Switch Theme:

Do unit abilities apply to the unit leader?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Is an attached leader considered part of the unit he is in? For instance, would a defkilla wartrike leading a mob of nobz on warbikes benefit from drive by krumpin'?
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Yes, barring the rule saying otherwise.
Leader Ability wrote:While a Bodyguard unit contains a Leader, it is known as an Attached unit and, with the exception of rules that are triggered when units are destroyed (pg 12), it is treated as a single unit for all rules purposes.
For example, a Primaris Lieutenant's leader ability is:
Tactical Precision: While this model is leading a unit, weapons equipped by models in that unit have the [LETHAL HITS] ability.
As the Primaries Lieutenant is a part of the single Attached unit he is leading, he also gains Lethal Hits on all his weapons.
   
Made in de
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator






But, just to clarify: As soon as that lieutnant loses his bodyguards, he also loses the benefits of tactical precision, as he is no longer leading a unit, right?
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





 Mickmann wrote:
But, just to clarify: As soon as that lieutnant loses his bodyguards, he also loses the benefits of tactical precision, as he is no longer leading a unit, right?


Stupidly, yes. A chaplain gets much less hate-filled if he's solo. A lieutenant gets much less accurate. A librarian forgets how to cast force dome.

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Nobody to show off for?
   
Made in au
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests






Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.

Yep, most characters have special rules that simply do not function if not part of a unit. It's a flaw of the character/leader system of 10th (and the psychic power systems of 10th, for that matter). There's no reason not to attach them, meaning there's no reason to take them if they're not going to be attached to something.

There are characters who can do two different things - the Technomancer comes to mind - but sadly characters like that are few and far between.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/07/05 11:05:47


Industrial Insanity - My Terrain Blog
"GW really needs to understand 'Less is more' when it comes to AoS." - Wha-Mu-077

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I was wondering about the opposite direction - if the base unit had an ability the leader does not, does the leader gain that ability while attached? Based on the responses I'm guessing yes, but figured I should clarify the question.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl






Southern New Hampshire

Coh Magnussen wrote:
I was wondering about the opposite direction - if the base unit had an ability the leader does not, does the leader gain that ability while attached? Based on the responses I'm guessing yes, but figured I should clarify the question.


Only if the ability in question says, "...models in this unit..."

To use a previous example, a character doesn't 'inherit' Deep Strike just by joining a unit that has it.

She/Her

"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln

Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.


DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Depends on the wording of the rule.

Tactical Marines Tactical Flexibility says "this unit" so it applies to all models in the unit when used. Many other rules say "models in this unit" which includes all models in an Attached Unit.

So generally speaking, yes, most unit rules will impact the Leader. However, that does not mean the leader gains any of the rules of the unit, they are just often beneficiaries of those rules.

   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





Coh Magnussen wrote:
I was wondering about the opposite direction - if the base unit had an ability the leader does not, does the leader gain that ability while attached? Based on the responses I'm guessing yes, but figured I should clarify the question.


Depends on the wording on the ability. This unit has Lethal Hits - yes. This unit has Lethal Hits for the Bodyguard models - no. This unit has +333 attacks on models with the CHARACTER keyword.. yes and probably the bodyguard unit does not get the attacks.

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




What about Tyrant guard?

Guardian Organism: While a Character model is leading this unit, that Character has the Feel No Pain 5+ ability.

This ability is rather niche then because it will only come into play if precision shots have targeted the leader.
   
Made in fr
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





Which are pretty common. And in melee every character can pull off.

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: