Switch Theme:

Ram/Tank Shock and Defrolla timing, sequence of events?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

OK, so a Battlewagon can use a Deffrolla when it rams. Lots of questions coming out of that. Here's some. What is the sequence of events? Is the DR part of the Ram or are the DR attacks separate from the Ram? We do have an FAQ about a DR and Tank Shock that, to me, seems to indicate the DR occurs after the Tank Shock.

Q. Does a unit that successfully stops a Deff
Rolla-equipped Battlewagon’s Tank Shock suffer
any hits?
A. Yes, it does. In fact, it suffers 2D6 S10 hits!

Seems to say that they suffer the hits AFTER resolving the Tank Shock, Morale Test, Death or Glory sequence. If so, then does that sequence also apply to a Ram attack, meaning that the DR attacks are separate from the Ram attack and occur after the Ram has been resolved? IE is it resolve Ram (and DoG in the case of Walkers) and then apply the DR hits? If so, how does that affect this:

"However, if the rammed vehicle is removed because it suffers a ‘destroyed – explodes!’ damage result, the rammer continues its move,"

If the DR attacks are separate from the Ram attack, does the Rammed vehicle have to explode due to the Ram for the BW to continue moving?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







don_mondo wrote:OK, so a Battlewagon can use a Deffrolla when it rams. Lots of questions coming out of that. Here's some. What is the sequence of events? Is the DR part of the Ram or are the DR attacks separate from the Ram? We do have an FAQ about a DR and Tank Shock that, to me, seems to indicate the DR occurs after the Tank Shock.

Q. Does a unit that successfully stops a Deff
Rolla-equipped Battlewagon’s Tank Shock suffer
any hits?
A. Yes, it does. In fact, it suffers 2D6 S10 hits!

Seems to say that they suffer the hits AFTER resolving the Tank Shock, Morale Test, Death or Glory sequence. If so, then does that sequence also apply to a Ram attack, meaning that the DR attacks are separate from the Ram attack and occur after the Ram has been resolved? IE is it resolve Ram (and DoG in the case of Walkers) and then apply the DR hits? If so, how does that affect this:

"However, if the rammed vehicle is removed because it suffers a ‘destroyed – explodes!’ damage result, the rammer continues its move,"

If the DR attacks are separate from the Ram attack, does the Rammed vehicle have to explode due to the Ram for the BW to continue moving?
I would say that the Ram/DoG is resolved first, then if one of the Vehicles hasn't been Wrecked or Exploded the Dethrolla effect kicks in.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






The hits do appear to have to occur after a DoG is resolved. I'm uncertain as to their relation to ramming... walkers can DoG, but the ram results occur after that is resolved.

Playing that it occurs afterwards seems reasonable, as it is never really defined.
After reading the ram result paragraph a few times over, it would appear to be strongly implied that only the actual ram hit can cause the explodes result that allows further movement, though it is again not clearly stated.

'Both players roll for armour penetration against their
enemy vehicle and any result is immediately applied. If
the vehicle that is rammed is not removed, the rammer
halts. However, if the rammed vehicle is removed
because it suffers a ‘destroyed – explodes!’ damage
result, the rammer continues its move...'
The full context makes it a bit clearer than the shorter OP quote, in my opinion.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/02/28 11:35:46


 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




I'd say DR is happening together with the ram as it is positioned on the front of the ramming wagon (oh noes, real world logic in a rules discussion). Therefor the DR hits should be resolved simultaneously with the ram. If somebody finds a rule that clearly shows it should be resolved afterwards I wouldn't argue though (clearly being the key word here).
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: