Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 21:48:47
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
In the new DE codex it states the armour for the dais is better, but other than that, it is treated exactly like a raider. Does this mean it can have the upgrades? Its not listed under his entry, it just states "treated like a raider" and under raiders it lists possible upgrades and their points.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 21:58:45
Subject: Re:Dais of destruction
|
 |
Barpharanges
|
It said it needs "9 more" members atop the Dais so this may mean the retune option characters .
|
The biggest indicator someone is a loser is them complaining about 3d printers or piracy. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 22:03:40
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
|
I would assume that the Dais would be eligible for other upgrades, though considering how expensive it already is, I dunno if you'd really want to add anymore.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:38:09
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
ghosted... see below
Homer
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/10/18 19:43:03
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:40:02
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
You pay for any 9 models that must start in the Raider with Vect. The Court is not a Retinue, nor is it Mandatory. It's the same as, say, a Command Squad, where every Captain lets you take one. Every Archon lets you take a Court if you want. As for Upgrades, I am not sure. I would say that it cannot, since it doesn't say it can. "Trated like a Raider" simply means it has the Transport Capacity and special rules of the Raider.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/18 19:40:51
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:42:32
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Remember, the new Court will not be a retinue according to the codex at my FLGS (GW). What I don't remember is if the nine models means a Court of 9 additional models is included in the cost of the Dais or you pay for any unit of 9 models that Vect joins in the Dais/Raider. And does he or any other SC count as an Archon for purposes of the Court?
@Gwar: Does "treated exactly like a Raider" mean what you state? I would think if it was just size and rules it would say that.
Homer
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/18 19:43:26
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:47:35
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Homer S wrote:Remember, the new Court will not be a retinue according to the codex at my FLGS (GW). What I don't remember is if the nine models means a Court of 9 additional models is included in the cost of the Dais or you pay for any unit of 9 models that Vect joins in the Dais/Raider. And does he or any other SC count as an Archon for purposes of the Court? @Gwar: Does "treated exactly like a Raider" mean what you state? I would think if it was just size and rules it would say that. Homer
And if it were meant to be allowed to have Upgrades, it would also say so. It doesn't though, so it can't. I will admit it's not 100% clear. And as for vect being an Archon, covered in the Courts rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/18 19:48:31
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:49:07
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Gwar! wrote:SNIP And as for vect being an Archon, covered in the Courts rules.
Missed that, thanks!
One last question: if it says "exactly like" why would that exclude options?
Homer
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/18 19:50:21
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:51:03
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Homer S wrote:Gwar! wrote:SNIP And as for vect being an Archon, covered in the Courts rules.
Missed that, thanks!
One last question: if it says "exactly like" why would that exclude options?
Homer
Thats the thing, I am not 100% sure it does (I don't have the codex obviously). xD
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:52:08
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Even if it does say that, wouldn't upgrading it be treating it exactly like an upgraded version?
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:52:58
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Hey, not only am I practically chatting with Gwar, he almost agrees with me! I should go buy a lottery ticket or something...
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 20:08:23
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
kirsanth wrote:Even if it does say that, wouldn't upgrading it be treating it exactly like an upgraded version?
As I said, it's unclear. I need to have another look at the exact wording.
This WILL be going into my FAQ as soon as I get round to the army list section of it. Automatically Appended Next Post: Homer S wrote:Hey, not only am I practically chatting with Gwar, he almost agrees with me! I should go buy a lottery ticket or something...
Homer
I don't think any Lotteries have the letters R, A and W on them!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/18 20:08:48
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/19 21:24:31
Subject: Re:Dais of destruction
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It is treated as a raider, it is not a raider.
No upgrades allowed, and it cannot move over 6" and fire all of the Dark Lances... only 1.
All weapons fire at BS 4.
I am pretty sure (ok, hoping) they FAQ it to be allowed to move 12 and shoot everything, but I won't hold my breath.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/26 17:17:28
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Gwar! wrote:You pay for any 9 models that must start in the Raider with Vect. The Court is not a Retinue, nor is it Mandatory. It's the same as, say, a Command Squad, where every Captain lets you take one. Every Archon lets you take a Court if you want.
As for Upgrades, I am not sure.
I would say that it cannot, since it doesn't say it can.
"Trated like a Raider" simply means it has the Transport Capacity and special rules of the Raider.
I came up with another Dais question: can the unit of 9 models be a unit of fewer models with joined ICs?
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/26 17:23:14
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Homer S wrote:Gwar! wrote:You pay for any 9 models that must start in the Raider with Vect. The Court is not a Retinue, nor is it Mandatory. It's the same as, say, a Command Squad, where every Captain lets you take one. Every Archon lets you take a Court if you want.
As for Upgrades, I am not sure.
I would say that it cannot, since it doesn't say it can.
"Trated like a Raider" simply means it has the Transport Capacity and special rules of the Raider.
I came up with another Dais question: can the unit of 9 models be a unit of fewer models with joined ICs?
Homer
Yes, of course. The only stipulation that 9 models + Vect start in the Pimpmobile. What those 9 models are is not restricted, so you could have Vect, 3 Haemonculi and 6 Wyches if you wanted.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/26 18:20:56
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
That's what I was thinking, I was looking for a second opinion on it.
Thanks!
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/27 21:31:05
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Angry Chaos Agitator
Rochester, New York
|
I'm thinking that the Dias can take upgrades, since the text itself states the differences in his vehicle versus the stock raider, and then essentially redirects you to the stock raider as a basis for how to use the unit. I haven't seen Vect's rule page in the back, per say.... only his flavor entry in the beginning of the book. What does it say in his stat page? May take (1) Dias of Destruction for (XXX) points? I think the wording in his entry might shed some light on the situation.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/27 21:31:33
: 4000 Points : 3000 Points : 2000 Points |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/27 21:39:55
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
I would say that if the Dais is "treated as a Raider" it is considered to be a unique Raider, and therefore would have access to anything a regular Raider would, although as to why you would upgrade it is beyond me, as even at 2000 point games, it's 1/4 of your entire points limit going into one model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/27 21:48:34
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Valkyrie wrote:why you would upgrade it is beyond me, as even at 2000 point games, it's 1/4 of your entire points limit going into one model.
Because the upgrades are fairly cheap - at 10 or 5 points a pop, for something potentially gamechanging.
But yeah I would assume the Dais can't take upgrades, as I would look at it as another special character, who can't normally take wargear.
Of course, I would need to see the codex.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/10/27 21:49:08
Armies | Orks (2000 - Magna-Waaagh!) - | Blood Angels (1500 - Sylvania Company) - | Dark Eldar - (1500 - Kabal of the Golden Sorrow) - | Salamanders (1000 - Vulkan Ravens) - | Chaos (1500 - Wisdom and Wrath) - |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/27 23:06:57
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Araqiel
Yellow Submarine
|
Treated like a Raider means you can take upgrades. I don't think the rules could be any clearer either so all the RAWists should be jumping in the streets.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/27 23:23:34
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
BloodThirSTAR wrote:Treated like a Raider means you can take upgrades. I don't think the rules could be any clearer either so all the RAWists should be jumping in the streets.
Statements like this when the codex isn't even out yet make me laugh.
|
"Don't put your trust in revolutions. They always come around again. That's why they're called revolutions. People die, and nothing changes."
In the grim darkness of the 41st millenium... there is only brand loyalty! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/27 23:29:52
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Araqiel
Yellow Submarine
|
Well I read the codex after I got my copy so feel free to keep laughing. I am okay with that and salute you sir.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/27 23:45:23
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
BloodThirSTAR wrote:Treated like a Raider means you can take upgrades.
kirsanth wrote:Even if it does say that, wouldn't upgrading it be treating it exactly like an upgraded version?
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/27 23:48:21
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Araqiel
Yellow Submarine
|
Why are you quoting yourself? I mean seriously, no need to be that dramatic.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/28 07:30:29
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Because your statement did not answer the question already posted: which is you are only alowed to treat it as a raider, NOT a "raider with flickerfields" etc.
Hint: you have permission to do one, not the other.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/28 07:31:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/28 12:42:37
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Araqiel
Yellow Submarine
|
Raiders are allowed to be equipped with upgrades. The dias is just like a raider in that regard.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/28 12:48:17
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Which makes them a raider with flickerfield, which is not a raider.
One of them is what you are allowed to be treated as, the other is something else.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/28 12:50:17
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Araqiel
Yellow Submarine
|
Thats just your opinion really.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/28 13:22:41
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Or its an accurate reading of the rules as currently written, and the contrary is wishful thinking.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/28 13:45:27
Subject: Dais of destruction
|
 |
Araqiel
Yellow Submarine
|
I'm sure GW will FAQ this one then we will see who is right.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|