Switch Theme:

Question on attached IC's and assaults...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






We looked in the rule book and I've tried searching here but....

Anyway, had a situation that we diced off on. Basically, my buddy had an IC joined to a unit that was in assault, the IC was at the back of the squad, not in B2B and not within 2" of any enemy model. The squad he was attached to was wiped out but he was unharmed (obviously). Is that IC still considered in assault at that point (during combat resolution) or is he no longer in assault and gets to consolidate per normal?

I believe that he would have no longer been in assault and should have been able to consolidate. Obviously opinions were torn and we rolled a dice and he ended up locked in assault after all.

Thoughts?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




The IC was in the Squad for Combat resolution so he would have had to take a Morale Test for losing epically and then you all consolidate together.

Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose.  
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






The roll-off was correct. Any units that were in combat and did not flee have to pile-in. Only after both pile ins are done if the IC was no longer in base contact with an enemy, he could leave combat and consolidate.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Well that's just it though, for everything prior to combat resolution he is his own squad, technically. So when the combat resolution phase came into play there was no squad left for him to "rejoin and be a part of" as his joined unit had been killed by the opposition already. There was no one left to pile into during combat resolution either because of this. So technically no, he was not in the squad for combat resolution. Since he technically never took part in combat and was no longer part of any unit during combat resolution it's just difficult to see how he could be part of the assault anymore.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He is still part of the assault. He is still a part of the unit until his movement phase.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Ah, see that makes sense then. thanks.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: