imweasel wrote:Mannahnin wrote:You've used this argument before; I rejected it then and I'm rejecting it now.
GW does make use of precedent; they just aren't very consistent about it, because they have poor editorial oversight. But it doesn't matter whether GW uses precedent or not. IF they had made a contradictory ruling, we'd have to throw up our hands and shake our heads. But they HAVEN'T made a contradictory ruling. So we can just use elementary deductive reasoning.
They didn't add the same ruling to the SW FAQ because their editors are nonexistent or poor.
They use precedent but aren't very consistent simply due to 'poor editing'? Ummm...that's a poor excuse.
It’s not an excuse, it’s the obvious explanation. Everyone who pays any attention to
GW rules recognizes that their editorial oversight and consistency is rather poor (though it's definitely gotten better over the years). We can lament that fact (and we do), but to decide “well, they don’t always use precedent, so we can’t use it for resolving two very similar situations” is just silly and counterproductive.
imweasel wrote:Would these be the same editors from gw that convinced folks on the inat 'council' to arbitrarily change the deff rolla rule awhile back? And to only FINALLY faq it so that def rollas worked in a ram?
A) The
INAT initially ruled the way they did because A) the
UKGT House Rules forbade DRs from working on vehicles, and B) because John Spencer (whom GWUS for a while had taking all the rules emails Customer Service got, and was giving good, consistent answers using the
FAQs), had advised that this was how the studio planned to rule when the
FAQs were next updated.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/232715.page
B) When the Ork
FAQ was eventually updated,
GW unexpectedly ruled the opposite way, that Deffrollas do work in a ram. This could be because the guys at
GW changed their minds, or could be because a different person in the studio than the one/s the
INAT guys talked to was given responsibility for handling the question, and decided to rule it differently for one reason or another.
imweasel wrote:Which you could have 'concluded' that it did based on the 'precedent' of the rules themselves?
That’s a total misuse of the word “precedent”, which undermines your argument a bit. If you think ‘precedent’ is the same thing as ‘evidence’, then your whole argument looks to be founded on shaky ground.
Yes you
could have concluded that. Or you could have concluded the opposite. Thousands of people the world around interpreted the Deff Rolla different ways. The reinstitution of Ramming to
40k was new in 5th after being left out in 4th and 3rd editions. People had legitimate disagreements about how the Deff Rolla should work.
imweasel wrote:Autarchs +1 stacking and IG astropaths not? That was due to 'poor editing' and did use 'precedent'?
What? The conflict in the rulings between Autarchs and Astropaths is an
example of poor editing, precisely because
GW did
not follow precedent. If they kept the two consistent it would be easier for players to remember.
imweasel wrote:RAW, GW hasn't made a ruling on the storm caller power, like usual. They did for SoS.
You’re misusing
RAW, too.
RAW means rules as written. The
lack of writing on a thing cannot be “
RAW”, by definition.
The
RAW is that
SC uses the exact same word (“units”) for what Storm Caller affects as Shield of Sanguinius does.
The
RAW is that
GW has gone ahead and clarified for the folks who didn’t get it that
SoS does indeed apply to vehicles.
The obvious conclusion is that Storm Caller is also intended to affect vehicles. You can stick your head in the sand about that and wait for
GW to add an identical ruling to the
SW FAQ as well, but I think you’d be silly to do so.
Tri wrote:imweasel wrote:
Autarchs +1 stacking and IG astropaths not? That was due to 'poor editing' and did use 'precedent'?
RAW, GW hasn't made a ruling on the storm caller power, like usual. They did for SoS.
Autarch stack as they have an extra line stating that they do.
IG guard don't but it was assumed that they would follow the eldar ... they were
FAQ'ed that they don't because games workshops stance is things don't stack unless they say they do.
That's not correct, Tri. The rules for Autarchs in C:E don't say they stack.
GW ruled that they do in the Eldar
FAQ, and inexplicably ruled the opposite way for Astropaths in the
IG FAQ.