Switch Theme:

Flamers shooting into CC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boosting Ultramarine Biker





Denton, TX

Ok, this came up in a game recently...

Lets say you have some unit with a flamer shooting at a squad that is rather close to a unit in close combat, and you were able to place the flamer so that it hit the squad you are shooting at, and a large majority of the enemy units in CC. Of course you have to make sure that the template does not touch any of your own units in CC and that this way will touch as many enemy models as possible. So given these conditions...is it legal to have a flamer/template weapon hit enemy units locked into CC?


5500
3500
2000  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yes, so long as you are covering the maximum amount of enemies in the unit you are shooting at. You cannot count enemy models in the other unit for that purpose.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/07 21:22:33


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut







Incorrect.

P40: "While blast markers and templates may not be deliberately placed such that they cover any models locked in combat..."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/07 21:43:11


"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers

Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation




Right, not delibratly. But if placing the template so that it covers the most enamy models possable happens to be over models in CC then they are hit. And I am not sure but I think you may include any enemy models you can hit, from any squad so long as you are hitting at least one from target squad. I don't think the wording in the book stipulates it to the target squad. However I could be wrong on the last part, don't rule book with me. I will check when I get home and post if no one does first

 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando






you must get as many models as possible in your target squad you cant hit one modelin the squad you are targetting (unless thats the most you can get) just so you can get 5 in another squad, if you can hit 5 in the target squad you have to hit all 5 and being as the tem[plate does not scatter if you place the template so it hits models in CC you are deliberatly targeting models in CC so its not a valid placement.

"For the emperor!" "E' aint listenin!" *squish* (my fav blood and thunder quote)

BUT NOBS are NO GOOD at CC "ork town grot"
-perhaps the single dumbest comment I have ever heard-

Boss Zagstruck and Her-ORKick intervention, anything you can do we can do better  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Aye, you cannot "deliberately" place the template to catch enemies in CC. That means if you could catch 4 Models in the target unit without Hitting the CC, and 4 Models while hitting the CC, you would have to hit 4 Models without hitting the CC

However, if the most you could cover is 3 without hitting the cc, but placing the template hitting the CC hits 4 in the target unit, you have to hit the 4 and clip the CC.

The "deliberately" is for situations when you can choose to place the marker (the 4/4 situation I described and for any sort of Blast marker)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/07 21:54:02


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando






Again this has been gone over you cannot shoot into CC (unless you scatter into CC) being as the flamer dosenot scatter you are placing the template into CC so its not a valid placement. But hey if you want to make a house rule go for it in a RTT or GT you would be told no.

"For the emperor!" "E' aint listenin!" *squish* (my fav blood and thunder quote)

BUT NOBS are NO GOOD at CC "ork town grot"
-perhaps the single dumbest comment I have ever heard-

Boss Zagstruck and Her-ORKick intervention, anything you can do we can do better  
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut







I guess I should quote the whole rule:

"While blast markers and templates may not be placed such that they cover any models locked in combat, they may end up there after scattering and will then hit any models they touch (friend or foe)."

The only exception given is post-scatter. Hence, you can't place the template so that it hits a close combat - it can only scatter into a close combat. Since flamer templates almost never scatter, you can't do so.

"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers

Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

"Hit the most enemies possible in the target unit" combined with "cannot touch enemies in close combat" combine like this:

If you could hit 4 enemies, but you touch a cc, or 3 without, then....

The most models you could possibly hit, without touching the cc, is 3. So you hit 3.


40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Edit: ya I suppose that is the right ruling. Seems I misread it. Oops.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/04/07 22:18:50


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If you place the template so that it is touching a model in CC, then you are *deliberately* placing it to touch a model in CC.
IOW, No....
   
Made in us
Boosting Ultramarine Biker





Denton, TX

Alright, well you all have cleared that up. Thanks.

5500
3500
2000  
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

There is only one situation where I think this would be legal: the 3-way scenario in the BGB. There are rules for shooting into CC involving your two opponents.

::edit:: Rogue carriage returns... grr.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/07 22:31:28


 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






Yes but then you must directly target the CC.

2000 points
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/downloadAttach/19113.page
500 points
1500 points "You don’t want to play Blood Angels to be different you play them because you finally realized that they go crazy and drink blood yet haven’t been killed off by the Inquisition. Proving that they are just bada**”  
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

I suppose, but it at least gives you a basis for flexibility in situations.
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






Very True.

2000 points
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/downloadAttach/19113.page
500 points
1500 points "You don’t want to play Blood Angels to be different you play them because you finally realized that they go crazy and drink blood yet haven’t been killed off by the Inquisition. Proving that they are just bada**”  
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener





Could you Target the CC but still hit another squad?
like this, You are Q, X and Z are locked into combat Z is a 3rd Squad but not one of yours: so could Q use a templat flamer and Target the X squad but still hit it, Y and Z? Needless to say the rest of Q's squad must also shoot at X. Would they get to take a Cover, there are locked into combat?

XXX
XYX
XXX

ZZZ

Q


"I am the crash of blades, and the furry of the storm. There is no shelter from my wrath, and no reprieve from my judgment." --Unknown (but it sure sounded cool) 
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut







psf3077 wrote:Could you Target the CC but still hit another squad?
like this, You are Q, X and Z are locked into combat Z is a 3rd Squad but not one of yours: so could Q use a templat flamer and Target the X squad but still hit it, Y and Z? Needless to say the rest of Q's squad must also shoot at X. Would they get to take a Cover, there are locked into combat?

XXX
XYX
XXX

ZZZ

Q


#1 - read the rest of this thread. You can't place the template so it hits models in close combat.

#2 - templates negate cover saves. (note, templates are not blast markers)


"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers

Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Centurian99 wrote:#1 - read the rest of this thread. You can't place the template so it hits models in close combat.

#2 - templates negate cover saves. (note, templates are not blast markers)

You've missed the point of that bit entirely. We're discussing that 3 way scenario at the back of the Big Rulebook, which does have rules for firing into CC, as we have sorted the original question.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

psf3077 wrote:Could you Target the CC but still hit another squad?
like this, You are Q, X and Y are locked into combat Z is a 3rd Squad but not one of yours: so could Q use a templat flamer and Target the X squad but still hit it, Y and Z? Needless to say the rest of Q's squad must also shoot at X. Would they get to take a Cover, there are locked into combat?

XXX
XYX
XXX

ZZZ

Q

In the 3-way scenario, assuming that X and Y and Z are all enemy models, I would say RaW is that you could target the squads in this way. Note that you could also target Z and consequently hit X and Y as well. It was already pointed out that Template weapons ignore cover saves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/08 15:53:37


 
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal





Gwar! wrote:We're discussing that 3 way scenario at the back of the Big Rulebook, which does have rules for firing into CC

Wait, I'm lost, what page is this on?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/08 16:09:51


7000 pts (Not including Gauss Pylon Network)
Alpharius wrote:Meltdown at the Nuclear Over-reactor!
Run! Run! RUN!
Unit1126PLL wrote:Everything is a gunline. Khorne berzerkers have pistols? Gunline unit. Tanks can't assault? They're all, every last one, a gunline. Planes? Gunline. Motorcycles? Mobile gunline. Mono-Khorne daemons? Bloodthirster has shooting attack. Gunline.
 
   
Made in us
Boosting Ultramarine Biker





Denton, TX

To kinda rehash on the original issue.... lets say you could not place a flamer template or blast marker on a unit without hitting enemy models in CC (for example, trying to shoot a carnifex with a vindicator blast and the large blast will cover guants in CC nearby before rolling to scatter). Would you then be unable to shoot said weapon at that enemy?

Going by what has been said already in this thread, and going strictly by the rules, it seems that you would be unable to shoot the template/blast weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/08 16:22:27


5500
3500
2000  
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

Axyl wrote:To kinda rehash on the original issue.... lets say you could not place a flamer template or blast marker on a unit without hitting enemy models in CC (for example, trying to shoot a carnifex with a vindicator blast and the large blast will cover guants in CC nearby before rolling to scatter). Would you then be unable to shoot said weapon at that enemy?

Going by what has been said already in this thread, and going strictly by the rules, it seems that you would be unable to shoot the template/blast weapon.

Correct. In a "normal" game, you would be unable to shoot your flamer. Blast weapons are completely different, though. As long as your original placement used for targeting does not hit any models in CC, it can scatter wherever it wants to.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: