Switch Theme:

SM.69A.01 Drop Pod Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block






SM.69A.01 – Q: When a player deploys a Drop Pod
can he choose to keep the doors open or closed? If
the Drop Pod doors are deployed open can models
deploy within 2” of them?

A: Once the Drop Pod lands, the doors remain open for the
rest of the game. However, all measurements to and from
the Drop Pod, besides firing its weapon, are done based on
the hull of the Drop Pod (its shape when the doors are
closed). This means, for example, that friendly and enemy
models will be able to move on top of the open doors
[clarification].



So what happens if I drift enough that a petal is off the table but the hull of the vehicle is on the table?

It seems to me based on this ruling that it would stay where it was and not roll on the mishap table as the hull was not off the table and the petals seem to be nothing more then decoration.

Additionally if a roll on the mishap table was required then it would seem inconsistent as all measurements should be done from the hull.

Thoughts?
Brave Rifles

drybrushwash.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Huh. I have no idea.

What about only opening the petal door(s) you are actually using. Most of the time you will only need 1 anyway.
   
Made in us
Dominar






I think the clarification is there for Line of Sight purposes. It's pretty clear that for table drift the petals are not meaningful (as no measurements will occur from them). Now, the real question is, what happens when somebody has glued their doors shut? By FAQ, the model either isn't legal or becomes "half invisible" for gameplay purposes.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/05 22:06:28


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

That is really nitpicking.

G



BraveRifles wrote:
SM.69A.01 – Q: When a player deploys a Drop Pod
can he choose to keep the doors open or closed? If
the Drop Pod doors are deployed open can models
deploy within 2” of them?

A: Once the Drop Pod lands, the doors remain open for the
rest of the game. However, all measurements to and from
the Drop Pod, besides firing its weapon, are done based on
the hull of the Drop Pod (its shape when the doors are
closed). This means, for example, that friendly and enemy
models will be able to move on top of the open doors
[clarification].



So what happens if I drift enough that a petal is off the table but the hull of the vehicle is on the table?

It seems to me based on this ruling that it would stay where it was and not roll on the mishap table as the hull was not off the table and the petals seem to be nothing more then decoration.

Additionally if a roll on the mishap table was required then it would seem inconsistent as all measurements should be done from the hull.

Thoughts?
Brave Rifles

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






Green Blow Fly wrote:That is really nitpicking.

G



How is asking for clarification of ruling nitpicking?

drybrushwash.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

If the base of the drop pod lands on the table then why should an open door flopping over the edge of the table make it count as destroyed? If someone's rhino door flopped open for whatever reason during a game and part of it was off the table would you ask them to remove it? Remember that the FAQ is as much a tool to make the game more enjoyable for everyone and probably even moreso than to be used as a tool to win.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal





sourclams, there was something (was it in the INAT faq?) that had basically said, if the drop pod's doors were closed, the players could decide to either fake a los "through" it, or declare it as a solid object...so players choice there...

Not sure how that works with the RAW, but when they wrote it I am assuming they didn't expect people to glue the doors shut...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/06 03:07:11


7000 pts (Not including Gauss Pylon Network)
Alpharius wrote:Meltdown at the Nuclear Over-reactor!
Run! Run! RUN!
Unit1126PLL wrote:Everything is a gunline. Khorne berzerkers have pistols? Gunline unit. Tanks can't assault? They're all, every last one, a gunline. Planes? Gunline. Motorcycles? Mobile gunline. Mono-Khorne daemons? Bloodthirster has shooting attack. Gunline.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA



At Adepticon, all measurements are made to and from the hull of the vehicle (the dimensions it is with the doors shut), so yes it would be perfectly okay to have the 'petals' hanging off the edge of the table once the Pod lands.

And the rest of the ruling (which wasn't posted above) instructs players how to handle a Drop Pod that has its doors glued closed, or when using a scratchbuilt model that doesn't have any doors:

"If the doors cannot be opened (they are glued in place or a player is using a model that doesn’t have doors that open/has a solid core), both players must agree before the game to either pretend, to the best of their abilities, that the doors are open and both players can see ‘through’ the core for line of sight purposes, or they can agree to play that the model blocks line of sight ‘as is’ in which case the Space Marine player will be unable to fire the Drop Pod’s weapon (a trade-off for the improved line of sight blocking ability of the model) [rules change]."



Augustus wrote:Huh. I have no idea.

What about only opening the petal door(s) you are actually using. Most of the time you will only need 1 anyway.



The problem with that approach is it gives the SM player tremendous versatility on how his Drop Pod affects the game. If he needs LOS blocking then he keeps the doors closed he needs. If he wants to have something his Land Raider can shoot past, then he opens all the doors.

The rules for the Drop Pod say that when it lands the hatches are blown, and the vehicle is then open-topped. When combined with how the model is designed it is pretty clear that the marines aren't supposed to be to choose to keep doors opened or closed. The Pod hits the ground, the hatches blow and the marines disembark.

Additionally, allowing players to choose how their models affect the game by changing the shape of the model (opening or closing doors) goes against other rulings in our FAQ, and as such, the decision was made that players should have to open the doors on their model if they can.






I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk




Olympia, Waaaghshinton

So if I want to assault/deff rolla a unit behind them, I can simply go through the doors without having to ram/assault the drop pod. Correct?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Mekniakal wrote:So if I want to assault/deff rolla a unit behind them, I can simply go through the doors without having to ram/assault the drop pod. Correct?



At Adepticon (or any other place using the INAT FAQ) yes. All measurement is made to the actual hull of the Pod so both friendly and enemy models can technically move on or over the opened petals.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I assume the doors will provide 4+ cover... and be a diff terrain test?

Or not....?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

coredump wrote:I assume the doors will provide 4+ cover... and be a diff terrain test?

Or not....?



Terrain is decided upon by the players. If you want to call the doors on a Drop Pod difficult terrain, then you can but there certainly isn't anything in the rules that indicates that you must.

And yes, when firing past a Drop Pod if a model is obscured by it they will get a 4+ save as with anything else.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






yakface wrote:
At Adepticon, all measurements are made to and from the hull of the vehicle (the dimensions it is with the doors shut), so yes it would be perfectly okay to have the 'petals' hanging off the edge of the table once the Pod lands


Thanks for clarifying it Yakface

drybrushwash.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Nice try!



G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in ca
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot




Toronto (GTA), Ontario

I say that if it's up against the table edge just rotate it slightly seeing as it would only move the hull like half an inch, to a position in which closing the door wouldn't effect anything, if the door was up against the table edge anyways then the gun wouldn't be able to shoot that way anyways..... Oops I think I just mixed the two topics together by mistake 0_o



EDIT: Once again oops I only noticed this thread is 3 months old after I posted... Sorry.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/23 22:55:21


Dracos wrote:Codex does not override rulebook. Specific rules (generally those found in codex tend to be more specific) override general rules in case of conflict.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







It all depends on how you play it. If you play that the door is hull (i.e. no models can walk on them) then yes it would count as destroyed.

If you play it that the hulls are just decoration (so you can walk on them) then it wouldn't.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)




The Great State of Texas

The accused is charged with THREAD...NECROMANCY!!!

Genghis Connie ponders your fate


Thumbs down


Send in the enforcer





-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: