Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 16:45:05
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok so my friend and I came across a problem. My friend with Chaos was destroying my Necron warrior's. So when he dropped five of my warriors well the two that was left failed their leadership test and then started fleeing. Now the problem is when the other's make there WBB rolls Do they join the fleeing unit or do they stop being with that unit and go to the closest unit? I don't really know? Because they didn't fail there roll. I don't know please help us. Sorry i just edited this part. So yes they are within 6'' of another unit of the same type so they can get there WBB rolls. It's just what happens when they do get there WBB rolls. Do they go to the closest unit or follow the fleeing?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/07 17:37:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 16:50:00
Subject: Re:Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Hierarch
|
A necron that has to make a WBB roll is, for all intents and purposes, dead. If they aren't within 6 inches of an identical unit, including their original unit, or aren't within the tomb spider's range, they just don't get back up.
|
Things I've gotten other players to admit...
Foldalot: Pariahs can sometimes be useful |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 16:56:41
Subject: Re:Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Dronze wrote:A necron that has to make a WBB roll is, for all intents and purposes, dead. If they aren't within 6 inches of an identical unit, including their original unit, or aren't within the tomb spider's range, they just don't get back up.
What he said
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 17:34:24
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Very good point. Sorry i didn't make it a more clean. They were within 6'' of another unit of the same type. So would they join that unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 17:36:28
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Anchorage
|
Actually, they move with the unit if there isn't a unit nearby. Page 1 of the necron FAQ asks a question about checking res orb range. It indicates that the unit is falling back, having been defeated through the use of power weapons. After res orb is verified, you move the downed models with the falling back unit. So yes, if they'd be eligibile when they fall, they travel with the unit.
Joining the nearest unit in that case is going to happen most often when you have the unit wiped out through something other than a sweeping advance, and they join a nearby unit, or are in range of a spyder, and teleport upon standing to join the closest unit that may be clear across the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 17:49:48
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Sorry but GWS just sent me a reply tell me what's up. and it says that in Page 13 of the Necron's codex that The repaired Necron will immediately be placed in coherency with the closest unit of the same type. Where did you read part about the dead fleeing with the rest of the unit. I didn't see that anywhere.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 17:53:35
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
bladedragon03 wrote:Sorry but GWS just sent me a reply tell me what's up. and it says that in Page 13 of the Necron's codex that The repaired Necron will immediately be placed in coherency with the closest unit of the same type. Where did you read part about the dead fleeing with the rest of the unit. I didn't see that anywhere.
Oh god, here we go again. GW Customer Support replys HAVE NO BEARING ON A RULES DISCUSSION. That is all. And its in the Necron FAQ iirc
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/07 17:53:58
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 18:26:58
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Well my friend. I'll give you the GW has no bearing. But I have found no where in the codex that says that the fallen Necrons follow the fleeing unit. Because it's just the FAQ and not the codex which says that the necron is remains on the tabletop and is laid on it's side to show that it's damaged. Damaged necrons are ignored completely for all normal purposes such as unit coherency, measuring ranges, calculating whether other units can self-repair, adn so on - they are debris only. So in fact if you go by the codex they make their WBB roll if they are within 6'' of another unit of the same type if the unit they were in was running away unless that unit fleeing is the closest unit within 6''. Unless you are using the whole Tomb spider thing. Sorry that I'm a dumd ass that just didn't read the special rules from the codex well enough. Also if the unit fell back and there wasn't another unit within 6'' well the one's on the ground are SOL (not staff of light) lol. thanks everyone for all the comments I'm really really thankful.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 18:33:44
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Well if you're gonna ignore the official faq then that's your problem I guess but you will find 99.9997% of people tend to use them
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 19:11:55
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
You do know what we mean when we say FAQ, right? They're found here:
http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?community=&catId=cat410004&categoryId=1000018&pIndex=1&aId=3400019&start=2
Now, check out the Necron FAQ. In it you will find the statement about downed models moving with the unit as it falls back.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/08 03:29:06
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Technically, downed necrons only fall back if they were killed by power weapons (and they are within range of a rez orb) or shooting attacks.
So, by raw, unless it's those to situations, that's the only time downed necron warriors get to fall back with their unit.
Stupid? Yes. Do I play it that way? No.
But that's gw for ya!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/08 05:45:37
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, thats not "GW for you" , that is one persons pedantic reading of a rule, and trying to twist it into something non-sensical.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/08 06:21:06
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
coredump wrote:No, thats not "GW for you" , that is one persons pedantic reading of a rule, and trying to twist it into something non-sensical.
Is there another reading of the rule from a raw standpoint?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/08 14:31:51
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Of course, and it has been mentioned a few times in this thread even.
The question was a general question, the 'example' was meant as illustration. To try and twist that into saying it *only* applies to power weapons and res orbs.... is to ignore what the answer is saying.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/08 14:37:43
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
I cannot wait until "We'll Be Back" changes to "Feel No Pain". Because WBB has caused a lot of pain...
|
MAKE OF THIS WHAT YOU WILL, FOR YOU WILL BE MINE IN THE END NO MATTER WHAT! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/08 16:40:42
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm very sorry to everyone because I thought the FAQ's were just here and what people said. I didn't know that GW had a FAQ page. Very sorry. I've read it all and now know that I was wrong. Thanks a lot for showing me the right way. Thanks a lot don_mondo for the link.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/08 16:40:48
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm very sorry to everyone because I thought the FAQ's were just here and what people said. I didn't know that GW had a FAQ page. Very sorry. I've read it all and now know that I was wrong. Thanks a lot for showing me the right way. Thanks a lot don_mondo for the link.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/08 16:51:52
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
No biggie, now you know. And knowing is half the battle.....
Go Joe!!
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/08 18:10:30
Subject: Need help with a Necron rule.
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Anchorage
|
Cobra!!!
Got to root for the bad guys, they get the best lines.
|
|
 |
 |
|