Switch Theme:

Imotekh, Lord of the Storm Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader






Do Imotekh's D6 Str 8 AP 5 Lightning attacks auto hit, or would they hit on his BS VS a Flyer, or would only something that could snap fire, effect said flyer? The only restriction I see is on template, blast and ord weapons, which this is neither.

For example if he rolled a 6 against a zooming flyer for Lightning, then rolled the D6 and rolled 4 hits, are these auto hits against the flyer, and skip right to armor pen or do they have to roll to hit first, and only hitting on 6's, or do they not hit at all because it's not being snap fired?

Furthermore, if it's determined that a flyer is auto hit, would it be allowed to have a chance to evade? I ask this because if the vehicle is auto hit, then rolling to hit never happened, as I quote below;

Evade
"If a Zooming Flyer comes under fire, the pilot can throw his
craft into a series of evasive manoeuvres in an attempt to avoid
taking damage. After the enemy has rolled To Hit against one of
your Flyers, but before armor penetration rolls are made, you
can choose to Evade until the end of your next turn. An evading
Flyer has the Jink special rule, but only fires Snap Shots."

Couldn't find a clear cut determination on how all this would apply to zooming flyers.

Thanks.

This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2012/07/07 11:55:17


My Sisters Tactica http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/409339.page
Please read My Tactica if you're new to Sisters or thinking of starting them. For the Emperor!

3800 pts
3750 pts
1500 pts
700 pts
700 pts
 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

If the lightning auto-hits, it cannot be snap fired so you cannot effect fliers with it. You cannot snap fire with things that auto-hit unless you have skyfire.

Yes the flier can always choose to evade, he simply chooses to do it before pen rolls.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader






The problem here is that lightning isn't specified as a shooting attack. It just simply states "On a roll of a 6, that unit is struck by a bolt of lightning and suffers D6 Str 8 AP 5 hits (vehicles are hit on their side armor)."

The hard to hit rule is as follows.

"Shots resolved at a Zooming Flyer can only be resolved as Snap Shots."

Since this isn't a shooting attack, or specified as one, it seems more of a world effect that would apply to the flyer because of the fact that Imotekh isn't specifically targeting anything, or does it state that he is shooting in any manner. Nor is it a template, blast or ord attack.

As far as evading goes, since this is a permissive rule set, rolling to hit would have to come first and then after to hit rolls are made, it gives you the window to evade before armor pen rolls are made. Since an auto hitting attack would skip the to hit process, and jump straight to armor pen, it would allow no permission to evade, because of the fact that armor pen would immediately come into effect, skipping the rolling to hit process all together thus leaving no window or permission to evade.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/07/07 12:16:46


My Sisters Tactica http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/409339.page
Please read My Tactica if you're new to Sisters or thinking of starting them. For the Emperor!

3800 pts
3750 pts
1500 pts
700 pts
700 pts
 
   
Made in us
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine






Las Vegas, NV

I have to say that if you roll a 6 on lightning roll then you can strike a flyer. The reason that I say this is okay is because the Blood Lance is a psychic shooting attack that automatically hits and no need to roll. That is effective against flyers.
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

Blood lance and Imotekh's lightning are very different, blood lance is a PSA Imotekh's lightning is a special rule that makes no mention of being a shooting attack(though it occurs during the shooting phase).

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Bellingham, WA

TheAvengingKnee wrote:Blood lance and Imotekh's lightning are very different, blood lance is a PSA Imotekh's lightning is a special rule that makes no mention of being a shooting attack(though it occurs during the shooting phase).


but you still have to roll a 6 to hit with it technically so wouldn't that count as a to hit roll?

and if you have to roll a 6 isn't it the same as making a snap shot?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/07 15:30:35


Heralds of Rot CSM 4000 pts


"In short there is no Order only Chaos eternal so lament and be quelled with fear if you serve the False Emperor or accept the gifts bestowed by the pantheon of the four gods and rejoice as the galaxy burns." - Unknown Wordbearer  
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Fond du Lac, Wi

Bloodfrenzy187 wrote:
TheAvengingKnee wrote:Blood lance and Imotekh's lightning are very different, blood lance is a PSA Imotekh's lightning is a special rule that makes no mention of being a shooting attack(though it occurs during the shooting phase).


but you still have to roll a 6 to hit with it technically so wouldn't that count as a to hit roll?

and if you have to roll a 6 isn't it the same as making a snap shot?
You're comparing apples to oranges. A roll of six is never the same as making a snap shot, unless you're making a snap snot. As for Imotekh's needing a 6, no it is not a to hit roll. It tells you roll a die, on a 6 the unit takes... So there's no mention of rolling to hit.

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





They auto-hit. They are the result of a special ability. They are not 'shots' (ie: the result of a shooting attack) or a template, a blast, or a large blast attack and so are not subject to the 'hard to hit' rules.

Also since the necron player has not rolled any 'to-hit' rolls for the lightning, the flyer's controller cannot choose to have their flier 'evade' them.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/07/07 16:10:45


 
   
Made in us
Fell Caller - Child of Bragg







People need to stop applying the "No BS = No Snapshots" restriction to every fething thing that might hit a Flyer. It only applies to shooting attacks. Not everything that autohits is going to whiff at a flyer unless it's a shooting attack or otherwise specifies that it will miss flyers.

Imotekh's lightning will most assuredly hit flyers because it's not firing any shots. There's no way to apply a snap-shot restriction to this special, specific codex ability that contradicts the normal sequence of events. By Page 7 it takes precedence. It will hit flyers.

Over 350 points of painted Trolls and Cyriss 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





United States

"So there's this rule that auto-hits things on a D6 roll of 6. If I roll a 6, does it hit?"



Yes, Flyers are hit. Everything is hit. You roll a 6, guess what? Enemy stuff gets hit. Automatically. They suffer hits. In no way shape, or form does the Lord of the Storm rule even imply that this could be a shooting attack.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Washington, USA

I can understand people not wanting certain auto-hits to work on flyers (Mawlocs, Bomb Sqigs, etc), but lightning? How could that not be hitting? It should be hitting on a 2+, if there was any realism in 40K.
Anyways, the rule says it hits. The "Snap-shots only" from hard to hit isn't talking about special abilities, just regular shooting.


 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

yes, Lightining hits Flyers. It's a special effect that happens every turn.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

Fafnir13 wrote:I can understand people not wanting certain auto-hits to work on flyers (Mawlocs, Bomb Sqigs, etc), but lightning? How could that not be hitting? It should be hitting on a 2+, if there was any realism in 40K.
Anyways, the rule says it hits. The "Snap-shots only" from hard to hit isn't talking about special abilities, just regular shooting.


ah the mawloc one wont hit though right.. as its a template weapon, but everything else there would i agree....i love the imagery of a bomb squig blowing up a flyer lol, id imagine it running up a large rock and exploding on the cockpit... the pilot going "wtf was that!!!!!!"
   
Made in us
Fell Caller - Child of Bragg







Formosa wrote:
Fafnir13 wrote:I can understand people not wanting certain auto-hits to work on flyers (Mawlocs, Bomb Sqigs, etc), but lightning? How could that not be hitting? It should be hitting on a 2+, if there was any realism in 40K.
Anyways, the rule says it hits. The "Snap-shots only" from hard to hit isn't talking about special abilities, just regular shooting.


ah the mawloc one wont hit though right.. as its a template weapon, but everything else there would i agree....i love the imagery of a bomb squig blowing up a flyer lol, id imagine it running up a large rock and exploding on the cockpit... the pilot going "wtf was that!!!!!!"


For the last fething time, it's not a weapon. The flyer rules say "weapons" with template, large blast, or blast can't hit. The Mawloc description never describes it as a weapon, and the USR for template, blast, and large blast specify attacks and not weapons, which implies there are non-weapons that use those USRs.

Over 350 points of painted Trolls and Cyriss 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Louisville, Kentucky

agreed that on a roll of a 6 it hits and on the question of the flyer using the evade rule...this simply gives the flyer the jink USR which is a cover save....in the lightning description it specifies that cover saves can not be taken against lightning...really though who wants to fly all around in a hostile lighting storm??...muhahahaha

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: