Switch Theme:

Grey Knight Razorback?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





I am thinking about building a Grey Knight army and my buddy suggested I get Razorbacks instead of Rhinos. I looked in the Daemonhunter Codex and nowhere does it meantion Razorbacks which does seem kind of odd since they are supposed to get the best gear that the Imperium has to offer. My buddy says that since they are pretty much the same as SM's they get Razorbacks but I'm not too sure?

Anyone know for sure if they can use 'em?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/07/02 10:29:27


I play
Ke'lshan
Grey Knights
Space Wolves 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

Grey Knights in Power Armor do not have access to any Transports, unless you purchase a Lander Raider as a Heavy Support choice as well.

(as an aside, something to consider with 5th edition is the fact that your Grey Knights will at least be able to "borrow" your Stormtroopers' Chimeras/Rhinos)

Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator





codex DH is an individual codex from codex SM, so if razorbacks arent included in there then you cant buy them for your grey knights...

However

with the new rules for transports in 5th, you may take some allied space marines, buy them a razor back and put your grey knights in it.

taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live?
 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

OT but, you cannot take Allied SMs with a Main GK force, but you can supplement a Main SM force with GKs. It's a weird rule, but it is also nice way to get good Heavy Support like Predators but still keep your PAGK as the 2 Troops and 1 Fast Attack allies are permitted. and then borrow a SM's Rhino/Razorback.

Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

Razorbacks suck...especially as a concept for GK.

Stick with LR.

   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





St. Louis, MO

Smashotron wrote:Grey Knights in Power Armor do not have access to any Transports, unless you purchase a Lander Raider as a Heavy Support choice as well.

(as an aside, something to consider with 5th edition is the fact that your Grey Knights will at least be able to "borrow" your Stormtroopers' Chimeras/Rhinos)


Certainly, you meant "Tactical Dreadnought Armor" (Terminator Armor) and not "Power Armor."
Yes?

Granted, I haven't cracked my DH codex in a while, but I seem to recall the ability to put them in Rhinos.


They do not, however, have access to razorbacks.


Eric

Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






MagickalMemories wrote:
Certainly, you meant "Tactical Dreadnought Armor" (Terminator Armor) and not "Power Armor."
Yes?

Granted, I haven't cracked my DH codex in a while, but I seem to recall the ability to put them in Rhinos.
Eric

You are incorrect, no Grey Knight in any sort of armor can take a dedicated transport.

"Someday someone will best me. But it won't be today, and it won't be you." 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

Crack that book open again and you won't find yourself a PAGK Transport option at all. That is why PAGK can be taken as Fast Attack to teleport in, a technique that is ruined in 5th edition since teleport homers are now rare and that Fast Attack choice PAGK won't be able to claim objectives like the Troops choice guys that took the time to walk across the board.

For survivability I'll be putting my GK in Stormies Chimeras and popping smoke before dumping out and firing next turn. Takes the unit to combat safer and fast than 4th edition.

Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

Excuse, how are teleport homers rare because of 5E?

It's the same damn book...

   
Made in ca
Slippery Scout Biker




Gaming club. ALWAYS.

Stelek wrote:Excuse, how are teleport homers rare because of 5E?

It's the same damn book...


Fair point. They might be rare for vanilla SMs but DH still have as many as always/

Morals — all correct moral laws — derive from the instinct to survive. Moral behavior is survival behavior above the individual level.

~Robert Heinlein 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth






Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.

What I think he meant by them being rare was before (in 4e) there was no reason to go with more than 2 'Troops' units of grey knights. If you brought 5 units of the PAGK in total you bring 3 in fast attack and you have the option of deep striking them or not....they wind up able to do basically the same thing.

Now (in 5e) if you want some units that are able to claim objectives its harder...or rarer...to bring these 'teleport' units. They cost the same but cannot claim objectives, deepstriking is'nt much of a tradeoff for that being that it isnt very reliable.

I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!

The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

I meant that, based off the DA and BA codexes as a relection of what we might see in 5th ed SM, Veteran Sergeants and Characters no longer have the option in the new, simplified yet restrictive army listings to purchase themselves a teleport homer.

Example: I run Ultramarines with Allied GK. 2 SM Troops base and a Jump Chaplain with teleport homer. Then 2 Assault Squads with a teleport homer each. Fill in the rest with fire support and Predators. This allows me three different locations to safely teleport in PAGK and TAGK, plus Grand Master.

With the way I forsee 5th ed SM being, those possibilities with not exsist. Also, Deadshane1 hit the other part on the nose. But ultimately, the rarity of teleport homers is my new issue. And yes, I know Ravenwing slaps them on the nose of every biker or whatever, but you don't see that helping every other SM force.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/02 20:31:41


Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





kadun wrote:
MagickalMemories wrote:
Certainly, you meant "Tactical Dreadnought Armor" (Terminator Armor) and not "Power Armor."
Yes?

Granted, I haven't cracked my DH codex in a while, but I seem to recall the ability to put them in Rhinos.
Eric

You are incorrect, no Grey Knight in any sort of armor can take a dedicated transport.

Actually I'm looking at the codex right now and yes GK can use Rhinos. The only restriction in the Daemonhunter Codex is "The Rhino can carry up to ten models but may not carry any models wearing Terminator Armour" end quote

Stelek wrote:
Razorbacks suck...especially as a concept for GK.

Stick with LR.

Um...ok. You're gonna have to explain that one. How does a Razorback not work as a concept for GK? It's hard enough already to get Lascannons, why not put it on a transport that I'm gonna use anyway?

I play
Ke'lshan
Grey Knights
Space Wolves 
   
Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer





It doesn't say they can't fit inside the rhino. But the PAGK entry also doesn't say that one may take a rhino as a dedicated transport. Since other foot units that may be transported have their options explicitly stated in their entries, and the PAGK has no options, they may not take a rhino unless they car jack your Inquisitorial Stormtroopers.

"In Tyranid Russia, crabs get you!" - JOHIRA

Fac et Spera 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Aeddon. PAGK can't use rhinos or razorbacks in the DH codex as they don't have a transport option in their entries.

The stormtrooper entry below them has a transport option and MAY do so.

In 5th ed, though, nothing will stop you giving stormies a rhino and then using it to transport PAGKs around, though.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





CrimsonTurkey wrote:It doesn't say they can't fit inside the rhino. But the PAGK entry also doesn't say that one may take a rhino as a dedicated transport. Since other foot units that may be transported have their options explicitly stated in their entries, and the PAGK has no options, they may not take a rhino unless they car jack your Inquisitorial Stormtroopers.


chromedog wrote:Aeddon. PAGK can't use rhinos or razorbacks in the DH codex as they don't have a transport option in their entries.

The stormtrooper entry below them has a transport option and MAY do so.

In 5th ed, though, nothing will stop you giving stormies a rhino and then using it to transport PAGKs around, though.


Ok so if you say that than you also have to say that GK taking a LR fills a heavy support slot. Here is what the book says in the transport section...

Rhino
The Rhino can carry up to ten models but may not carry any models wearing Terminator Armour

Land Raider
The Land Raider may carry up to ten models


And in the Heavy Support Section...

Grey Knight Land Raider
The Land Raider may carry up to ten Grey Knights in power armour or five Grey Knight Terminators

Grey Knight Land Raider Crusader
A Crusader may carry up to 15 Grey Knights in power armour or 8 Grey Knight Terminators


So what you're saying is that GK in a LR or LRC can only be taken as a Heavy Support choose? I've seen quite a few army lists on this site that would tend to disagree with you on that. So which is it?

And technically there is nowhere in the Grey Knight section that says Grey Knights can even take transports! It only states which transports are capable of carrying them.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2008/07/03 02:44:28


I play
Ke'lshan
Grey Knights
Space Wolves 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

First of all, take a look at Inquisitorial Stormtroopers entry on page 29 of Codex Daemonhunters and you'll see the following:

Transport vehicle: The Inquisitorial Stormtroopers may be mounted in a Rhino at an additional cost of +X points or a Chimera at +Y points (see Transports on page 30).

Do you see anything resembling that in any of the Grey Knight entries in the codex? If not, then they have no option for a dedicated transport.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Yes, I see that. Thank you for reiterating my last point.

I play
Ke'lshan
Grey Knights
Space Wolves 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

For the love of the Emperor! How are you not read what everyone else is reading in this topic?!

1) PAGKs do not have a "Transport" option in their entry. SM, IST, SOB, et cetera, et cetera all have "Transport" in their listing. That is why Transport vehicles are listed; for the IST and INQ + Retinue.

2) Yes, if you want 10 PAGKs in a LR or a LRC you have to take the 10 PAGKs as a Troops choice and the LR/LRC as a Heavy Support choice. Thus is the curse/downfall of the DH codex.

3) In a week, it will matter less because (as we keep repeating) 5th edition will allow you to share Transport vehicles within reason.

4) To explain Stelek's point, lets look at a Razorback:

FACTS
-it's job is to transport 6 men as fast as possible
-it possesses a main (non defensive) weapon
-it has the same armour value as a Rhino

PROS
-ZOMG! twin linked lascannon!!

CONS
-you can't fire your awesome weapon if you're actually moving the car
-your Rhino armour + awesome weapon will make you a quick target
-6 guys? with combat squads, its 5 men.

done

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/03 04:28:35


Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Because you keep contradicting yourselves! Look, you just did it again!

Ghaz wrote:First of all, take a look at Inquisitorial Stormtroopers entry on page 29 of Codex Daemonhunters and you'll see the following:


Transport vehicle: The Inquisitorial Stormtroopers may be mounted in a Rhino at an additional cost of +X points or a Chimera at +Y points (see Transports on page 30).

Do you see anything resembling that in any of the Grey Knight entries in the codex? If not, then they have no option for a dedicated transport.


And now you say...

Smashotron wrote:2) Yes, if you want 10 PAGKs in a LR or a LRC you have to take the 10 PAGKs as a Troops choice and the LR/LRC as a Heavy Support choice. Thus is the curse/downfall of the DH codex.


So let's look at this...first the GK's can't have any transports whatsoever and now they can have them but the GK's and their transport take up two completely different force slots at the same time???

