Cheexsta wrote:To join an
IC to a unit that is in reserves, you simply have to declare it (
RB p39). As soon as an
IC has joined a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes (p39). Therefore, he cannot be considered a separate unit when counting the number of units in reserve, as for all intents and purposes, he is part of the unit he has joined.
Note that the Reserve rules make
ICs attached to units a specific exception, and require that they be counted separately.
HOWEVER, the Deep Strike rules state that any models embarked on a transport which always Deep Strikes are ignored when counting units for Reserve. And FURTHER than that, the main rulebook
FAQ expanded that to any units embarked in transports which always start in Reserve, so that now includes Flyers as well. It could have been interpreted have just meant units with Flyer Dedicated Transports, but the main rulebook
FAQ used Valkries (or Vendettas; one or the other) as an example, and those are not Dedicated Transports.