Switch Theme:

NEW Imperial Guard codex FAQ submission thread  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


With the new Guard codex out and about in some places, and soon to be out everywhere, I thought this would be a good time to get some questions collated for the new guard codex to get added to the next version of the INAT FAQ (and therefore passed onto GW as best we can).

Please only post questions if you have access to the actual codex and have verified that the actual printed rules are vague. It will be helpful to me if you include the page number in the new codex from where the question arises (but isn't absolutely necessary).


DO NOT attempt to answer questions posted in this thread. That is not the point of this thread!

If you think the person asking the question has missed something very clear and obvious in the rules, then you can politely point out the rule and page you think they missed, but under no circumstance should you then engage in a discussion about the rule in question. If you need to have that discussion, OPEN ANOTHER THREAD IN THIS FORUM INSTEAD.

Rules discussions in this thread will be deleted to keep it clear for actual questions.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/28 14:46:38


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA





IMPERIAL GUARD GENERAL QUERIES

IG.GEN.01 -- Q: Throughout the codex, many characters provide bonuses, such as Stubborn, Furious Charge, etc, to all Friendly units within a certain range. Do these bonuses apply only to Imperial Guard units or do they also apply to allied units as well (such as allied Witch Hunter and Daemonhunter units, for example)?

IG.GEN.02 -- Q: The Imperial Guard contains several Barrage weapons that have a minimum range (such as the Colossus Mortar, Griffon Mortar, etc). Can these weapons choose to fire directly and ignore the minimum range?



FORCES OF THE IMPERIAL GUARD (pages 29-55)


Imperial Guard Orders (page 29)
IG.29C.01 -- Q: Can orders be issued in the opposing player's Shooting phase as well as the Imperial Guard player's Shooting phase?

IG.29C.02 -- Q: Can orders be issued to allied non-Imperial Guard units, such as allied Grey Knights or Sisters of Battle, for example?

IG.29C.03 -- Q: Can an Officer in a Platoon Command Squad issue an order to a Company Command Squad?




Company Command Squad (page 30)
IG.30B.01 -- Q: Can the 'Bring it Down!' order be used against a unit that isn't entirely made up of Monstrous Creatures, such as a Tyrant with Tyrant Guard or Tomb Spyder with Scarabs?
REF: IG.58B.01

IG.30D.01 -- Q: When a unit regroups in the shooting phase because of the 'Get Back in the Fight!' order, does it get to make the normal 3" move for regrouping? And does it count as moving even if it doesn't move (as the Order rules state that it may "shoot. . .as normal this turn")?


Regimental Advisors (page 31)
IG.31A.01 -- Q: If an Imperial Guard army includes two Astropaths does it get +2 to its Reserve rolls? If so, does this mean units may automatically arrive on turn 3 (since there is no proviso about a roll of '1' always failing with Reserve rolls)?

IG.31A.02 -- Q: Do Astropaths count as a Psyker for rules that affect 'Psykers'?

IG.31A.03 -- Q: Does the Astropath's ability still apply while the model is in reserve?

IG.31B.01 -- Q: If the Master of the Ordnance's 'Artillery Bombardment' is fired as part of a barrage along with a mortar in the same unit, can the mortar be used as the "ranging shot" to prevent the Bombardment from scattering the extra distance (provided the mortar is closer to the target)?

IG.31C.01 -- Q: If an Imperial Guard army includes two Officers of the Fleet does the enemy suffer -2 to their Reserve Rolls?

IG.31C.02 -- Q: Does an Officer of the Fleet's ability still apply while the model is in reserve?

IG.31D.01 -- Q: If only a single Bodyguard is alive can the 'Look Out -- Arghh!' rule still be used to re-allocate two wounds to the lone Bodyguard or is it a maximum of one wound per bodyguard?


Commissars (page 32)
IG.32B.01 -- Q: Will Commissars/Commissar Lords that are part of a unit containing an Inquisitor execute them if the unit fails a morale test? What about if the Inquisitor uses his 'Iron Will' special rule to automatically fail the morale test?

IG.32B.02 -- Q: Can an Officer's Bodyguard or an Inquisitor's Acolytes protect them from a Commissar/Commissar Lord's execution?


Primaris Psykers (page 33)
IG.33C.01 -- Q: If an enemy embarked unit fires at a unit protected by Nightshroud are they affected by the psychic power?

IG.33C.02 -- Q: Are enemy units that are not affected by psychic powers affected by Nightshroud if they shoot at a unit protected by it?


Techpriest Enginseers (page 34)
IG.34A.01 -- Q: Can a Techpriest in base contact with multiple damaged vehicles in his shooting phase attempt to fix both of them?

IG.34A.02 -- Q: Can a Techpriest attempt to repair a damaged vehicle that he is embarked on in his shooting phase?

IG.34B.01 – Q: If a unit containing Mindlocked Servitors is locked in combat can it perform a sweeping advance, consolidation and/or pile-in moves?
Ref: SM.72A.01

IG.34B.02 – Q: What happens if a unit containing Mindlocked Servitors is forced to Fall Back?
Ref: SM.72A.02

IG.34C.01 – Q: Can the Enginseer's Servo-arm attack be used in the same round of combat as his Power Weapon?


Infantry Squad (page 37)
IG.37.01 -- Q: If a Platoon is put into Reserves, when is the decision to combine squads made (when it is put into Reserves or when it is actually deployed from Reserve)?

IG.37.02 -- Q: A Platoon, entirely equipped with Chimeras, that has the Scout special rule (from Creed or Al'Rahem) is put into Reserves in order to Outflank. Can the Platoon's Infantry Squads be combined and still Outflank and if so, what happens with their Chimeras?


Chimera Armoured Transport (page 39)
IG.39B.01 -- Q: Can 5 models fire their own weapons while embarked on a Chimera or do some of them have to fire the Chimera's lasguns? Can embarked model that is firing choose to fire one of the Chimera's lasguns instead of using their own weapon?

IG.39B.02 -- Q: If a Heavy Weapons team or Ogryn model fires out a Chimera's hatch does it count as one or two models firing?


Penal Legion Troopers (page 41)
IG.41A.01 -- Q: Does the Penal Custodian in a Penal Legion unit benefit from the 'Desperadoes' special rules?

IG.41A.02 -- Q: If a player chooses to put a Penal Legion unit into Reserves do they still make the 'Desperadoes' roll, or wait until the unit arrives in the game?

IG.41B.01 -- Q: If a Penal Legion unit with the 'Gunslingers' rule uses the 'Front Rank, FIRE! Second Rank, FIRE!' order are they allowed to fire 3 times at enemies beyond 12" and if so do they have to remain stationary to do so?


Rough Riders (page 44)
IG.44.01 -- Q: Can Rough Rider hunting lance attacks benefit from Furious Charge (making them Strength and Initiative 6) provided by Mogul Kamir or from another source?


Storm Troopers (page 46)
IG.46B.01 -- Q: Can the 'First Rank, FIRE! Second Rank, FIRE!' order be used with hot-shot lasguns, and if so does it allow hot-shot lasguns to fire up to 24"?


Psyker Battle Squad (page 47)
IG.47A.01 -- Q: Besides when using a psychic power, does each Sanctioned Psyker model count as a separate Psyker? For example, when calculating a Culexus Assassin's shooting attack?

IG.47B.01 -- Q: If multiple Sanctioned Psykers are affected (they fail their Ld test and suffer a Perils of the Warp Attack) by the Witch Hunter psychic power 'Hammer of the Witches' are D3 Sanctioned Pyskers removed for each Perils of the Warp Attack the unit suffers from this power or just once?

IG.47C.01 -- Q: When a Psyker Battle Squad uses 'Soulstorm' does this count as the shooting attack for all the Psyker models in the unit (meaning they can't also fire their Laspistols)? Can the Overseer still fire his Laspistol in the same phase the unit uses 'Soulstorm'?

IG.47D.01 -- Q: Is 'Weaken Resolve' a Psychic Shooting Attack (i.e. does it require a roll 'to hit')? If no, does this mean the Psykers and Overseer can still fire their Laspistols at a different enemy target in the same shooting phase they use 'Weaken Resolve'?

IG.47D.02 -- Q: Does 'Weaken Resolve' affect units with the 'Stubborn' special rule when they are taking a morale check?

IG.47D.03 -- Q: If an Ork mob has less than 11 models does the 'Weaken Resolve' power work against the mob, or do the Orks replace their Ld per the Mob rule after the 'Weaken Resolve' modification is applied?

IG.47D.04 -- Q: If a unit has its Ld reduced by 'Weaken Resolve' but are then able to use another model's Ld (such as with Dark Angel's 'Rites of Battle'), is this new Ld value also reduced?


Leman Russ Battle Tank (pages 48-49)
IG.48A.01 -- Q: Does 'Lumbering Behemoth' allow a Leman Russ to fire its turret weapon even if the vehicle would otherwise be unable to fire (Shaken/Stunned/used Smoke Launchers)?


Hellhound Flame Tank (page 50)
IG.50B.01 -- Q: How is the 'Melta' rule applied when dealing with a blast weapon which scatters (such as with the Melta Cannon)?


Hydra Flak Tank (page 51)
IG.51A.01 -- Q: In games of Apocalype has the Hydra lost the 'Anti-Aircraft Mount' ability or does the player have to choose to use the Hydra out of the Apocalypse book to get that ability (but then lose the 'Auto-targeting System' rule from the codex)?

IG.51B.01 -- Q: Does any weapon fired by the Hydra (such as a Hunter-Killer missile or Heavy Bolter) benefit from the 'Auto-Targeting System' rule, or do only the Autocannons?


Ordnance Battery (pages 52-53)
IG.52.01 -- Q: If a multiple barrage is made up of weapons with different minimum/maximum ranges and the initial blast is out of range, do the rest of the weapons in the barrage automatically miss even if others are within range? And vice-versa, if the initial blast is within range do all the rest of the weapons in the multiple barrage get to hit even if some of them are not in range?

IG.52A.01 -- Q: Can an Ordnance Battery made up of one Griffon and other types of vehicles still use the Griffon's 'Accurate Bombardment' rule (provided the Griffon is the closest vehicle to the target)?


Deathstrike Missile Launcher (page 55)
IG.55A.01 -- Q: Can an Enginseer fix a 'weapon destroyed' result on a Deathstrike Missile (the '-1' to the launch roll)?

IG.55B.01 -- Q: Is the maximum range for a Deathstrike Missile 960" or unlimited (as the summary on page 104 says)?


Valkyrie Assault Carrier (page 56)
IG.56A.01 -- Q: How do models normally embark/disembark from a Valkyrie/Vendetta as the access points are more than 2" vertically off the table? Also, can unit embarked on a Valkyrie/Vendetta still capture objectives when the vehicle model is more than 3" vertically off the table?

IG.56A.02 -- Q: Are the wings off the side and back of the Valkyrie/Vendetta considered part of the hull in all respects? For example, if the model finishes with any part of its wings over terrain is a dangerous terrain test required? And can friendly or enemy models ever move under these wings?

IG.56A.03 -- Q: Can unit containing Nork Deddog embark on a Valkyrie/Vendetta?

IG.56B.01 -- Q: Are squadrons of Valkyries/Vendettas allowed to Deep Strike as it is impossible to put them in "base contact" with each other?

IG.56B.02 -- Q: Can a Valkyrie use its ability to Scout or Outflank while transporting an embarked unit that doesn't have the 'Scout' special rule? If yes, can the embarked unit disembark immediately after the Valkyrie finishes its Scout move?

IG.56D.01 -- Q: Can a Valkyrie fire both its Hellstrike missiles in the same shooting phase (as they are Ordnance weapons)?

IG.56D.02 -- Q: Do Hellstrike missile use the large blast when fired?


Lord Castellan Creed & Colour Sergeant Kell (page 57)
IG.57A.01 -- Q: Can Creed use Tactical genius on a Platoon's combined Infantry Squad?


Knight Commander Pask (page 58)
IG.58B.01 -- Q: Does Pask's 'Crack Shot' have any effect against a unit that isn't entirely made up of Monstrous Creatures, such as a Tyrant with Tyrant Guard or Tomb Spyder with Scarabs?
REF: IG.30B.01


Colonel 'Iron Hand' Straken (page 60)
IG.60C.01 -- Q: If a friendly unit is within 12" of Straken at the start of the Assault phase do they still benefit from 'Furious Charge' during that phase even if their (or his) Assault move takes them more than 12" away?


Commissar Yarrick (page 63)
IG.63B.01 -- Q: If Iron Will would cause Yarrick to be placed back into base contact with the enemy is the player then allowed to place Yarrick anywhere on the table not within 1" of an enemy?


Commander Chenkov (page 65)
IG.65C.01 -- Q: If a unit of Conscripts that has an independent character joined to it is removed using the 'Send in the Next Wave' special rule what happens to the IC?



WARGEAR (pages 68-71)


Other Equipment (page 71)
IG.71K.01 -- Q: If an officer is issuing an order on a unit he is part of and that unit also contains a Vox-caster can the Leadership test be re-rolled if failed?



IMPERIAL GUARD ARMY LIST (pages 89-103)


HQ (pages 90-93)
IG.90A.01 / IG.90B.01 -- Q: Can Ministorum Priests or Techpriest Enginseers be taken as the one mandatory HQ choice in an Imperial Guard army?


ELITES (pages 94-95)
IG.95A.01 -- Q: Storm Trooper Sergeants are unable to take Melta bombs yet regular Infantry Sergeants can. Was this intentional?


TROOPS (pages 96-99)
IG.96A.01 -- Q: Can individual units from a Platoon be held in Reserve while others are deployed normally?

IG.96A.02 -- Q: If a Squadron of Valkyries/Vendettas is held in Reserves and one unit from three separate platoons is embarked on each of these transports, how are Reserves rolls for this handled? Is one single Reserves roll made to see if the Valkyrie/Vendetta Squadron plus all three platoons all arrives at once? Or is the Valkyrie/Vendetta Squadron (with embarked units) rolled for separately with the rest of the three platoons rolled for individually?

IG.97B.01/IG.97C.01 -- Q: Are Heavy Weapon squads really supposed to have Frag grenades standard and the option to take Krak grenades while Special Weapon squads have neither? It seems as though those two units may have gotten their grenade options swapped with each other.






DAEMONHUNTERS/WITCH HUNTERS ALLY QUESTIONS
  • Can a DH/WH force include either an allied Scout Sentinal Squadron, Armoured Sentinal Squadron or neither of these options?

  • Can a DH/WH force include just a single Leman Russ Battle Tank, any one Leman Russ Battle Tank variant, one whole Leman Russ Squadron or none of these options?

  • Assuming a DH/WH force can include a Leman Russ, can Knight Commander Pask be used as an upgrade for this allied vehicle?

  • Can an allied Infantry Platoon in a WH/DH army utilize the Commander Chenkov or Captain Al'Rahem upgrades?




  • POTENTIAL QUESTION CANDIDATES

    The questions quoted below have been submitted by users but, IMHO either have a really clear answer in the codex and/or I haven't seen asked enough yet to really qualify for inclusion in a FAQ (you can't have absolutely every question or else the FAQ becomes gianormous!). I'm still keeping them 'on file' below so that they can still be added to the FAQ if later new information or arguments come to light.

    In cases where I think the RAW are really clear I've put that 'answer' in parenthesis next to the question. Please keep in mind this 'answer' is just my personal opinion.


  • Can "Send in the Next Wave" be used to remove Conscripts from HtH? (Yes - RAW).

  • Is Yarrick's Iron Will a one time only 3+ or is it every time as he is continually losing his last wound? (Everytime - RAW).

  • Do Ork bikes receive their normal 4+ cover save from the Hydra? (Yes - RAW).

  • Rough Riders pg44: Is the hunting lance used only on their first charge in a game or on each charge as implied by the second sentence in their description. (First time they charge - RAW).

  • How do the new unit entries and war gear affect existing entries the the Daemon Hunters and Witch Hunters books? i.e. storm troopers. (Not at all, each codex is unique - RAW).

  • How do astropaths and fleet officers work in apocalypse games? (Really a question for Apocalypse, already answered in the INAT FAQ).

  • Are the platoon and company standards meant to both be 15pts since the platoon standard only adds +1 wound to combat resolution? (Yes - RAW).

  • Can the Leman Russ vanquisher fire standard battle cannon rounds? Also was the co-ax storm bolter omitted by mistake? (No and No - RAW).

  • Rough Riders wargear list las pistol OR close combat weapon? Later it states "the sergeant cant exchange his las pistol for...". Are they meant to have laspistol AND close combat weapon (This would make sense to have to use after they break their hunting lances)? (No - RAW).

  • Page 68 of the IG Codex says to Look at the Rulebook for the Rules for Frag Grenades. Shouldn't this mention they are treated as Offensive grenades? (Clear in the rulebook, Frag grenades are Offensive grenades - RAW).

  • If a Commissar Lord is part of a Psyker Battle Squad that experiences Perils of the Warp, does he kill a Psyker per the "It's for your own good" special rule in addition to the ones killed by the Overseer per the "Ultimate Sanction" rule? (No, 'It's for your Own Good' is a special rule for the Primaris Psyker - RAW).

  • Is command radius measured from the officer's base or from the command squad? (From the Officer - RAW).

  • Do other imperial psykers count as having "its for your own good" rule? i.e. will a commissar execute an allied psyker who suffers a perils of the warp attack? (No - RAW).

  • How does Weaken Resolve interact with the Callidus Neural Shredder for purposes of Instant Death? Do you use the original LD or the reduced LD? (Reduced Ld - RAW).

  • Can the Master of Ordinance fire at a different target than the command squad? (No - RAW).

  • Were Ogryns supposed to be 40pts because it just seems crazy? (Yes - RAW).

  • Does a squad that includes a Commissar use the Commissar's Leadership value for Leadership tests? (Yes - RAW).

  • Does the Banewolf's chem cannon count as a "defensive weapon" (since it is S1)? (Yes - RAW).

  • If a psyker battle squad uses soul storm for death or glory, does one member die or the whole squad if the death or glory fails? (No - RAW, Death Or Glory only allows weapons carried by the model to be used, not psychic powers).



  • This message was edited 45 times. Last update was at 2009/06/03 00:36:58


    I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
    yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
    yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
    yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
    Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
       
    Made in us
    Rough Rider with Boomstick





    Philadelphia

    Love it, seems to cover most everything that people are most heavily questioning about the book. Is there any chance that this will be done before the Big Waagh in July?

    I want to go, and this will determine whether I take my guard or stick with my Vulcan Marines as there are just too many questions to deal with in a serious tourney environment.

    Big Troy, The Samurai Gunslinger of South Philly

    Dystopian Wars fleets: KoB, EotBS, Prussian, FSA
    Firestorm Armada Fleets: Sorellian

    Current 5th ed WL record
    Salamander Marines 22-3(Local) GT Circuit 2-0-1
    Mech Vet Guard 54-8-4 (local) 5-1 Ard Boyz


     
       
    Made in us
    Martial Arts Fiday






    Nashville, TN

    bigtmac68 wrote:Love it, seems to cover most everything that people are most heavily questioning about the book. Is there any chance that this will be done before the Big Waagh in July?

    I want to go, and this will determine whether I take my guard or stick with my Vulcan Marines as there are just too many questions to deal with in a serious tourney environment.


    You can field most rules queries in the WAAAGH forums. I have had great success with them replying in a timely manner.

    See you there, BTW!

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/26 00:45:09


    "Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

    -Nobody Ever

    Proverbs 18:2

    "CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

     warboss wrote:

    GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


    Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

    EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

    Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
       
    Made in us
    Monstrous Master Moulder




    Sacramento, CA

    Does Furious Charge affect servo arms?

    For Iron Hand Straken's Cold Steel and Courage rule, does a unit that begins its assault phase within 12" of Straken but is farther than 12" away after making its assault move still have the Furious Charge special rule?

    Units subject to Cold Steel and Courage have both Counterattack and Furious Charge. Do units apply the benefits of Furious Charge when they use Counterattack?

    Rough Rider sergeants are the only sergeants in the codex that can not be upgraded with bolt pistols. Was this intentional?

    Agitator noster fulminis percussus est 
       
    Made in ca
    Been Around the Block




    IG.31B.01 -- Q: If the Master of the Ordnance's 'Artillery Bombardment' is fired as part of a barrage along with a mortar in the same unit, can the mortar be used as the "ranging shot" to prevent the Bombardment from scattering the extra distance (provided the mortar is closer to the target)?

    The "ranging shot" rule (multiple barrages rulebook,pg 32) clearly says that "if a unit has multiple barrage weapons"
    Not "if a unit has multiple barrage templates/attacks/etc"
    The MoO does not have a barrage weapon, he has a special ability that is treated as an attack,using a barrage template.
    A unit with MoO and a mortar only has one barrage weapon.
       
    Made in us
    [ADMIN]
    Decrepit Dakkanaut






    Los Angeles, CA

    Mad Larkin Uk wrote:IG.29C.03 -- Q: Can Officers issue orders when embarked on vehicles besides a Chimera (as those vehicles don't have the 'Mobile Command Vehicle' special rule)?

    Cleary says in the Orders rules "An officer may attempt to issue orders provided he is not locked in assault, Embarked in a transport vehicle.."



    Thanks for that. I've removed the question (well, replaced it with another).


    IG.GEN.02 -- Q: The Imperial Guard contains several Barrage weapons that have a minimum range (such as the Colossus Mortar, Griffon Mortar, etc). Can these weapons choose to fire directly and ignore the minimum range?

    Clearly states in the artillery rules for each vehicle, the colossus and griffon that they cannot fire directly.



