Switch Theme:

Sewer Rats Strategem questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So me and another player were fooling around with the City of Death rules last night, and we couldnt resolve a question about the Sewer Rats strategem.  It says that reserves appear at any of the sewer markers placed on the board. 

First, can you withhold army selections in reserve so they can use the sewers to come in even if they wouldnt normally be in reserve?

Second, can any unit take advantage of this, ie: can land raiders and carnifexes pop out of the sewers?

Oh and, Tyranids lost thier special spore mine Preliminary Bombardment rules right?  I couldnt find em anywhere in the new stuff.

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Longtime Dakkanaut






In da Mekshop

Someone who has read the CoD rules more thoroughly than I will most likely give a more concrete answer, but it was my understanding that Sewer Rats only benefit units of Infantry. No big stuff using the sewers.

Not sure on the rest.

-GrimTeef-
Proud mod of The-Waaagh forum and Vice-President of the Brian Nelson is a Sculpting God Club 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Whorelando, FL

It only works for infantry models. So Jump Infantry, Cavalry, Etc. is not able to use it. Capt K

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So, no one knows the answer to the second question?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Whorelando, FL

As far as I know the Tyranid spore mines work as they normally would. No mention is given. Capt K

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Doh. I meant first question. First question.

Can you voluntarily hold back units for reserves so they can use the sewers even if they normally wouldnt be in reserves?

I thought this might be a good idea to combine with a couple of lictors.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

First, can you withhold army selections in reserve so they can use the sewers to come in even if they wouldnt normally be in reserve?

Second, can any unit take advantage of this, ie: can land raiders and carnifexes pop out of the sewers?

Both of these are answered by the very first bullet point in the Sewer Rats entry.

Any Infantry unit can be held in Reserve to deploy via the sewers.

 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




But that would require actually reading the Sewer Rats rule.

   
Made in us
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge




Gahanna , Ohio , USA

I'm not so sure that it is all that clear.  The first bullet point also says sewer rats "..is used in conjunction with the reserves mission special rule.." not in place of  the reserves mission special rule.

 

Just a thought

Sincity 


Now , I will show them why they fear the night. 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By Sincity on 06/29/2006 4:59 AM

I'm not so sure that it is all that clear.  The first bullet point also says sewer rats "..is used in conjunction with the reserves mission special rule.." not in place of  the reserves mission special rule.

 

Just a thought

Sincity 


Yep. That's because the Sewer Rats Strategem allows you to put units into Reserve. That means the reserve rules have to be used. . .


. . .really not that difficult.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Er, no, it doesnt say that. The way its worded in the book, it looks like its just another way for units in reserve to appear on the board. Using the reserve rules, and withholding units that arent normally put into reserve are two different things. There is nothing under the reserve rules in the black book that says 'anytime you can use reserve you can hold back any unit you want', it says that this is how units in reserve enter play. Unit that can be placed into reserve normally have something in thier desc about it. Nothing in the Sewer Rats strategem says anything about changing these rules, just that its used with them.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Er, no, it doesnt say that.

Er, no, it doesn't say what?

COD, page 40, 'Sewer Rats Strategem', first bullet point:
"This strategem is used in conjunction with the Reserves mission special rule, and allows any friendly Infantry units without a transport vehicle to be held in reserve."


If 'allows any friendly Infantry units without a transport vehicle to be held in reserve' does not mean that they can be held in reserve, just what does it mean?

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Ah, yeah, got it. Sorry, must go discuss this with the person I was playing, with a hammer, cuz he kept hapring on that 'cant hold back units' thing.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: