Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 03:59:49
Subject: Psychic Powers Vs Deep Strike
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Odessa, TX, USA
|
Heya; sure it's been asked before, but just want to have it clarified I'm reading it right.
The FAQ had a question asked about the order of how Psychic Powers are manifested with the conflict of Deep Strike occurring simultaneously. The answer said the owning player can decide in which order they occur.
Does this mean you can Deep Strike and cast powers? I don't think so, but the answer to me seems a bit confusing.
Thanks in advance!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 04:01:31
Subject: Psychic Powers Vs Deep Strike
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
No, you can't, unfortunately. You can decide the order to do things, but you still can't cast them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 04:08:18
Subject: Psychic Powers Vs Deep Strike
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Odessa, TX, USA
|
Is there additional information elsewhere that indicates it cannot be done? FAQ or a page number?
Just curious.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 04:17:05
Subject: Psychic Powers Vs Deep Strike
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
It does not. The FAQ you are likely referring to was asking about the timing issue of 'at the start of turn' and 'at the start of the movement phase' and nothing more. While it does use some examples to highlight rules that use these terms, coming in from reserves and casting blessings, they are just examples. The answer goes ahead to address only the timing of such an action and nothing more, pointing you to a page in the rule book which addresses how to resolve simultaneously actions. No where in the question or answer do they even address the restrictions laid out on casting psychic powers on the turn you arrive from reserves. Anyone who states it is overturning page 125 is making an assumption that is not outlined in the question at all. That assumption is that the unit coming from reserve is the same one casting the psychic power. As it is not outright stated we would have to look at the question in a way that does not breach any already existing restrictions on casting psychic powers. This means it is far more plausible for the psyker to have already been on the table in previous turns, as that wouldn't create a violation of an already existing rule and would still fit the question being asked and the answer provided. So you are correct, it is not giving you permission to ignore page 125.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/21 04:19:08
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 06:01:33
Subject: Psychic Powers Vs Deep Strike
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
You may also wish to check this recent thread, which has a discussion of this issue, among other things.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/533946.page
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
|