I am not trying to be arguementative but I have only been playing for a year and I still consider myself pretty new to this. Now I'd like to pick up a second army and I want to know what my options really are but instead of a straight answer I get conflicting ones.

I play
Ke'lshan
Grey Knights
Space Wolves 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

No. A 'Transport' is bought as a squad upgrade. Just because a vehicle can transport models does not make it a 'Transport'. The second quote of yours never once says anything about a 'Transport', does it? No.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/03 05:45:15


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Smashotron wrote:...if you want 10 PAGKs in a LR or a LRC...

So you're saying that if you put 10 PAGK in a LR or a LRC than the LR and LRC do not count as transports? WTF?!

I play
Ke'lshan
Grey Knights
Space Wolves 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Aeddon wrote:
Smashotron wrote:...if you want 10 PAGKs in a LR or a LRC...

So you're saying that if you put 10 PAGK in a LR or a LRC than the LR and LRC do not count as transports? WTF?!

Look I'll spell it out for you since you apparently cannot grasp concepts on your own.

page 62 of the 4th edition rulebook: "Who can use a transport vehicle? Sometimes a unit entry in a Codex book will include a transport option, allowing a vehicle to be selected with the unit. These transport vehicles are directly assigned to that particular unit and are known as dedicated transports. Other transport vehicles are chosen separately and occupy a Force Organisation chart slot (for example, Eldar Falcons), and can be used to provide ad hoc transportation to any unit that can embark on it."

"Dedicated transports may only be used to transport the squad they are selected with plus any independent characters that have joined the squad ..."

If you actually bothered to read the rulebook, and read the Codex, and read everyone else's posts, you'll notice that Grey Knights in Power armor or Terminator armor have NO option to take a dedicated transport.

Yes you can take a Land Raider as a Heavy Support choice and yes any Grey Knight squad can ride in it. Everyone here knows that. No you cannot purchase a Land Raider as a dedicated transport for a Terminator Squad and NO you cannot purchase a Rhino as a dedicated transport for a PAGK squad.

Understand yet?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/03 06:40:32


"Someday someone will best me. But it won't be today, and it won't be you." 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Once again (Gods this is getting old!!!) I am new to this game! So pardon me if I do not have an intricate understanding of the rules as aparrently you do! Pardon me if I question the answers given when I do not understand the answer! If you read my post titled "Immovable Marines?" you would see that I got screwed from someone who made a bad call on a rule!

Yes I get it! Yes I understand! But there's no reason to turn into a prick about it just because the noob doesn't understand something that you seem to know like the back of your hand!

I play
Ke'lshan
Grey Knights
Space Wolves 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

edit: we understand that, but like ten people have said the same thing and yet you've continued to not understand or contradict us. I hope for your sake and the sake of your opponents it starts to make more sense to you what we're saying. the game is supposed to be fun, and it's not that complicated.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/03 06:58:47


Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Ok. Look, I do thank you guys for the advice and I apologize for coming off ignorant (which I admit to). To be honest I can't say that I understand the Rhino thing thoroughly but I don't even want to talk about it anymore. Thanks guys.

I play
Ke'lshan
Grey Knights
Space Wolves 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Aeddon wrote:
Yes I get it! Yes I understand! But there's no reason to turn into a prick about it just because the noob doesn't understand something that you seem to know like the back of your hand!

But its fun to be a prick on the internet

"Someday someone will best me. But it won't be today, and it won't be you." 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Quiet entertaining whenever an idiot comes calling. Reference to Aeddon.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Banelord Titan Princeps of Khorne






Where's Hellfury to post pictures of the pages in question!

Aeddon,

Quite simply, to be able to take a Rhino (or any vehicle for that matter), the entry in the army list must include that vehicle as an option. Reference the stormtrooper entry in the DH codex. Now look at the PAGT entry. It does not state that they may take a vehicle as a "dedicated" transport.

Now, that being said, in the Heavy Support section of the army list, you will see a Land Raider. It is a main battle tank, but also has a transport capability. A vehicle like this may be purchased as a Heavy Support choice, and then it may be used by any unit that is eligible to be transported throughout the game. The Land Raider would not be "dedicated" because it was purchased separately as a Heavy Support choice.

Moving along again, you will see that an Inquisitor Lord may purchase a Land Raider as a "dedicated" transport for his retinue. In this case, the Land Raider would be purchased out of the HQ points paid for the Inquisitor, and that Land Raider would only be allowed to transport the Inquisitor during the game.

Of course, this will all become moot during 5th edition.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/03 21:52:30


Veriamp wrote:I have emerged from my lurking to say one thing. When Mat taught the Necrons to feel, he taught me to love.

Whitedragon Paints! http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/613745.page 
   
Made in us
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)




The Great State of Texas

Mod mode on
Whitedragon spelled out the issue completely. Thanks Whitedragon.
This thread is closed.

I am not giving any warnings this time but Kadun, Aeddon, Smashotron, the personal attacks are not acceptable on this forum, and will be delt with more harshly in the future.
Mod mode off.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/05 13:25:53


-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: