Switch Theme:

KFF negating weaponry  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Moustache-twirling Princeps





About to eat your Avatar...

Well, as far as I know, they are not synonymous in game terms.

If you have a squad of three Kanz, and one of them is behind a building, BLOS, the squad does not get cover from things that can see the two exposed Kanz.

Besides, it makes no sense either way that 'obscured' would not be applicable in the same terms, no matter how many units are involved. You need 2 Kans, 50% obscured, to give the third Kan obscured as well.

This would apply in the same way that it would in terms of troops. You can't have one Ork boy in the KFF range, and claim cover for the entire squad, that is just too much.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/15 22:44:26



 
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker






Wrexasaur wrote:Well, as far as I know, they are not synonymous in game terms.

If you have a squad of three Kanz, and one of them is behind a building, BLOS, the squad does not get cover from things that can see the two exposed Kanz.

Besides, it makes no sense either way that 'obscured' would not be applicable in the same terms, no matter how many units are involved. You need 2 Kans, 50% obscured, to give the third Kan obscured as well.

This would apply in the same way that it would in terms of troops. You can't have one Ork boy in the KFF range, and claim cover for the entire squad, that is just too much.


What you are missing is that that is exactly how the KFF works. If one ork boy from a group is within the 6" range, then every single boy in the entire unit counts as cover 5+.

Goffs 
   
Made in us
Moustache-twirling Princeps





About to eat your Avatar...

'A KFF gives all units within 6" of the Mek a 5+ cover save. Vehicles within 6" are treated as being obscured targets.'

I suppose this is relatively clear. Given the lack of detail in the description, and the clear descriptions involved with cover in general, I would say it is debatable.

GW needs to make their rules clearer, could anyone link me to FAQ on this if there are any?



 
   
Made in se
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Europe

I have looked in them... nothing that covers KFF och vehicle sqaudrons covers.

http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?catId=&categoryId=§ion=&pIndex=1&aId=3400019&start=2

8500p Plague Marines
Vote on my Titan on CoolMiniOrNot


 
   
Made in us
Moustache-twirling Princeps





About to eat your Avatar...

'If a special rule or a piece of wargear confers to a vehicle the ability of being obscured even if in the open, this is a 4+ cover save, unless specified otherwise in the Codex.'

A vehicle, not a squadron. I am really not too sure about all of this. I think there is a solid argument for the fact that vehicle squadrons are treated completely different than individuals, and thus cannot be expected to react in the same way to a KFF.


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: