Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/01 15:26:10
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Upper East Side of the USA
|
A somewhat recent 5th Edition FAQ said abilities like Coteaz's "I've Been Expecting You" cannot be used while in a transport.
My question is, is there anything in 6th edition which explains whether or not such an ability can be used in a transport through a fire point?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/01 17:31:32
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Considering you can overwatch shoot, I'd imagine it still works.
I'm hoping they get rid of giant stormraven feel no pain auras, but so far nothing seems to indicate such.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/01 18:11:59
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Not sure as 6th but in 5th abilites like necron mind in the machine cannot be used while in a vehicle regardless of fire points or if open top.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/01 18:18:06
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Seems like that was the only one. Priest's ability to give furious charge and FNP, Sanguinor's attack buff, those all worked while in transports.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/01 18:26:10
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
odd as it seems i cant find any reference to aura effects when in a transport, i know they had it in 5th but cant find it in the new book.... guess that kinda means that (unless someone else can find it) aura effects do not extend out of a transport anymore as it doesnt say they do?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/01 22:31:24
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
There dont appear to be any ways to draw general LOS out of a transport, same as 5th.
Cant find a way to measure TO embarked units as well, meaning no aura while in vehicles that I can find.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/01 22:33:46
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:There dont appear to be any ways to draw general LOS out of a transport, same as 5th.
Cant find a way to measure TO embarked units as well, meaning no aura while in vehicles that I can find.
yeah Nos this is the same issue im having at the mo, i wont say its defo not there as we have had little time to go through the whole book, but its looking like they may have done this to stop things like the FNP aura from a transport
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/01 23:10:53
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I've read all the relevant rules sections only twice so far (busy weekend with parents about  ) and cant find it. But then sme of the oddities (shooting player allocates type of wound, in close combat it is player who has been hit that gets to pick) are still sinking in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/01 23:40:01
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Formosa wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:There dont appear to be any ways to draw general LOS out of a transport, same as 5th.
Cant find a way to measure TO embarked units as well, meaning no aura while in vehicles that I can find.
yeah Nos this is the same issue im having at the mo, i wont say its defo not there as we have had little time to go through the whole book, but its looking like they may have done this to stop things like the FNP aura from a transport
Considering that you can no longer control/contest objectives while embarked, it does seem like it may be a deliberate change.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 00:26:25
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Spellbound wrote:Considering you can overwatch shoot, I'd imagine it still works.
I'm hoping they get rid of giant stormraven feel no pain auras, but so far nothing seems to indicate such.
Wouldn't the aura be measured from the central cross of the flying stand?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 00:43:16
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The source of the aura is a model inside the stormraven, not the stormraven.
There is no rule telling you to measure from the central cross of the flying stand instead of measuring from the model emitting the aura if that model happens to be embarked.
There is no rule (like there was in 5th) that tells you to measure from the hull of the transport instead of from the model generating the aura.
You can't measure from the embarked model.
So it seems that anything that is not witchfire/psychic shooting (where you are given explicit permission to measure from a fire point) won't work while embarked.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 00:45:28
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
RogueRegault wrote:Spellbound wrote:Considering you can overwatch shoot, I'd imagine it still works.
I'm hoping they get rid of giant stormraven feel no pain auras, but so far nothing seems to indicate such.
Wouldn't the aura be measured from the central cross of the flying stand?
yes in 5th it would, but 6th does not have any mechanism in place (that we can find) to allow this, it tells us how psykers and LOS for shooting works (open topped from hull etc.) but nothing for abilities that work as an aura (5th said measure from hull etc.) so it looks like such powers no longer work outside the transport
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 02:18:52
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
To be fair, there was only a rule in 5th ed that says "If you need to measure range to or from an embarked unit, measure from the hull." This is not the same as saying that your FnP aura from a sang priest needs to measure range while embarked by using the hull. By RAW, the sang priest model is not on the table, so you can not measure to the sang priest model--and the sang priest's rules make no mention of needing to measure while embarked.
Some special rules allow you to measure from an embarked vehicle as part of thier description or FAQ, but this was absolutely NOT a blanket statement--because for every ability that was specified as working while embarked, like an Ork KFF, there were 2 that were specified as not working, like many Tyranid abilities both offensive and defensive.
Then we got a second FAQ, late in the game, that said you cant even draw LOS from a vehicle if you are not shooting.
SO anyway, here in 6th we have the same problem. Some abilites still say they work while in vehicles, some say they dont, and some make no mention. The ones that make no mention, like in 5th, should default to 'not working,' as the vague 'if you need to measure range to from an embarked unit' DOES NOT equal measuring range from a specific model in an embarked unit as explicitly requited in the wargear/special rules description of, say, a Sang Priest.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 02:18:56
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Actually we all fail at basic reading skills. 6th has the same wording as 5th.
"If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicles hull." p. 78 - Embarking.
I skimmed that section three or four times looking for exactly that without actually seeing it.
Edit: And to make my failure more complete, I got ninja'd.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 02:19:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 02:51:06
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Upper East Side of the USA
|
Spellbound wrote:Considering you can overwatch shoot, I'd imagine it still works.
Not having any rulebooks right here at the moment, you mean a squad can overwatch shoot at a unit assaulting their transport? Interesting. Coteaz ability isn't a psychic power, but it may need line of sight. Wondering if special abilities which need line of sight to work can be used through a fire point in a vehicle.... Hmm...
I'm hoping they get rid of giant stormraven feel no pain auras, but so far nothing seems to indicate such.
That's a whole other issue, but also an interesting question.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 07:48:51
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Good spot there - how did I keep missing it?
P78 is the new p66
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 11:28:37
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Good spot there - how did I keep missing it?
P78 is the new p66
yeah i know right lol, tis why i kept saying (as far as we know so far) lol
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 11:48:21
Subject: Re:Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, the rules still don't give permission to use Fire Points to draw line of sight for anything besides shooting and psychic shooting attacks (witchfire).
So we're still in the same situation where if a special rules requires LOS to use, then it can't be used from within a vehicle, but if the ability doesn't require LOS, then that provision on pg 78) allows it to be measured to and from the vehicle's hull.
So pretty much exactly as it was in 5th, except now thankfully they've finally given embarked units 'fearless' to hopefully clear up any fall back issues.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 13:11:39
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
In buildings as well, just to make sure
I smiled when I saw that - there are a lot of good "catches" in this rule, where they seem to have actually noted the issues previously - like with definition of single / 2 handed CCW, etc.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 14:00:36
Subject: Re:Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Upper East Side of the USA
|
yakface wrote:
Yeah, the rules still don't give permission to use Fire Points to draw line of sight for anything besides shooting and psychic shooting attacks (witchfire).
So we're still in the same situation where if a special rules requires LOS to use, then it can't be used from within a vehicle, but if the ability doesn't require LOS, then that provision on pg 78) allows it to be measured to and from the vehicle's hull.
Which results in the hilarious issue of Coteaz and company being able to look out and shoot things charging the transport, but cannot look out and shoot deepstrikers who plop down right next to the transport. Since "I've Been Expecting You" isn't technically a shooting attack right, but an ability that let's you do a shooting attack....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 14:03:44
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:In buildings as well, just to make sure 
But not battlements!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 05:52:54
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So we're still in the same situation where if a special rules requires LOS to use, then it can't be used from within a vehicle, but if the ability doesn't require LOS, then that provision on pg 78) allows it to be measured to and from the vehicle's hull.
I disagree, and said as much in my post above, and also in 5th ed said the same thing.
It says 'If you need to measure range to an embarked unit, measure to or from the hull.'
We all do agree that a special rule that measures from a specific model is measured differently than measuring to a unit, right?
IE, if you have a Priest on foot in a unit, and want to measure range for his buff, do you measure range from the unit he is in, or do you specifically have to measure to the model that has the special rule? And if you may only measure to the priest's unit, but not to the priest himself, you dont get the buff right? Because you have not satisfied the condition presented in the priest's special rule after all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 11:19:49
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DevianID wrote:So we're still in the same situation where if a special rules requires LOS to use, then it can't be used from within a vehicle, but if the ability doesn't require LOS, then that provision on pg 78) allows it to be measured to and from the vehicle's hull.
I disagree, and said as much in my post above, and also in 5th ed said the same thing.
It says 'If you need to measure range to an embarked unit, measure to or from the hull.'
We all do agree that a special rule that measures from a specific model is measured differently than measuring to a unit, right?
IE, if you have a Priest on foot in a unit, and want to measure range for his buff, do you measure range from the unit he is in, or do you specifically have to measure to the model that has the special rule? And if you may only measure to the priest's unit, but not to the priest himself, you dont get the buff right? Because you have not satisfied the condition presented in the priest's special rule after all.
You can disagree, but do you have a rule that allows him to draw LoS from inside the vehicle? The Priest doesn't require LoS for his ability.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 11:31:30
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
I don't see a material difference in measuring to or measuring from.
As Yak and others said, it appears this works just like in 5th.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 07:54:30
Subject: Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mannahnin, its not about measuring to or from.
You measure to the Priest to get his buff per his special rule.
In 5th, and in 6th, you can not measure to the priest if he is in a vehicle.
You MAY measure to the embarked unit, BUT measuring to an embarked unit does not satisfy the priest's rule--the Priest says you must measure to his specific model, not to his unit, and not to his transport if embarked.
Measuring to a unit does not equate to measuring to a specific model in a unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 08:38:19
Subject: Re:Using Special Abilities While Inside Transports - Coteaz, etc;
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
idk if this makes a difference, but for a precedent on auras:
Psychic Hoods only affect the Vehicle and the unit inside, not units 6" from the vehicles hull.
|
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
 |
 |
|