Switch Theme:

Multiple Gloom Prisms  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in pl
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte





Warsaw

Hey. Let's say I ofter ran into situation where if my IG friend's psychic power hits - I'm totally screwed.

Canoptek Tomb Spyder's Gloom Prism seems like a nice counter measure:

Each time the enemy unit tries to target Spyder or a friendly unit within 3", with psychic power, roll a D6 if Psychic Test is passed. On 4+ the power is nullified and has no effect.


I know most of you are familiar with this upgrade, but I'm bringing it up for the exact wording.
Anyway - 1 Gloom Prism is only 50% nullification chance.

So than in Canoptec Spyder entry we read:

Any Canoptek Spyder may take a Gloom Prism - 15 pts per model


So it clearly states you can have up to three Gloom Prisms in the unit.

The way I understand it - if enemy targets Spyder unit or a friendly Unit which is in 3" rang from EVERY spyder in that unit - you can roll 3 times for nullification, as they are 3 separate items and it's not stated anywhere that additional Prisms have no effect, or that you cannot use multiple Prisms to shield same unit.

Also:
- prisms are not a save, so they are not limited by "pick the 1 best save" rule
- for ex. Ether Crystals have additional rule that changes how they work if enemy is in range of multiple Crystals, but doesn't disallow it
- no such regulation for Prisms

What do you think? I would probably use just 2 spyders, to have 2 D6 rolls, but wanted to explain situation above clearly.



 
   
Made in nz
Dakka Veteran




If you paid the points for 3, I'd let you roll 3 times. I can't see a counter-argument in the rules, and it doesn't break the game.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/27 12:22:28


 
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






Agreed, it doesn't have the wording of a Psychic hood where it states you have to pick only one Librarian/Hood that is in range to make the test.
   
Made in za
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





I'm actually not so sure.

Each time the enemy unit tries to target Spyder or a friendly unit within 3", with psychic power, roll a D6 if Psychic Test is passed. On 4+ the power is nullified and has no effect.

The single dice is rolled if circumstance allows it. If a spider is targeted, or a unit is targeted and it's within 3" of a spider with this upgrade... you get to roll that nullification dice. It doesn't matter if there are three spiders, or just one - the requirements are met once, so you roll the dice once. Having more than one Gloom Prism just allows one to spread the requirements to allow for nullification - I don't see how it would trigger multiple rolls.

In other words: Is the targeted unit within 3" of a spider with Gloom Prism? Yes? It gets to roll 1D6.

Plus... multiple rolls wouldn't really help at all. It would mean you would need to get 4+ on ALL the rolls to nullify the power.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/27 14:33:52


 
   
Made in pl
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte





Warsaw

Kharrak wrote:
Plus... multiple rolls wouldn't really help at all. It would mean you would need to get 4+ on ALL the rolls to nullify the power.


While I'm not convinced by your interpretation, that additional "plus..." part is toatlly out of nowhere and would mean a very clunky mechanic.

Each Spyder gets an item, and they are all independent items even if they are all of same type.
What you say would apply to unit that requires all it's models to take specific upgrade... Than I would agree.
But here wording is clearly stating Spyder not Spyder Unit. So it refers to model, and with that each model can be treated separately.
Imho.



 
   
Made in us
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard






San Diego

This is the same issue we had with Runic Weapons when Space Wolves were released. They forgot to include the "one or more" wording in the description of the item, so expect them to correct it when the FAQ is released.

As written right now you can roll multiple times, but as intended I'm sure it's supposed to be a single roll much like a psychic hood.

"Duty is heavier than a mountain, death lighter than a feather."

Proud supporter of Scott the Paladin. Long Live Scott! 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The present wording is ambiguous. Based on how the SW Runic Weapon was errata'd, and the ruling for the Wolf Tail Talisman, you'll only get one roll.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: