Switch Theme:

Can Grand Master Mordrak Join other units becide the Ghost knights?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gr
Fresh-Faced New User





Can Grand Master Mordrak join Paladins and use his rule First to the Fray? On Page 48 of the BRB it states that there are HQ choices that can have a retinue and when this bodyguard die, they count as independent characters from that point on. If Mordrak doesnt get his Ghost knights does he count as an IC ?
Thanks
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol





University of St. Andrews

Does Mordrak have the IC special rule? If he does, then yes he can join other units, if he does not then no he can not join any other units, other than those it says he specifically can.

A unit can consist of only a single model. That single model doesn't become an IC just because it's a single model unit.

"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor

707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)

Visit my nation on Nation States!








 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Absolutely not. He is NEVER an ic
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





Also, nothing in the GK codex is a retinue. Mordrak becomes an upgrade character to the Ghost Knights, just like a Veteran Sergeant.

Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Tribune






Mordrak is forever stuck with his ghost knights, he does not have IC (just like crowe) and must always be deployed with a unit of ghost knights. This means he cannot be picked out in close combat. wounds are simply alocated as if he was just equiped differently.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He is NOT forced to deploy with Ghost Knights; you dont have to purchase ANY Ghost Knights for him. You can also attach ICs to him.
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Tribune




nosferatu1001 wrote:He is NOT forced to deploy with Ghost Knights; you dont have to purchase ANY Ghost Knights for him. You can also attach ICs to him.


wrong on last 1

you cant attach ic to units of exaclty 1 model, except other ics
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




WRong, again.

You cannot attach ICs to units that ALWAYS consist of one model. Mordrak does not fit this criteria.

So you can always attach another IC to Mordrak.
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

nosferatu1001 wrote:WRong, again.

You cannot attach ICs to units that ALWAYS consist of one model. Mordrak does not fit this criteria.

So you can always attach another IC to Mordrak.


Agreed.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





nosferatu1001 wrote:WRong, again.

You cannot attach ICs to units that ALWAYS consist of one model. Mordrak does not fit this criteria.

So you can always attach another IC to Mordrak.


Can you always attach a Tyranid Prime to a Hive Tyrant?

I can't see a difference between the two situations. Both involve a model that is alone in an entry, but can become a multi-model unit if a separate entry is taken.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Difference is that you buy mordrak + knights together, you dont decide to join them during the game.
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





You do if he generates them during play.

Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Homer S wrote:You do if he generates them during play.

Homer


Which is one of the many indications that he is never "always consisting of a single model". If he buys Ghost Knights, he is an upgrade character for them. Not a single unit there. If he is on his own, he has the ability to generate more models in his unit, therefore he never "always consists of a single model".

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in gb
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker






Norwich

somerandomdude wrote:

Can you always attach a Tyranid Prime to a Hive Tyrant?



The hive tyrant is a monstrous creature, so he can't anyway.



 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

What does being an MC have to do with it? A Carnifex is an MC and a Prime can join them just fine.

Mordrak is not a unit that always consists of a single model, so an IC can join him. If you buy or generate knights, Mordrak is automatically part of that unit.
A Hive Tyrant is a unit that always consists of a single model that can join one type of unit through a codex special rule. Note that you can buy the Guard and deploy the Tyrant and Guard separately, they're not a retinue or a unit that he must join.
See the difference?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Mordrak's special rules specifically state that when Mordrak is without Ghost Knights, he is treated as a single model unit, so no, Mordrak may not be joined by an IC when he is on his own. However, when nMordrak is with Ghost Knights, this restriction no longer applies, allowing IC to join with him and his Ghost Knights.

When in doubt, read the book.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Mordrak's special rules specifically state that when Mordrak is without Ghost Knights, he is treated as a single model unit, so no, Mordrak may not be joined by an IC when he is on his own.

Sorry, but that is NOT true.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




jeffersonian000 wrote:Mordrak's special rules specifically state that when Mordrak is without Ghost Knights, he is treated as a single model unit, so no, Mordrak may not be joined by an IC when he is on his own. However, when nMordrak is with Ghost Knights, this restriction no longer applies, allowing IC to join with him and his Ghost Knights.

When in doubt, read the book.

SJ


1000% incorrect. Seriously. He is NEVER a "unit that always consists of one model" therefore ANY IC can join him.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






He really is no different than any other unit bought consisting of one or more models. If you buy only a single model of thunderwolf cavalry, it could still be joined by ICs, even though it is a single-model unit.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Codex GK, pg. 40, last sentence of the first paragraph under the Ghostly Bodyguard entry: "... at which point he reverts to being a single-model unit in his own right."

"Revert" means to "go back to, or return to an original state". This means that Mordrak is a single-model unit when not accompanied by Ghost Knights. And as Mordrak lacks the Independent Character special rule, he can never join with another unit, nor be joined by another if he is on his own. Per the same paragraph, when Mordrak is accompanied by Ghost Knights, he is considered an upgrade character for that unit, which does allow Independent Charaters to join with his unit of Ghost Knights.

Reading ... it's a dying art.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Sarcasm sadly isnt.

Is Mordrak ALWAYS a single model unit? No.

Page 48. PLease reread it. You're missing the "always", or willfully ignoring it. One of the two.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Is there ever a time in the game when Mordrak is not unit consisting of a single model? Yes, there is. Therefor he is not a unit that ALWAYS consists of a single model, therefor an IC can join him.

Reading comprehension.... it's a dying art.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

jeffersonian000 wrote:"... at which point he reverts to being a single-model unit in his own right."

Meaning he wasn't always a single model unit.


This means that Mordrak is a single-model unit when not accompanied by Ghost Knights.

Which also means that he is not always a single model unit.


Reading ... it's a dying art.

As is posting in a civil fashion. Luckily, we can do something about that.

 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Semantics. At no point can Mordrak join another unit or be joined by another unit, because he is a single-model unit as long he is not accompanied by Ghost Knights (at which point he is treated as an upgrade character for the unit of Ghost Knights). Ghost Knights, on the other hand, are never a single-model unit and therefore may be joined by Independent Characters as normal.

If you had even bothered to read Mordrak's entry in the GK codex before responding to the OP's or my post, then you might not have precieves my comment is sarcastic or uncivil. Saying I'm wrong without bothering to confirm your assumption is uncivil. Reading is a dying art, and I stand by my statement that when in doubt, read the book.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





USA

jeffersonian000 wrote: because he is a single-model unit as long he is not accompanied by Ghost Knights


There ya go. "As long as he is not accompanied by Ghost Knights". He is not ALWAYS a single model unit.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

jeffersonian000 wrote:Semantics.

Which, in a discussion of the written word, often makes all the difference.


...because he is a single-model unit as long he is not accompanied by Ghost Knights

That 'as long as' means that he is not always a single-model unit. There is a situation in which he is not a single model unit (when he is accompanied by the rest of his unit)... ergo, he is not always a single-model unit.


Saying I'm wrong without bothering to confirm your assumption is uncivil.

I did confirm my 'assumption'... if a model is not always a single-model unit, then that model is not always a single-model unit. How much more confirmation do you need?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/18 23:05:23


 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






jeffersonian000 wrote:Semantics. At no point can Mordrak join another unit or be joined by another unit, because he is a single-model unit as long he is not accompanied by Ghost Knights (at which point he is treated as an upgrade character for the unit of Ghost Knights). Ghost Knights, on the other hand, are never a single-model unit and therefore may be joined by Independent Characters as normal.

If you had even bothered to read Mordrak's entry in the GK codex before responding to the OP's or my post, then you might not have precieves my comment is sarcastic or uncivil. Saying I'm wrong without bothering to confirm your assumption is uncivil. Reading is a dying art, and I stand by my statement that when in doubt, read the book.

SJ

Maybe you should read the basic rulebook before moving on to more difficult things like the GK codex. And especially before insulting people.

"Independent characters are allowed to join other units. They cannot, however, join vehicle squadrons (see the Vehicles section) and units that always consist of a single model (like most vehicles and monstrous creatures)."(BRB pg. 48)

"units that always consist of a single model"

If at any point in time, during any game in the future or the past, a unit can become a unit of more than one model, without breaking any rules, it can be joined by an independent character.

No matter how many ghost knights are bought when fielding Mordak, he always has the ability to become a unit of more than model.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/18 23:18:45


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

So you are stating that the rules as written allows Mordrak to be joined by an independent character, regardless of Ghost Knights being present?

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




The intent may have been to have Modrak only able to be joined by ghost knights. The "at which point he reverts blah blah" wording seems to hint at this. But if that was the intent, it should have been much more explicit.

I've only just graduated from "always fumbling with rules" to "mostly fumbling with rules," but it seems pretty clear to me that:

Mordak cannot join a another unit because he does not have the "independent character special rule."

However, Mordrak becomes an upgrade character for a unit. Therefore the single model Mordrak unit is not always a single model unit. The fact that he is a single model unit when he is on his own does not change the fact that he is not always a single model unit. Hence, the single model Modrak unit may be joined by an IC.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

jeffersonian000 wrote:So you are stating that the rules as written allows Mordrak to be joined by an independent character, regardless of Ghost Knights being present?

That's what people are saying, yes. Just as ICs can join any other single-model units so long as that unit has the possibility of containing more than one model. If a unit has a composition of, say, 1-3 models, an IC can still join it if you only select 1 model for that unit, because the unit is not always a unit of one model. It can potentially have more.

Mordrak is no different to every other unit in that regard. His selection process is just a little different.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: