Switch Theme:

Mordrak and Grand Strategy  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Is there any prohibition preventing Motdrak from making his own Ghost Knight unit scoring ?

 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

Sadly yes, Mordrak's Ghost Knights cannot be made scoring.

Check out pg.22 under "Grand Strategy" (specifically the parenthesis that starts with "but not models...")

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General






A garden grove on Citadel Station

He can't make his knights scoring.

But I'm pretty sure he can make himself scoring.

ph34r's Forgeworld Phobos blog, current WIP: Iron Warriors and Skaven Tau
+From Iron Cometh Strength+ +From Strength Cometh Will+ +From Will Cometh Faith+ +From Faith Cometh Honor+ +From Honor Cometh Iron+
The Polito form is dead, insect. Are you afraid? What is it you fear? The end of your trivial existence?
When the history of my glory is written, your species shall only be a footnote to my magnificence.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Mordrak is not a separate unit, so cannot be made scoring himself.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





nosferatu1001 wrote:Mordrak is not a separate unit, so cannot be made scoring himself.


Why does that matter?

Other than the first fluff sentence implying it ("...assign special battlefield roles to units under [the GKGM's] command.") the rule doesn't say anything about needing to target a separate unit. It says to "choose [D3] infantry, jump infantry, monstrous creatures, or walker units in your army." It then lists onces that can not be affected, but since Mordrak is not an IC, Henchmen, or his Ghost Knights it doesn't matter.

EDIT: After typing this up, I realized I misinterpreted you. I thought you meant he is not a separate unit from himself, but you meant from the Ghost Knights. Well, if he was alone he could definitely choose himself. If he and his Ghost Knights were bought, then honestly I would not see any reason that he couldn't give himself scoring, and then we have three possible situations:

1) He is scoring but the unit is not. Measure all distances to capture objectives with him only.
2) He is scoring but the unit is not, so nothing is scoring. When the Ghost Knights die he can score on his own.
3) He is not scoring in any circumstance.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/04 11:47:54


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The only way he coud be made scoring is to not buy any Ghost Knights with him, which is fairly pointless
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

I'd like to revisit this question as we now have Trayzan the Infinite from the Necron Codex. He clearly is an example of a character model with the intention of allowing himself to be scoring while joined to a unit that is not. Therefore Mordrak could also assign himself scoring while his Ghost Knights remain non-scoring.
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Solahma






RVA

Then please start a new thread.

Thanks.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: