Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 04:06:37
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Wrack Sufferer
|
In the SWs codex it says in Logan Grimnar's entry in a side box:
The Great Wolf
Wolf Guard units count as Troops in any army that includes Logan Grimnar
Does this means I take them in troop slots or they just count as troops for scoring?
|
Once upon a time, I told myself it's better to be smart than lucky. Every day, the world proves me wrong a little more. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 04:15:16
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
For scoring
|
2009's 1500 IG - 11/5/5 (W/L/D) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 04:17:41
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Interesting, I hadn't considered the second option but it certainly seems like a valid interpretation, especially given the Ork and Space Marine Codices both use a different wording as follows.
Space Marines: "If your army includes X, Y may be taken as Troops choices."
Orks: "X allows Y to be taken as a Troops choice."
My logic tells me RAI is that they can be selected as a troop choice on the FOC, because Canis Wolfborn has the same special rule regarding Fenrisian wolves, but fenrisian wolves have a special rule which prevents them from claiming objectives, meaning for them to count as a troop choice but still be taken as a fast attack unit offers absolutely no benefit.
The RAW however is not clear and could go both ways.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 04:22:27
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
Well at first look at the OP's post, count as troops makes me think of troops for their objective taking ability.
I mean it doesn't say take as a troop or troop choice, but it does say count as... so yeah... if my opponent wants to take them as troops, I would not care, but hey what ever, if the game was fun that is what matters...
but as for RAI, i would say for scoring, not for taking a choice. but hey, I could be wrong
|
2009's 1500 IG - 11/5/5 (W/L/D) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 06:00:35
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
I just realised the wolves counting as a troop choice but being a fast attack choice while not allowing them to claim objectives would allow them to start on the table in Dawn of War, so maybe what I believed for the RAI isn't as solid as I thought.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 06:54:29
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Codex: SM says that Sternguard are scoring units if you take Pedro, it mentions nothing about becoming troops.
Count as troops means for all intents and purposes [ALL], they're troops. They'll be taking your troops slots, and score because of it.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 11:18:23
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
idk, that is where it is really grey for me. But no argument from me if you want to use them as troops.
|
2009's 1500 IG - 11/5/5 (W/L/D) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 11:41:16
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
It says they count as troops choices. That means they are Troops Choices. If they were meant to remain elite but scoring they would have said remain elite but are scoring.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 17:18:54
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Gwar! wrote:It says they count as troops choices. That means they are Troops Choices. If they were meant to remain elite but scoring they would have said remain elite but are scoring.
Nice RAI argument there Gwar!
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 17:38:44
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Drunkspleen wrote:Gwar! wrote:It says they count as troops choices. That means they are Troops Choices. If they were meant to remain elite but scoring they would have said remain elite but are scoring.
Nice RAI argument there Gwar! 
No, it is RaW. If the rule says "Wolf Guard units count as Troops in any army that includes Logan Grimnar", then they count as Troops, Take up Troop Selections on the FoC and in all respects are Troops.
If the rule says "Wolf Guard units are scoring (as though they were troops) in any army that includes Logan Grimnar", then they would remain Elite.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 14:26:44
Subject: Re:Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Wrack Sufferer
|
Here is another tricky rules question I'm having with SWs as well.
I have 4 Rune Priests in my army. All are within 24" of an enemy psyker when he attempts then succeeds a psychic test to use a power. How many dice do I roll to negate that power on a 4+? 4 or 1?
|
Once upon a time, I told myself it's better to be smart than lucky. Every day, the world proves me wrong a little more. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 14:53:52
Subject: Re:Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Stafford
|
Typeline wrote:Here is another tricky rules question I'm having with SWs as well.
I have 4 Rune Priests in my army. All are within 24" of an enemy psyker when he attempts then succeeds a psychic test to use a power. How many dice do I roll to negate that power on a 4+? 4 or 1?
1: 4 Rune Priests? Overkill or a waste of points (  )
2: Depends on the power. Is it against one target or an area effect? If it's either , only the affected models need make a roll... therefore all 4 affected, it would be 4 dice.
IMHO
OT:
Counts as troops for scoring purposes only... Read up on the Crimson Fists. They have the same ruling
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/09/19 14:55:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 14:58:06
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Crimson Fists say they are scoring units.
Logan says they count as Troops.
Big difference.
Logan's rule is the same as Ork Warbosses making nobs troops, and big meks making deff dreads count as troops [though unfortunately, the dreads still don't score cuz they're vehicles].
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 15:10:46
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Stafford
|
Spellbound wrote:Crimson Fists say they are scoring units.
Logan says they count as Troops.
Big difference.
Logan's rule is the same as Ork Warbosses making nobs troops, and big meks making deff dreads count as troops [though unfortunately, the dreads still don't score cuz they're vehicles].
I have not read the Ork Codex, as I don't possess Orks.
I do not possess the new SW Codex either, so I can't read and quote the rule.
However, by the OP's description what I said is a valid point
Crimson Fists Sternguard with Cantor counts as troops for scoring.
The same would apply to Logan
Same difference.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 15:50:41
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
AdrianG wrote:I have not read the Ork Codex, as I don't possess Orks.
I do not possess the new SW Codex either, so I can't read and quote the rule.
However, by the OP's description what I said is a valid point
Crimson Fists Sternguard with Cantor counts as troops for scoring.
The same would apply to Logan
Same difference.
Firstly, if you are going to quote rules, quote them correctly.
Pedro's rule states: " Hold the Line! If your army includes Pedro Kantor, your Sternguard Veteran squads are scoring units."
Please note no mention of Troops in any way shape or form.
And lucky for you I DO have the SW Codex, and the rule says:
"Wolf Guard units count as Troops in any army that includes Logan Grimnar." (Typed verboten)
The same for Fenrisam Wolves, it says:
"Fenrisan wolves count as Troops in any army that includes Canis Wolfborn." (Typed verboten)
It does not say they remain Elites/ FA and become scoring, it says they become Troops.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/19 15:52:56
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 16:04:46
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
gwar is correct fortunately.
If logan didn't make them troops then why would it say "counts as troops" if they count as troops this would mean they take up troop slots as this is what troops do and since they count as troops they must count as troops in the FOC as well as on the table top.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 16:44:41
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Wow interesting.... wolf guard as troops... big bad wolves as troops... many many objective grabbers for the wolves eh... we are not limited to grey hunters and blood claws..interesting..
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 16:47:18
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
juppy wrote:Wow interesting.... wolf guard as troops... big bad wolves as troops... many many objective grabbers for the wolves eh... we are not limited to grey hunters and blood claws..interesting..
Wait it gets better:
Wolf Guard TERMINATORS as troops
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 17:01:25
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Stafford
|
Gwar:
That's just nitpickping.
Both would towards scoring units.
Holding objectives can only be done by troop choices.
Nowhere have I read in this thread that gives the impression of them being anything else.
It does not make them a troops choice for FoC does it?
Which is the whole point of the OP's question.
Which is what I was trying to answer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 17:05:22
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
That's just nitpickping.
No, it is not. You fundimentaly changed what the rules says.
Both would towards scoring units.
Yes, well done.
Holding objectives can only be done by troop choices.
No, that is not true. If it were, Pedros Sternguard could not hold an objective.
Nowhere have I read in this thread that gives the impression of them being anything else.
What? Wolf Guard who Count as Troops are not Troops? How in Russ' name can you logically justify that?
It does not make them a troops choice for FoC does it?
Yes, it does, they count as troops! Count as = Are in every way, shape or form! As long as Logan is in the Army, Wolf Guard are Troops, not Elites, because they Count as Troops! (Post Edited to remove Feeling Hurting Capitals)
Which is the whole point of the OP's question.
Which is what I was trying to answer.
Yeah, trying to answer it by not quoting actual rules and not owning any of the relevant codices, while I quote actual rules and own every single codex since the start of 3rd edition and several 2nd edition ones too. Yeah, my bad.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/09/19 17:12:28
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 17:10:43
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Stafford
|
And this is why I usually don't bother posting in threads on this site
You want to shout do it at someone else.
I won't put up with it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 17:11:37
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
AdrianG wrote:And this is why I usually don't bother posting in threads on this site You want to shout do it at someone else. I won't put up with it.
Posting a few words in ALL CAPS to add emphasis is not shouting, but if I hurt your feelings, I will gladly edit my post. Now, if you would like to post a proper argument as to why "Counts as Troops" does not mean "Counts as Troops", please, go ahead.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2009/09/19 17:14:40
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 18:44:14
Subject: Re:Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Elusive Dryad
Germany
|
I think if it'd only count for scoring, then the designers would have made the text a little less misunderstandable. After having tons of characters granting specific units to be taken as troops choices, most players are bound to interpret it as taken as troop choice. So a sensibly thinking designer would either write "Wolf Guard units count as troops for the purpose of scoring and holding objectives etc. but are still taken as Elites choice" or "Wolf Guard units can score/hold objectives as if they were troops" or at least they would have added something like "Note that they still are Elites choices"
So I think RAI is them to be bought as troops.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 19:20:04
Subject: Re:Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Wrack Sufferer
|
AdrianG wrote: 2: Depends on the power. Is it against one target or an area effect? If it's either , only the affected models need make a roll... therefore all 4 affected, it would be 4 dice. The Rune Priest, Runic Weapon reads (cutting to the relevant part): Furthermore, whenever an enemy model succeeds on a psychic test within 24" of the bearer, roll a dice - on the roll of a 4+ that power is nullified. I've been arguing that I roll as many dice to nullify as bearers of runic weapons are in range. The large gaming club (that only really dabbles in 40k) in the area is arguing that one will only roll once.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/19 19:21:46
Once upon a time, I told myself it's better to be smart than lucky. Every day, the world proves me wrong a little more. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 19:36:13
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Committed Chaos Cult Marine
|
That seems to say that you can do it as much as you like.
|
Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.
Vivano crudelis exitus.
Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 19:36:36
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Committed Chaos Cult Marine
|
Double post
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/19 19:37:40
Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.
Vivano crudelis exitus.
Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 06:24:01
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
Gwar! wrote:Firstly, if you are going to quote rules, quote them correctly.
Pedro's rule states: "Hold the Line! If your army includes Pedro Kantor, your Sternguard Veteran squads are scoring units."
Please note no mention of Troops in any way shape or form.
And lucky for you I DO have the SW Codex, and the rule says:
"Wolf Guard units count as Troops in any army that includes Logan Grimnar." (Typed verboten)
The same for Fenrisam Wolves, it says:
"Fenrisan wolves count as Troops in any army that includes Canis Wolfborn." (Typed verboten)
It does not say they remain Elites/FA and become scoring, it says they become Troops.
i don't understand why all of a sudden such a large number of 40k gamers turn into bill clinton and question the meaning of a two letter word. as stated above, they "count as troops". period. they don't count as either elites or troops, they don't count as just scoring, they don't count as troops for one thing and not another. for all intents and purposes, they ARE troops in an army with logan. there are plenty of badly written rules in GW's arsenal; this is not one of them. this is not RAI; this is RACW (rules as CLEARLY written).
p.s. gwar, i think you mean verbatim. verboten is german for forbidden. if we forbid typing, this will indeed become a dull forum.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 06:34:46
Subject: Re:Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
|
Canis allows Fenrisian wolves to count as troops. Wolves have a special rule that makes it so they can never capture an objective. If counting as troops is for objective purposes only, Canis' special rule does nothing.
Counts as troop = they are troops.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 09:49:02
Subject: Re:Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Chinnfrequent wrote:Canis allows Fenrisian wolves to count as troops. Wolves have a special rule that makes it so they can never capture an objective. If counting as troops is for objective purposes only, Canis' special rule does nothing. Counts as troop = they are troops.
I already dealt with this, it allows them to start on the board in Dawn of War, so while it may seem minor, it does have some effect. Gwar! wrote:AdrianG wrote:I have not read the Ork Codex, as I don't possess Orks. I do not possess the new SW Codex either, so I can't read and quote the rule. However, by the OP's description what I said is a valid point Crimson Fists Sternguard with Cantor counts as troops for scoring. The same would apply to Logan Same difference.
Firstly, if you are going to quote rules, quote them correctly. Pedro's rule states: " Hold the Line! If your army includes Pedro Kantor, your Sternguard Veteran squads are scoring units." Please note no mention of Troops in any way shape or form. And lucky for you I DO have the SW Codex, and the rule says: "Wolf Guard units count as Troops in any army that includes Logan Grimnar." (Typed verboten) The same for Fenrisam Wolves, it says: "Fenrisan wolves count as Troops in any army that includes Canis Wolfborn." (Typed verboten) It does not say they remain Elites/ FA and become scoring, it says they become Troops. I can't help but feel you are being a bit biased here Gwar! as it is well documented that you play Space Wolves. to add to those quotes I would include "If your army includes a Captain on Space Marine bike, Space Marine Bike squads of at least five models may be taken as Troops choices." and "A warboss allows one Meganobz or Nobz mob to be taken as a Troops choice." While I don't believe your claims are incorrect, the rule is decidedly unclear compared to these other ones. If you want to interpret it a given way that's your choice, but I think to represent it as being 100% clear which way it functions should not be done. Also I think the word you were after was verbatim not verboten, but I'm hardly a scholar of languages so I may be incorrect.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/20 09:53:32
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 11:02:20
Subject: Space Wolves and Logan
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
Phoenix, Arizona
|
Gets out dark angel codex...
"If Belial is in the army, Deathwing Terminator squads may be treated as a troops choice as well as an elite choice."
Considering "treated" and "count as" are the same thing, by your argument a deathwing army is illegal.
Also why are you bringing in scoring, there is absolutely no mention of it in the rule and GW usually will write that in (Pedro). On the other hand the way it is written you cannot take them as an elite (unlike Deathwing which states they may be taken as elites and troops). This seems pretty clear as to RAI and RAW.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|