    I know that one is clearly answered in the rulebook but it has come up enough that I think it is worth including even though the answer is clear.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/02 23:42:06


    I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
    yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
    yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
    yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
    Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
       
    Made in us
    Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader






    When shooting at a valkyire or vendetta, do you measure 3 inches up (like if it was on another level of terrian), or the full amount? Or do you measure to the base of the vehicle?

    My Sisters Tactica http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/409339.page
    Please read My Tactica if you're new to Sisters or thinking of starting them. For the Emperor!

    3800 pts
    3750 pts
    1500 pts
    700 pts
    700 pts
     
       
    Made in us
    Heroic Senior Officer





    Woodbridge, VA

    OK, got a new one, came up last night. How do Orders interact with Night Fight? Example, I want to issue Bring It Down to a squad, but BID requires my command squad to see the target to issue the order. But I can't check to see if I can see the target until I shoot. But once I shoot, I can't issue orders.

    Don "MONDO"
    www.ironfistleague.com
    Northern VA/Southern MD 
       
    Made in us
    Martial Arts Fiday






    Nashville, TN

    can Grey Knight terminators be transported in a Valkyre/Vendetta? If so how many slots do they take up?

    "Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

    -Nobody Ever

    Proverbs 18:2

    "CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

     warboss wrote:

    GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


    Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

    EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

    Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
       
    Made in us
    Regular Dakkanaut




    If you have a platoon squad with a commissar within range of a Company Standard, can you choose to use the standard's re-roll on Ld test rules instead of Summary Execution?

    If a squad lead by a priest charges, but the priest is killed before any squadmembers attack, do they still get to re-roll hits?

    Can a Camo-netted vehicle pivot and still benefit from stealth?

    Does medi-pack, carapace, and camo cloaks benefit IC's that are deployed with the Command squad?

    Does an IC benefit from any of the special abilities a Penal Legion gets? (ie do they get Fleet/furious charge/etc also?)

    Can a hellhound's flame template be arranged in any direction? Do you always measure from the narrow end for determining range?

    How is tank shock or ramming resolved with vehicle squadrons?

    Do abilities that allow failed Ld tests to be made affect the Ld test to target a Nightshrouded squad?

    According to the wording, a Commisar in a Platoon command squad has the option of taking a powerfist, but a Commissar in a regular platoon squad does not. Typo?

    This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/08 17:05:19


     
       
    Made in us
    Heroic Senior Officer





    Woodbridge, VA

    IG.47D.03 -- Q: If an Ork mob has less than 11 models does the 'Weaken Resolve' power work against the mob, or do the Orks replace their Ld per the Mob rule after the 'Weaken Resolve' modification is applied?


    Also, say a full up mob of 30 is hit by Weaken Resolve and then hit by a Neural Shredder. Against what value to you test to wound?

    Don "MONDO"
    www.ironfistleague.com
    Northern VA/Southern MD 
       
    Made in us
    [ADMIN]
    Decrepit Dakkanaut






    Los Angeles, CA

    don_mondo wrote:IG.47D.03 -- Q: If an Ork mob has less than 11 models does the 'Weaken Resolve' power work against the mob, or do the Orks replace their Ld per the Mob rule after the 'Weaken Resolve' modification is applied?


    Also, say a full up mob of 30 is hit by Weaken Resolve and then hit by a Neural Shredder. Against what value to you test to wound?


    Am I missing something or wouldn't your question be answered presumably by whatever answer is given for the quoted question (IG.47D.03)?


    I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
    yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
    yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
    yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
    Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
       
    Made in gb
    Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







    Page 98 of the IG codex:
    All the other weapon options state a Guardsmen "may" Replace their weapons, but the option for the Heavy Weapon team states "Replace Two veterans with a Vetran Weapons team armed with one of the following". No mention of "may".

    tl;dr
    Q: Are Veteran Squads required to exchange 2 veterans for a Veteran Weapons Team, or is it Optinal because it is listed under "Options"?

    This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/15 04:37:21


    Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
    Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
    Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
    Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
    Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
     
       
    Made in us
    Heroic Senior Officer





    Woodbridge, VA

    yakface wrote:
    don_mondo wrote:IG.47D.03 -- Q: If an Ork mob has less than 11 models does the 'Weaken Resolve' power work against the mob, or do the Orks replace their Ld per the Mob rule after the 'Weaken Resolve' modification is applied?


    Also, say a full up mob of 30 is hit by Weaken Resolve and then hit by a Neural Shredder. Against what value to you test to wound?


    Am I missing something or wouldn't your question be answered presumably by whatever answer is given for the quoted question (IG.47D.03)?



    Maybe, maybe not. Some locally are saying that yeah, the LD drops to a 2 but they would test on a 10 due to Mob rule (in a unit of 10). I don;t get it personally, but thought I'd throw it out there.

    Don "MONDO"
    www.ironfistleague.com
    Northern VA/Southern MD 
       
    Made in us
    Fresh-Faced New User




    Should be obvious but I'll include for completeness: If a CCS with a Regimental Standard is embarked in a vehicle, where is the 12" measured from for rerolled morale tests?
       
    Made in us
    Heroic Senior Officer





    Woodbridge, VA

    From a current thread.

    Can Mystics 'detect' and allow a unit to fire at a unit using the Valkyrie Grav Chute Insertion to disembark?

    Don "MONDO"
    www.ironfistleague.com
    Northern VA/Southern MD 
       
    Made in us
    Fresh-Faced New User




    Seriously, what part of the vaylkerie is targetable by blast weapons and such?


    Automatically Appended Next Post:
    My friend is only letting me target the small square of hull sitting behind the cockpit part, between the wings and before the tail begins. This seems kind of cheap to me as if an airplane's wing is hit, it goes down... Help me please! GW needs to have a better internet errata!

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/01 13:38:16


     
       
    Made in us
    Fresh-Faced New User




    Still got no answers. I've been searching like mad for these answers on the internet but alas, the old girl has let me down. Please if you read this forum and have a good answer to this, let me know. The rules for the thing say "the access points are located on either side of the hull" but some errata needs to be committed to paper on this one. There is too much left open to interpretation with this new model. To me saying you can't target the wings or cockpit is like saying you can't target the front "scoops" on a fire prisim or wave serpent. The argument is that the plane would roll and avoid being hit on the wing. Well if that's the case, so could a fire prisim. Heck, maybe a carnifex can just dodge lascannon fire too. I say if the model is hit, it's hit. Help me out on this one yakface.
       
    Made in us
    Rough Rider with Boomstick





    Mah Hizzy

    Its and Ork mob's LD being over 11 that makes them fearless. If a PBS lowers it under that than are they still fearless but on the modified LD?

    2000 
       
    Made in au
    Trustworthy Shas'vre






    Height related Valkyrie issues:
    Is it possible to Ram a Valkyrie? Is the answer different if you attempt to Ram with a Skimmer tank?

    A Valkyrie is next to a tall ruined building and disembarks its passengers onto the open top floor. The floor of the Valkyrie crew compartment is roughly level with the top of the building. An enemy blast weapon targets the passengers on the building but the shot scatters onto the Valkyrie. Is the Valkyrie hit by the weapon, or does it count as being on a different level to its unloaded passengers.
    In the opposite situation, another barrage weapon targets the Valkyrie and the shot scatters to over the passengers. Are they hit, or does the shell explode on the ground floor of the ruin?

    Is it possible to position a model (enemy or friendly) directly underneath the wings or tail of the Valkyrie?
    If so, what happens if the Valkyrie is immobilized and needs to be removed from its flight stand?
    What happens to the unit underneath if the wing of the Valkyrie is hit by a blast weapon?

    And this one: Is it possible to move a model completely underneath the Valkyrie / over its base, if you begin and end your move off its base? IMO the answer is a resounding NO, but I've seen quite a few people playing this wrong at my store.

    edited again with more Valkyrie issues.

    This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/07/16 17:10:08


     
       
    Made in us
    Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





    California

    If Al'Rahem's infantry squad must outflank but a portion of his squad is in a Valkyrie that is outflanking as well and Al'Rahem's squad is rolled and comes in this turn but the valkyrie does not, what do you do?

    Can the fusilage of the valkyrie extend off table as long as the base is on? (Almost saying the above posted question, is it part of the hull) If not its like an 8 - 10 move on the table from outflank.

    The way we resolve this is by assuming the hull is the cockpit to the end of the rear hatch for purposes of models under the valkyrie rule breach. The wings and fusilage are effectivly ignored except for range shooting purposes. They can be targeted for shooting. Is this acceptable?



       
    Made in us
    Guardsman with Flashlight




    Washington

    Grey knight terminators in Valkyries needs to be resolved, i heard of a GW sponsored tourny they specified that one could not put grey knights termies into the Valkyrie or vendetta.

    also
    the Valkyrie has the deep strike and the scout rule. do you need to declare which one you are using when you put it in reserve? the wording in the rulebook is worded that they have to declare if they are using the special rules or deploying normally.

    to summarize, do i need to tell my opponent which rule i'm using?

    *Chimera*
    55 points of pure sex
    *Leman Russ*
    150 points of pure sex
    *Imperial Guard Orders*
    Pure Sex, equivalent of Eldar bs, Tau Tech, and Space Marine Balls,
    *Deathstrike Missle Launcher*
    Compensation
     
       
    Made in us
    Monstrous Master Moulder




    Sacramento, CA

    Gwar! wrote:Page 98 of the IG codex:
    All the other weapon options state a Guardsmen "may" Replace their weapons, but the option for the Heavy Weapon team states "Replace Two veterans with a Vetran Weapons team armed with one of the following". No mention of "may".

    tl;dr
    Q: Are Veteran Squads required to exchange 2 veterans for a Veteran Weapons Team, or is it Optinal because it is listed under "Options"?
    On a related note, are you allowed to "replace two guardsmen" or "replace two veterans" with a heavy weapons team more than once? I thought the answer was obvious (no), but it keeps coming up.

    Agitator noster fulminis percussus est 
       
    Made in us
    Drop Trooper with Demo Charge




    Oregon

    Maybe this has been covered somewhere, but how about the LD reroll from the regimental standard. Can it be used while the CCS is inside a vehicle? Would you measure from the hull, or the hatch like shooting? Also does a Lord Commisar lose his aura of discipline in a vehicle.
    Again I haven't researched these questions, but they've come up a few times.

    No one kills more threads than me. Maybe I leave nothing else to say. Maybe my comments suck so hard people are left stunned. Who can say.

    3000pts The Nehalem Fighting 69th. Choking the enemy with the rivers of our dead since 1998.
    7000+? The Storm Dragons. Delivering Emprah approved beatings since the days of Rogue Trader. 
       
    Made in us
    Servoarm Flailing Magos





    Alaska

    Redwunz wrote:Maybe this has been covered somewhere, but how about the LD reroll from the regimental standard. Can it be used while the CCS is inside a vehicle? Would you measure from the hull, or the hatch like shooting? Also does a Lord Commisar lose his aura of discipline in a vehicle.
    Again I haven't researched these questions, but they've come up a few times.


    I would like to know the answers to these questions as well.

    http://www.teun135miniaturewargaming.blogspot.com/ https://www.instagram.com/teun135/
    Foxphoenix135: Successful Trades: 21
    With: romulus571, hisdudeness, Old Man Ultramarine, JHall, carldooley, Kav122, chriachris, gmpoto, Jhall, Nurglitch, steamdragon, DispatchDave, Gavin Thorne, Shenra, RustyKnight, rodt777, DeathReaper, LittleCizur, fett14622, syypher, Maxstreel 
       
    Made in us
    Fresh-Faced New User





    VALKYRIE/VENDETTA QUESTION:
    If your opponent is set to go first at the start of the game, and you use your Valkyrie's scout move to go "flat out" before your opponent begins his first turn, does the Valkyrie get the 4+ cover saving throw for moving flat out if your opponent decides to shoot at it during his Shooting phase?

    Feel free to change the wording if it doesn't sound like I'm being clear enough. I feel this is a question worth asking because some players argue that the Valkyrie doesn't get the saving throw because a Scout move doesn't count as the Valkyrie's "last Movement phase" for some reason - that a "scout move" is different from a "last Movement phase" according to the exact wording of the rules as written (page 71 of the main rulebook).

    This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2009/08/12 03:43:36


     
       
    Made in us
    Monstrous Master Moulder




    Sacramento, CA

    Does the officer of the fleet's special rule affect things that follow the same rules as reserves but are not reserves rolls, for example Inquisition orbital bombardments?

    Are the Manticore's storm eagle rockets considered to be one weapon or four for the purpose of weapon destroyed results?

    Agitator noster fulminis percussus est 
       
    Made in gb
    Decrepit Dakkanaut




    Raxmei - the last is easy to answer: only one weapon is listed on the Manticore, so one weapon destroyed entirely removes the system.
       
    Made in gb
    Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







    nosferatu1001 wrote:Raxmei - the last is easy to answer: only one weapon is listed on the Manticore, so one weapon destroyed entirely removes the system.
    Indeed. It has been discussed MANY times. However, it should be added to the FAQ (And given a RAW Tag Plz) because people seem t not know how to search.

    Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
    Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
    Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
    Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
    Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
     
       
     
    Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
    Go to: