Switch Theme:

Devil Dog Melta Cannon  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Suppose I fire a devil dog melta cannon, and it scatters so that it hits the rear armor of a tank. The center of the blast is outside minimum range, but the part of the blast hitting the tank is not. Do I get 4+1d6 or 4+2d6 for AP?







There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







MekanobSamael wrote:Suppose I fire a devil dog melta cannon, and it scatters so that it hits the rear armor of a tank. The center of the blast is outside minimum range, but the part of the blast hitting the tank is not. Do I get 4+1d6 or 4+2d6 for AP?
Minimum Range? Do you mean melta range?

In any case, melta range is NOT determined from where the blast lands, it's determined between the gun and the closest part of the hull of the enemy.

Yes, it's complicated.

For example, a Devil Dog fires at a Tank. The blast is placed in the middle of the tank, 14" away. The closest part of the hull is 11" away from the Devildogs gun.
The Blast scatters 1", and ends up 15" away, but still gets a hit on the hull (this is something huge like a Land Raider).
The Blast now rolls Full Strength plus 2D6, as the tank itself is 11" from the weapon, and thus within half range.

So in your case, if the closest part of the hull was less than 12" from you, you would have rolled Half Strength + 2D6, otherwise Half Strength + D6.

Does it make sense? No, but them's the rules. Take it or leave it!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/06/26 01:07:50


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Gotchya gotchya. Had to read that a couple of times but yeah I see.

Thanks!







There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I can throw up some diagrams if it will help!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Veteran Knight Baron in a Crusader






UK

I'd like that... just to see what you come up with!

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Ask and ye shall recieve.

In these Diagrams, the Superspecialawesome Devil Dog of Dhoom™ is shooting at the Nastybad™ Rhino of Chaos Evilness with it's Melta Cannon doodad.

In this first Diagram, no matter how much the Devil Dog wishes and prays ever so hard to the Omnissiah, he cannot get the Melta Bonus against the Rhino, since it is too far away. Even in the bottom example, the Melta Die sits in the dice tray, laughing maniacally and making rude jokes about the Melta Cannons sister, since you do not use where the blast ends up, you use the actual range.


In this diagram however, the Superspecialawesome Devil Dog of Dhoom™ has been able to get closer to the Nastybad™ Rhino of Chaos Evilness! Now, no matter where the blast lands, he will get the Most Sacred Melta Die of Sacredness, who isn't so fething smarmy now, is it! Huh!? HUH!?

Even if the blast scatters beyond the Half Range mark, the Melta bonus is granted, since, once again, you use the actual range, not where the blast lands.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Where did you find those icons?







There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

He used Vassal I believe to create that.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in gb
Veteran Knight Baron in a Crusader






UK

Impressive... most impressive!

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: