Switch Theme:

Do "Dedicated Transports" count as their own KillPoint?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker





Hey Everyone,

I never really thought of this before, until I recently watched a Youtube video from a popular group of GW Wargamers.
At my shop most people assume you get a Killpoint for any Dedicated Transports (so 1 Trukk full of Boyz is 2 Kp's not just 1).

But now that I think about it, if it doesn't take up a force organization slot and it's part of the unit (and can only be taken by units), then it would also make sense that it DOES NOT count as a Kill Point.

This would help orks out quite a bit with the double kill points for a Trukk full o' Boyz.

What do you guys think about this? Is there any ruling on it anywhere?
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

It is its own unit and therefore worth a KP. Just because it is 'unlocked' by the unit buying it, does not make it part of that unit. It can move independently. This is asked here:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/217907.page#375505

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Foolproof Falcon Pilot






Yes, they count as KPs.

   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Black Templar Emperors Champion doesn't take up a Force Org slot, neither do IG Techpriests or Priests, neither do SM Command squads. Are they worth a KP. Yes. Force Org slot has NOTHING to do with it. Unit is what matters. If it can operate on it's own as a separate unit, it's a KP.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout



Rynn's World

I do not believe they count as a KP.I have never played a game where they have.In games played,the kill point has gone to the unit or units carried,never the DT.

: 3000+
: 2000+
: 2000+
 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate






Pedro Kantor wrote:I do not believe they count as a KP.I have never played a game where they have.In games played,the kill point has gone to the unit or units carried,never the DT.


Main rulebook: All units count as kill points.

DT = Unit. Therefore DT = 1 kill point.

That's how it should be played. If you house rule that DT are not kill points, well you've house ruled DT not to be kill points. But other people don't follow a specific person's or group's house rules. If you go to any store or tournament, they are a KP because the rules say they are.

Rejoice in furious challenge, and avenging strife, whose works with woe embitter human life!  
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Alexandria

The rules very clearly state dedicated transports are killpoints.

Are they a "unit"?
Then they are worth 1kp.

- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts 
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

can it move independently? yes. can it shoot independently? yes. so it's an independent unit and counts as a kill point. the same is true (unfortunately) for tau gun drones that disattach from a devilfish, etc. the ONLY benefit you get from buying a dedicated transport is that it does not take up a force organization slot. i lost a tournament last year because my opponent and the judge didn't realize that transports counted as a KP.
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Force org slot does not equal unit.

There are lots of force org slots that may be taken up by multiple units.

See:

Any unit and a dedicated transport (2 units, 1 FOC slot)
IG infantry platoons (up to 18 units, 1 slot)
Purchasing a Farseer "unlocks" a seer council, that does not take up a FOC slot.
Etc.


Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot





585NY

id be fine with playing transports dont count as kill points, but dont think it will count as contesting an objective when you pull it out of hiding and park on the objective last turn...

its written pretty clearly that they are KPs...

 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate






krusty wrote:id be fine with playing transports dont count as kill points, but dont think it will count as contesting an objective when you pull it out of hiding and park on the objective last turn...

its written pretty clearly that they are KPs...


Actually they do contest objectives as well. They are a unit and units can contest.

One of the reasons Eldar Wave serpents are so nasty. Nothing like thinking you have the game in the bag and then having them turbo boost forward last turn to contest your objectives.

Rejoice in furious challenge, and avenging strife, whose works with woe embitter human life!  
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

I think he was saying that if the player wants to claim they are not a KP, then they shouldn't play they can contest too, a sort of 'cake and eat it' argument.

In normal missions they do most certainly maintain the ability to contest.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

willydstyle wrote:Force org slot does not equal unit.

There are lots of force org slots that may be taken up by multiple units.

See:

Any unit and a dedicated transport (2 units, 1 FOC slot)
IG infantry platoons (up to 18 units, 1 slot)
Purchasing a Farseer "unlocks" a seer council, that does not take up a FOC slot.
Etc.



absolutely correct. are you under the impression that i said it does? just in case, i didn't; i just said that the ONLY BENEFIT a dedicated transport has over a nondedicated one is that it doesn't take a force org slot.
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

So how does that equate into a dedicated transport not being worth a KP?

Is a jetbike seer council not worth a KP?

How about a unit of lesser daemons?

These are units that do not take up a FOC slot.

Oh, I see where the confusion lies, you assume that I was responding to your post. This is not the case, I was responding to the OPs idea that no FOC slot means no KP.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/03 03:29:42


Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout



Rynn's World

This is something i will definately take up at my next club meet,if only to put the question out there and get some feedback/debate going with my fellow players.

: 3000+
: 2000+
: 2000+
 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Alexandria

There is no question, or room for debate, if you play dedicated transports as not yielding kps you're violating exceedingly clear RAW and basically cheating and screwing certain armies while massively benefiting others.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/05 14:34:15


- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

It really is quite clear. They clearly fit the definition of a "unit" in the beginning of the rulebook. And the kill point rules clearly state that any destroyed unit yields a kill point.

As noted, there are quite a number of units out there which don't take up Force Org slots, including chaos space marines' lesser daemons, gun drones from tau devilfish, and eldar warlock squads. They're still worth KP.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz





Chicago Suburbs Northwest

It's widely acknowledged that dedicated transports count towards kill points, but I completely disagree that it is clear in the rulebook. If I didn't play in such an active area for 40K, it would be a lingering question.

- Blackbone

Us Blood axes have learnt a lot from da humies. How best ta kill 'em, fer example.  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

On what basis would you conclude that they don't? I don't see any implication in the rulebook that they wouldn't.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Blackbone wrote:It's widely acknowledged that dedicated transports count towards kill points, but I completely disagree that it is clear in the rulebook. If I didn't play in such an active area for 40K, it would be a lingering question.

- Blackbone


I assume you would assume they werent a unit then?

In which case none of the rules of 40k would apply to them...
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

This line, page 87, main rules:
Sometimes a single choice on the force organisation chart will allow you to select more than one unit.

Nuff said?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate






Blackbone wrote:It's widely acknowledged that dedicated transports count towards kill points, but I completely disagree that it is clear in the rulebook. If I didn't play in such an active area for 40K, it would be a lingering question.

- Blackbone


It is pretty clear I think... DT are units. Units are kill points.

Rejoice in furious challenge, and avenging strife, whose works with woe embitter human life!  
   
Made in us
Smokin' Skorcha Driver






Utah

The rulebook is pretty clear for standard games every unit is a KP.

Some gaming groups like to take the previous years Ard
boyz approach that dedicated transports are not a kill point. These same groups convienently usually do not adopt the same formats other kp mechanisms such as 2kp per elite/fast/heavy and 3 kp per hq.

If they are preparing for Ard boyz and using the ard boyz scoring method(which changes in some scenarios) then dedicated transports might not be worth a kill point, but everything else might be worth more. In one of the missions each troop unit was worth 3 KP.


To be honest both systems have their facepalm moments, and neither fully accounts for the worth of units when taken by itself. The only merit to the KP system is the balance it provides to the other two main missions which are objective based. A 800+ pt nob squad being the same 1 KP as a 20pt DH inquisitor?
And the reverse in ard boyz style: what? the 750 pts for three dedicated transport land raiders arnt worth any kill points?

Gotta love our Gee-Dub.

   
Made in us
Automated Space Wolves Thrall






In the BA, not having dedicated transports count as a KP would kill the game, as Land Raiders are dedicated transports.

Space Wolves - In the Assembly/Expansion stage. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: