Switch Theme:

Meteoric Strike and firing with the Baleflamer  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin






Whangarei , New Zealand

Ok a friend and I are having a small problem. We both use Baleflamer Heldrakes. We both like to use Meteoric Strike to hit a target and then use the Baleflamer.

The problem arose when my friend read the last paragraph of the Vector Strike special rule ( remember Meteoric Strike is simply a Vector Strike at STR 7), in the last paragraph (page 43) it states " a model that made a vector strike in it's movement phase counts as having already fired one weapon in it's following shooting phase"

He then points to page 71 under "shooting with vehicles" where it says that "a vehicle that moves at combat speed may fire a single weapon at full ballistic skill. the vehicle can also fire snap shots with other weapons if it wishes"

and under "zoom" on page 80 it states that if a flyer zooms, it has a combat speed of 18"

So his theory is that since the Drake is flying at combat speed it is only able to fire a single weapon at full BS, and since it counts as having made a shooting attack in it's movement then it will not be able to fire the Baleflamer.

My theory is he should shut up in case its true and he nerfs both my scratchbuilt Drakes .... or that at worst the Baleflamer is still able to fire as a Snap Shot and score D3 hits as per template rules for Snap Shot.

I have a feeling it is something that the codex writers never thought of when they created a single weapon flyer with a high strength Vector Strike.......

...... or far more likely I am missing something that will prove the entire argument moot.

Help!


 BobtheInquisitor wrote:
I tend to glue metal models with a combination of BSI cyanoacrylate and my tears of frustration.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Look up the Flyer rules. They are allowed to shoot a specific number of weapons each turn while moving at Combat or Cruising speed. Its more than 2.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 BLACKHAND wrote:
or that at worst the Baleflamer is still able to fire as a Snap Shot and score D3 hits as per template rules for Snap Shot.

That's not a rule. Template weapons cannot ever be Snap Shot.
They have a special rule called Wall of Death, but that's only used during Overwatch.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in nz
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin






Whangarei , New Zealand

 Grey Templar wrote:
Look up the Flyer rules. They are allowed to shoot a specific number of weapons each turn while moving at Combat or Cruising speed. Its more than 2.


I tried to use that arguement as well. Flyers are allowed to fire up to four of their weapons at their full BS while moving at combat speed.

His response was that the Drake has only one weapon, the Baleflamer. When you use Meteoric Strike it has used it's "One shot" so to speak so while the Drake could usually use it's one weapon, the Baleflamer, it has spent it's shot during the movement phase. I was unable to convince him but am hoping that pointing him to this thread will help put it to rest before our local tournament next month.

@rigeld2 - Thanks, should have read that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/21 06:18:16


 BobtheInquisitor wrote:
I tend to glue metal models with a combination of BSI cyanoacrylate and my tears of frustration.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

really?

A flyer, ANY flyer. Is always allowed to shoot up to 4 weapons. Vector Striking counts as shooting 1 weapon. Its allowed to shoot up to 3 more.

The actual number of weapons it has do not change that.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Having one weapon does not mean you're limited to one shot.
A weapon can only fire once, but the vehicle has the ability to fire 4 things.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in nz
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin






Whangarei , New Zealand

Thank you!

If your reading this James ( and I know you are, I sent you a link) this is what we tell anyone who brings it up

 BobtheInquisitor wrote:
I tend to glue metal models with a combination of BSI cyanoacrylate and my tears of frustration.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 BLACKHAND wrote:
Thank you!

If your reading this James ( and I know you are, I sent you a link) this is what we tell anyone who brings it up

Or you could tell them to look in the rulebook on Page 80 under the zooming and shooting section, also reference Page 7 Basic Vs. Advanced section.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: