Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/06 00:36:29
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
Does Karamazov's Relentless mean that he may move and fire an orbital strike relay? I am really unsure but hoping he can Is a master-crafted multi-melta the same as a twin-linked multi-melta? Yes Although the entry specifically says Karamazov may not embark transport vehicles, will he be able to be transported via storm raven? No Can dreads embark a storm raven? i have no idea, never ran a storm raven Since Karamazov's entry says infantry, does he get a cover save as easily as "normal" infantry? by RAW i would saw, yes May Karamazov shoot both his MM and his Orbital Strike Relay in the same turn? I think so, a relentless cyclone termie may fire both the CML and the SB (which is a better comparison then a walker because Karamazov is Infantry) Do you agree with my preliminary thoughts Automatically Appended Next Post: helloooo... its called a lance
bueller?
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2011/04/06 02:05:35
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/06 02:49:58
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Termies can fire their CML and SB because it specifically says so...it doesnt say anywhere relentless lets INFANTRY fire 2 ranged weapons.
He must choose to fire one.
He also cannot move and fire his orbital relay. Relentless lets you move and fire heavy and rapid fire weapons and assault afterwards, but orbital relay requires you to not have moved to fire it. You fill the requirements to shoot it, but you do not fill the requirements allowing you to shoot it.
You may not move and fire the orbital relay anymore than you may move and fire a powersword.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/06 02:50:25
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Deuce11 wrote:Does Karamazov's Relentless mean that he may move and fire an orbital strike relay? I am really unsure but hoping he can
Is a master-crafted multi-melta the same as a twin-linked multi-melta? Yes
Although the entry specifically says Karamazov may not embark transport vehicles, will he be able to be transported via storm raven? No Can dreads embark a storm raven? i have no idea, never ran a storm raven
Since Karamazov's entry says infantry, does he get a cover save as easily as "normal" infantry? by RAW i would saw, yes
May Karamazov shoot both his MM and his Orbital Strike Relay in the same turn? I think so, a relentless cyclone termie may fire both the CML and the SB (which is a better comparison then a walker because Karamazov is Infantry)
Do you agree with my preliminary thoughts
Automatically Appended Next Post:
bueller?
to the first question not sure
Second, no twin linked lets you re-roll all misses while master craft is only 1 miss per play turn
Third, is a storm raven a transport,yes, so no he can not as his rules say he can not.
As for cover, well it does say infantry so I would say yes.
As for firing both weapons not really sure.
Hope this helps
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/06 02:51:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/06 04:30:02
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
I think Orbital Strike Relay says you ca not move. Not cause it is heavy whatever. and relentless just says you can fire as if you stayed still.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/06 04:42:57
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Dreadnoughts may embark inside a storm raven. He is not a dreadnought, and his rules clearly state that he may not embark into vehicles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/06 06:40:15
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) He cannot move and fire the OSR, as the rules for the OSR require you to stand still. Relentless does not let you do this
2) A MC MM is *effectively* the same as a TL MM, as you have a single shot that you can reroll to hit with either one. However if it was a MC plasmagun that would not be the same, as you can sometimes fire two shots.
3) He is infantry so gets cover as a normal infantry model
4) You can only fire 1 weapon per turn, unless you are a vehicle / MC which have additional allowances to fire more than 1 weapon. Being abl,e to fire SB+CML is a special rule of the CML, not related to Relentless
5) While dreads can embark a stormraven, he isnt a dread.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/06 13:23:22
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
The only question i really thought was worth discussing was the move and fire orbital strike relay ("OSR").
The question comes down to whether the wording of relentless says 'a unit with relentless may fire Heavy weapons as if it did not move' or 'a unit with relentless may fire [anything] as if it did not move.' Does anyone have the rulebook handy?
Honestly i think this little rule could make-or-break Karamazov as a contending SC choice.
|
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/06 13:55:19
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Relentless specifically states Heavy and Rapid Fire weapons. Hence why we said it doesnt work, oddly enough....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/06 18:23:29
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Relentless specifically states Heavy and Rapid Fire weapons. Hence why we said it doesnt work, oddly enough....
getting snarky nos.
Alright well, that puts the nail in the coffin for that. A lot less fun coming from K-zov.
Is he even an IC? I cannot remember.
With his limitations he's expensive at 200. I dunno if I want him so much anymore. Would've been cool to model a counts-as.
|
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/06 22:55:02
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Not really, however asking the same question when you alreadsy have the answer of "no, it wont work" with why it wont work, from two different people, is unlikely to be met well.
from memory he IS an IC. Cant find GK codex at the moment though..
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/06 23:06:11
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yep. He's now an IC infantry model. Good luck getting cover with his giant fig when he's not in a unit.
Also, a question. If he uses his "hit a friendly without chance of missing" special rule, if the orbital strike gets rolled 3 in d3 that's 3 large blasts on one target, right?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/06 23:06:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/06 23:09:51
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
He only needs one leg covered to get cover. Fairly easy.
Yes, 3 large blasts that cannot scatter.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 00:47:14
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
|
i think a good strategy with the "by any means necessary" rule would be to get a dk with teleporter as close as possible to the enemy and then to fire the relay on him, those str 6 ap 4 large blast wont do anything to the dreadknight but it will lead the unit his next to to its doooooooooooom
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 02:26:12
Subject: Karamazov Q's
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:He only needs one leg covered to get cover. Fairly easy.
not even fully covered; a sliver of 1 leg or 1 arm will grant him a cover save, as will half the unit he joins so covered.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|