Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 03:33:22
Subject: Straken and Camo Cloaks
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Played in the conflict GT today, took 3rd overall losing my last game to a very good player, Alex.
It would not have made any difference in the game as to what the results would have been... but I am trying to figure out a strange rules thing.
If you purchase camo cloaks for a command squad and Straken is purchased also, does he receive a camo cloak?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 03:39:13
Subject: Re:Straken and Camo Cloaks
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
|
It sounds like he does. He's purchased as a replacement for the company commander, which means he's part of the squad and not an attached independent character. Since camo cloaks work for the whole squad, I'd say yea.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 03:41:04
Subject: Straken and Camo Cloaks
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I would say yes, that they would get it because it is listed as being purchased for the entire squad and as such, Strakken is part of the squad that purchased the cloaks.
I was going to counter argue (I guess it could still be counter argued though) that he would not because it is not an option for his character, but the item is being bought for the entire squad so in essence it is availible to him... It would be interesting if you put this up as a poll to see how people vote... For now I am saying yes, he does get them as they are purchased for the entire squad rather than per figure like the SM Scouts.
Edit: BTW, welcome to the forums Cypher, forgot to welcome you in a previous thread I saw you post in but am too lazy to try and re-find it... lol.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/18 03:42:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 04:45:03
Subject: Straken and Camo Cloaks
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The entire squad gets it. There is no rule restricting unique characters from receiving extra wargear bought for a unit. Another example of this would be Ork SCs buying Cybork Body in an army that contains the Mad Dok.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 05:42:49
Subject: Straken and Camo Cloaks
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
but strakens wargear list does not include it...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 05:48:59
Subject: Straken and Camo Cloaks
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Neither does the wargear list of any of the other members of the command squad?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 05:57:57
Subject: Straken and Camo Cloaks
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
frgsinwntr wrote:but strakens wargear list does not include it...
Doesn't matter. It's in the squad upgrade list, which mentions that the whole unit gets it.
What you're saying is just like saying that if an Infantry Squad purchases krak grenades then the sergeant doesn't get it, because it's not in his wargear list.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 06:26:18
Subject: Straken and Camo Cloaks
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I think he means that since Straken is an IC shouldn't he follow the rules that state ICs can not get any more equipment...I think >_>
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 06:47:03
Subject: Straken and Camo Cloaks
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
There is no such rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 07:36:31
Subject: Straken and Camo Cloaks
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:There is no such rule.
Indeed.
Some older codexs (those with Armories in general) have special rules for each of their Special Characters, preventing them having extra equipment.
With the new format and the loss of Armories, this restriction is not needed. If an "Upgrade" Special Character has access to a unit wide wargear, he also gets one. It's the same for Tellion and Camo Cloaks.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 12:04:28
Subject: Straken and Camo Cloaks
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Ah, alright...cool and good to know.
|
|
 |
 |
|