Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 14:41:06
Subject: CCB Sweep Attack: Moving Forward then Back.
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
Tennessee
|
Saw this happen the other day and want your guys input. I saw a CCB 5' away from a rhino, during the Necron turn the necron player moved the barge 6' forward to where it was over the rhino then 5' back to where it was before and disembarked the lord. The necron player said they were able to do the Sweeping attack, the other player allowed it, rhino got wrecked, then when assault happened the lord charged and destroyed the squad. I was curious it is possible to move forward and then move back the same distance and make the sweeping attack. I know that to get the flatout bonus you have to be 18' away from where you start the move but I could not think of any rule stating you can't move then move back.
|
Elthrai - Doom, Inexorable fate, Hope
10,000+ 3,500 - 4,000-
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 14:47:07
Subject: CCB Sweep Attack: Moving Forward then Back.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
You're wrong about flat out - that's bikes and turboboosting.
And there's no restriction built into Sweeping Attack saying you can't move forward then back.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 14:48:55
Subject: CCB Sweep Attack: Moving Forward then Back.
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
IIRC, the only place displacement distance matters for vehicles is assault. I.e. if someone assaults that CCB, they'll autohit it since it 'didn't move'
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 14:59:53
Subject: CCB Sweep Attack: Moving Forward then Back.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Elthrai wrote:Saw this happen the other day and want your guys input. I saw a CCB 5' away from a rhino, during the Necron turn the necron player moved the barge 6' forward to where it was over the rhino then 5' back to where it was before and disembarked the lord. The necron player said they were able to do the Sweeping attack, the other player allowed it, rhino got wrecked, then when assault happened the lord charged and destroyed the squad. I was curious it is possible to move forward and then move back the same distance and make the sweeping attack.
Perfectly legal.
I know that to get the flatout bonus you have to be 18' away from where you start the move but I could not think of any rule stating you can't move then move back.
That's not correct. Displacement has nothing to do with Flat-Out. You can jump 6.5" forward, go 6.5" back (since the rules for vehicles allow you to combine forward and backwards movement) and still claim the cover save for flat-out. However for hitting in CC you do still measure displacement so if it ended up in the exact same spot, the CCB would be auto-hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 15:05:17
Subject: CCB Sweep Attack: Moving Forward then Back.
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
Tennessee
|
My apologies about the flatout/turbo boost mix but I figured moving forward and back was legal but I will have to keep in mind that he is auto hit if he goes back to its starting point. Thanks guys.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/29 15:06:59
Elthrai - Doom, Inexorable fate, Hope
10,000+ 3,500 - 4,000-
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 16:14:43
Subject: CCB Sweep Attack: Moving Forward then Back.
|
 |
Ruthless Interrogator
|
Elthrai wrote:My apologies about the flatout/turbo boost mix but I figured moving forward and back was legal but I will have to keep in mind that he is auto hit if he goes back to its starting point. Thanks guys.
And if it's .0001" off from its starting point, it'll be hit on 4+ in CC. There is really no good reason to move the CCB back to its exact starting position during a Sweep Attack.
|
|
 |
 |
|