Switch Theme:

Look Out Sir, Mixed Saves and Wound Allocation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker





Tampa, FL

Look Out Sir says that an unsaved wound that is allocated to a character, the wound can be re-assigned to another model in the unit if it's within 6" of the character (pg 16). ICs get this roll on a 2+ (pg 39).

Mixed Saves says that wounds are allocated and rolled for one by one on a model with a different saving throw to the rest of the unit if it's the closest model (pg. 15).

So I present the question: How is an unsaved wound allocated in a unit with Mixed Saves, with the closest model to the firing unit being the model with the different save?

Let's take a look at this scenario here:

An IC in Terminator armor is at the front of the unit. The unit is shot at, with 4 Bolter wounds, 1 Lascannon and 1 Melta wound. EDIT: Forgot to mention the rest of the unit has Power Armor, which is what causes the Mixed Saves method to apply.

The shooter decides which wounds are allocated and rolled to save for first (pg. 15). Since the IC is at the front, he is the first model to have wounds allocated to him. The shooter decides to have the Lascannon wound go first.

Here is the dilemma: Can the IC roll his invulnerable save first, and if it fails, then roll for Look Out Sir? Or does he have to roll for Look Out Sir first? Keep in mind the order of how wounds are allocated and rolled for (Note that this order is unofficial):

- Allocate wounds
- Roll saving throws for the wound(s)
- Any saving throws that are passed are saved wounds. Those saving throws that fail are unsaved wounds.
- Repeat until all wounds are emptied from the wound pool.

So how do you allocate an unsaved wound when at the wound allocation step it's not even saved for yet?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/01 22:39:45


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




LOS triggers on 'allocation', so he could not roll saves and then use LOS; he would have missed the trigger.



When shooting at mixed save units, you allocate wounds. When shooting at same save units, all saves are rolled first, and you allocate unsaved wounds.




This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/01 22:44:15


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above. You have two methods of allocation in 6th ed, depending on if there are mixed saves or not.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

In a mixed unit. The model closest to the shooters has to die before more models take wounds. Thats the easiest way to describe. This is becoming a very common question and the answers are all over the place.

So yes, the TDA model has to die. If an IC he can "Look out Sir!".
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




As above, the LOS roll is before a save is attempted. If the IC rolls his save attempt, chance for LOS has passed. As explained the IC is saved by a heroic commrade, or pulls a meat shield in front of him. If he has already made or missed his save, then the he has obviously already been hit by weapon.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Look Out Sir says that an unsaved wound that is allocated to a character, the wound can be re-assigned to another model in the unit if it's within 6" of the character (pg 16)


This is not the complete ruling.

Pg 16 Lookout sir states.

"When a Wound (or unsaved Wound) is Allocated to one of your characters, and there is another model from the same unit within 6", he's allowed a look out sir attempt."

So what you are asking is essentially can you choose to wait to trigger lookout sir until the ALLOCATED WOUND then becomes an UNSAVED WOUND after your IC takes his/her save.

LOS triggers on 'allocation', so he could not roll saves and then use LOS; he would have missed the trigger.
I agree with coredump, however the language is ambigious.

On another note:
I have been seeing folks making the mistake that they can put their IC closest and do mixed allocation even if all models in the unit (including IC have the same save)

X*Edited to add my opinion.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 00:46:15


http://boltersnbeer.blogspot.com

"As a rule of thumb, If you find yourself saying "Well it doesn't say I can't do this in the rules!" you are probably bending the rules at best and at worst cheating completely"
Jervis Johnson (forward to Warhammer Ancient Battles) 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: