Switch Theme:

Tyranids "Shadow of the warp" stacking?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot






Was playing a game with a buddy, he had a lot of nids that cause the extra dice with shadow of the warp. He read the rule to me and it did sound like it stacks, however i did not read the rule myself and it seems excessively overpowering anti psyker. Being forced to roll a psyker test on 5d6 is ridiculous. I dont have the nids codex so i cannot look up myself, also checked the faq and it is not mentioned at all.

Anyone know the correct answer for this one?

Dave

Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun.
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

It does not stack.

The single extra dice rolled satisfies the rule regardless of the number of models involved.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

It doesn't stack if you're curious about it read the actual rule.

specifies you must take the test on 3d6. Than clarifies what perils will be on.

   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot






 kirsanth wrote:
It does not stack.

The single extra dice rolled satisfies the rule regardless of the number of models involved.


What makes you come to this conclusion? Is it the way the rule is worded, or is there an answer somewhere else that leads to this conclusion?

Dave

Edit, another post came after. The way he read the rule to me stated to take it on an additional d6 if within the models range, not 3d6. Maybe its out of date codex, maybe misquoted?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/14 21:18:22


Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun.
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
It doesn't stack if you're curious about it read the actual rule.

specifies you must take the test on 3d6. Than clarifies what perils will be on.
The FAQ changes it to be "an extra dice", but that does not change the way it interacts with multiple Tyranids.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Dave-c wrote:
 kirsanth wrote:
It does not stack.

The single extra dice rolled satisfies the rule regardless of the number of models involved.


What makes you come to this conclusion? Is it the way the rule is worded, or is there an answer somewhere else that leads to this conclusion?

Dave
Is the model within range of a Tyranid with SitW?
y/n

If y, add an extra dice.

If n, do not.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/09/14 21:18:50


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
It doesn't stack if you're curious about it read the actual rule.

specifies you must take the test on 3d6. Than clarifies what perils will be on.

Check the Tyranid FAQ. It doesn't say that anymore.

Page 33 – Shadow in the Warp, second paragraph.
Change to “Any enemy psyker within 12” of a Tyranid with the
Shadow in the Warp special rule must roll an extra dice when
taking Psychic tests, and will suffer a Perils of the Warp attack
on the roll of any double 1 or double 6.

That said, it doesn't stack. If you're in 12" of 50 Tyranids with SitW, you're in range of 1, so you only roll one extra d6.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

rigeld2 wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
It doesn't stack if you're curious about it read the actual rule.

specifies you must take the test on 3d6. Than clarifies what perils will be on.

Check the Tyranid FAQ. It doesn't say that anymore.

Page 33 – Shadow in the Warp, second paragraph.
Change to “Any enemy psyker within 12” of a Tyranid with the
Shadow in the Warp special rule must roll an extra dice when
taking Psychic tests, and will suffer a Perils of the Warp attack
on the roll of any double 1 or double 6.

That said, it doesn't stack. If you're in 12" of 50 Tyranids with SitW, you're in range of 1, so you only roll one extra d6.


bummer, and here i actually went upstairs and got the codex (facepalm) should have just checked the FAQ on the puter ... lol

Thanks for the clarification Rigeld

   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot






I do not understand why they would change the wording then, now the wording seems to be more complicated and less definitive.

Herm...

Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun.
 
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard






Seattle

Here is said friend. I'm curious as well why they would re-write the codex which is 3d6, to a new writing that simply states ad a d6.

Page 33 – Shadow in the Warp, second paragraph.
Change to “Any enemy psyker within 12” of a Tyranid with the
Shadow in the Warp special rule must roll an extra dice when
taking Psychic tests, and will suffer a Perils of the Warp attack
on the roll of any double 1 or double 6.

If there are three such tyranids within 12". Measure to the a tyranid...ad d6. Measure to the next a tyranid...ad d6... measure to third tyranid...etc...

If they meant it for one tyranid I would expect them to have written something more like: If an enemy psyker is within 12" of any one tyranid with shadow of the warp...

The only other reason I could think would be for psykers that already roll 3d6, such as eldar with runes of witnessing. Since they already roll 3d6, they would ad one, rolling 4d6.


~seapheonix
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





"any one" is the same as saying "a".
And yes - they errataed it because of the interaction with the different Runes.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard






Seattle

Makes sense I suppose. Reading the new update on eldar, they've emphasized that multiple runes of warding don't stack either.

~seapheonix
 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

I believe it says that if you are within range of a Shadow of the Warp model you add a d6, that's in the FAQ by the way.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: