17:25:03
Subject: Re:Legion Chaplain Consul Question: Zealot
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
In that situation, unit B joined an ongoing combat which is no longer in the first round.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/03/01 17:29:09
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-px27tzAtVwZpZ4ljopV2w "ashtrays and teacups do not count as cover"
"jack of all trades, master of none; certainly better than a master of one"
The Ordo Reductor - the guy's who make wonderful things like the Landraider Achillies, but can't use them in battle.. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/03/01 20:21:58
Subject: Legion Chaplain Consul Question: Zealot
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
But what if Unit B itself had Hatred or Zealot? Would it get re-rolls or because it joined an Ongoing combat it would not?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/03/05 20:26:51
Subject: Legion Chaplain Consul Question: Zealot
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
It's the first round in this combat for them, so they should get the bonus, while the other two are already in their second combat round, so no boni for them.
At least that's how i read the rules. It might also be: is this the first round of this combat in general?
Yes - Everyone gets the Zealot bonus
No - Noone gets the bonus, even if they just entered the fight.
Sadly i have no proof for any of both sides, but my intuition says it's variant 1.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2022/03/05 20:28:14
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/03/06 17:20:50
Subject: Re:Legion Chaplain Consul Question: Zealot
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
For me; its clearly the second option.
It is that units first round as part of that combat, but it is with absolute certainty not the first round of the combat itself.
If the first option was intended there would need to be extra words clarifying that; but i think the current wording is solid and makes sure you could get that buff more than once per game
|
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-px27tzAtVwZpZ4ljopV2w "ashtrays and teacups do not count as cover"
"jack of all trades, master of none; certainly better than a master of one"
The Ordo Reductor - the guy's who make wonderful things like the Landraider Achillies, but can't use them in battle.. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|