Switch Theme:

A question about the Royal Court  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

Just want to see if I'm reading this right. Here goes:

Is it possible to use a member of 2 different Courts and attach them to the same unit? For example I have 2 Royal Courts and a unit of Warriors. Could I attach a Cryptek from each Royal Court to that unit? If so this raises another question: What's the result of attaching 2 Crypteks with Seismic Crucibles?

Thanks

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





Somewhere.....I hope.

you are right. you can in fact attach 2 crypteks as long as theyre from different courts. im not sure i understand ur 2nd question

Death is for quitters
and Jaws of the World Wolf is for pansies



 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

The Seismic Crucible reduces a units assault move by D3. If you have 2 Crucibles in the unit (from 2 different courts) can you reduce the assault move by 2D3?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Same thing with the Lightning Field I guess...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/11 23:45:23


Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





Somewhere.....I hope.

i believe you could. it gives no limitation or other way of saying you could not

Death is for quitters
and Jaws of the World Wolf is for pansies



 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Lacking the actual text, there is always the idea that two instances of a rule can be satisfied by one application.
e.g. Stealth

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

St the start of the enemy Assault phase, roll a D3 and nominate an an enemy unit... Reduce their assault move by the result of the D3 for that phase.

I would say that they don't stack.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





Somewhere.....I hope.

why would they not?

Death is for quitters
and Jaws of the World Wolf is for pansies



 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

"Only one member of the royal court can join each unit in this manner" Please guys - read the dex!

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






You roll the D3 and reduce the assault move from the first one; you then go to do the same from the second, excepting you see that the rules have been satisfied; the enemy unit has had their assault range reduced by d3.

Basically for the same reason that very few things in this game actually stack; the rules for most tell you to do X, once you have done x; you have satisfied that rule and any other instances of it.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

'The Royal Court' is singular, so you can (until FAQed) place one model from each of the two Royal Courts you are permitted to take.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





Somewhere.....I hope.

Kommisar, thats just bad reasoning imo.

razerous, read a post b4 commenting on it

Death is for quitters
and Jaws of the World Wolf is for pansies



 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Ghaz wrote:'The Royal Court' is singular, so you can (until FAQed) place one model from each of the two Royal Courts you are permitted to take.


Not sure on this one, I can see it from either side to be honest. Hope it gets FAQ'd quickly. Beings the Royal Court has 2x Instances it does make it Royal Courts however you stick a dude in from one royal court, than you're sticking another dude in from a different royal Court.


   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

Ghaz wrote:'The Royal Court' is singular, so you can (until FAQed) place one model from each of the two Royal Courts you are permitted to take.
"The Royal Court" and "the Royal Court" is a small difference but important. Again, please read the dex before posting (which in turn is more important than reading the thread before posting!).

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Razerous wrote:
Ghaz wrote:'The Royal Court' is singular, so you can (until FAQed) place one model from each of the two Royal Courts you are permitted to take.
"The Royal Court" and "the Royal Court" is a small difference but important. Again, please read the dex before posting (which in turn is more important than reading the thread before posting!).


Umm he did read the codex, his argument makes sense and does hold ground at present. Maybe you should go back and read the codex again before posting...

It's open to interpretation at present and needs a faq to be honest.

   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

"The Royal Court" and "the Royal Court" is a small difference but important.

And you did notice that my use of "The" was at the beginning of the sentence where its proper to capitalize the first word?

Regardless, I don't see a difference between the two. The only time there would be a difference is if they would have used "a Royal Court" instead of "the Royal Court".

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"the Royal Court" applies to the Court in question, not both courts. You can take one from each and throw them into the same unit.
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

Excellent. That's what I was hoping for...though it does mean my total HQ points cost is ridiculously high.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Lukus83 wrote:Excellent. That's what I was hoping for...though it does mean my total HQ points cost is ridiculously high.


Just a heads up, this will probably be FAQ'd so I wouldnt invest too much $$ until the faq hits the site.


   
Made in us
Mounted Kroot Tracker







jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Just a heads up, this will probably be FAQ'd so I wouldnt invest too much $$ until the faq hits the site.


Deathmark heads and Praetorian staves on Necron Warrior bodies. Even if you make five extra Crypteks this way, it's not too expensive and uses a lot of leftover components. I would certainly suggest it until the FAQ comes out, it allows you to take 5-man Troops units with 2 'special' weapon models- it's a great option. I look at it as an additional option in the Necron Warrior entry, "Up to two Necron Warriors may change their gauss flayers for an eldritch lance for 22 points a model."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/12 12:58:39


   
Made in gb
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine






I'd say the best you could do was nominate 2 different enemy units. As if they both have the same effect it is satisfied in rolling the D3 the first time...
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

I would certainly suggest it until the FAQ comes out...

And conversely I would not suggest it. No reason wasting time developing a tactic that is very likely to be wiped out with the first FAQ.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm





Central Illinois, USA

Remember, EACH Royal Court you take can be made up of 0-5 Crypteks and/or 0-5 Lords. With two Overlords, you can have up to 20 Royal Cout members...

With everything taken into consideration, this could support the "2 Lords/Crypteks from 2 Royal Courts" standpoint even if you don't max out the courts(besides, they would be expeeeensive points-wise). The fact that the option is there, makes me think they intended for the two joining a unit.

Though, upon FAQ time, we shall see the true intention...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/12 21:28:52


- Reawakened ~2500 pts. - Amassing, growing and decaying... ~2500 pts.  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

However you've not taken into account that you don't have to assign them as squad leaders.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I very seldom post as numerous people on this forum have great credibility in their posts.

But on page 90 of the new codex it does say the are assigned to Lead a unit. I think there can only be one leader not counting IC's to lead a squad.

Just my thoughts.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Zenxzen wrote:I very seldom post as numerous people on this forum have great credibility in their posts.

But on page 90 of the new codex it does say the are assigned to Lead a unit. I think there can only be one leader not counting IC's to lead a squad.

Just my thoughts.


I'm missing the part that states two ICs cannot lead a unit?

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Yes, 2 IC's can lead a unit but the Court is not IC's
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Space Wolf Long Fangs with a Squad Leader and attached Wolf Guard. Both 'lead' the squad and neither are independent characters.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Zenxzen wrote:Yes, 2 IC's can lead a unit but the Court is not IC's

Okay, where is it stated that two models can't "lead" a unit? Also, what special attributes are designated to the "lead" (beyond a colorful story)?

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in us
Ruthless Interrogator





Ann Arbor, MI

Zenxzen wrote:I very seldom post as numerous people on this forum have great credibility in their posts.

But on page 90 of the new codex it does say the are assigned to Lead a unit. I think there can only be one leader not counting IC's to lead a squad.

Just my thoughts.
I think you're right that this is the intended meaning. The wording is pretty ambiguous though, and does seem open to two Royal Court members "leading" a squad. That said, I think this interpretation is against the spirit of the rule and will probably get FAQed before long.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




In the SW codex page 92, Long Fangs Pack, the squad leader is part of the unit not an add-on and the Wolf Guard pack leaders page 86 are better worded but for me the same as in the Necron codex only one can join another unit and it its assumed to take leadership.

I play BA and SM but with my grandson I have allot of Necrons and I am adding to them now but as I do agree with the way the new Codex is written it could be taken as one from each RC so FAQ is in order.

The qustions and debates here are what make me read the rules harded so ++ from you guys to make me better.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: