Switch Theme:

Codex: Inquisition Hammerhand and Power Fists, Thunderhammers, Chainfists, etc.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Does Hammerhand give a power fist model +1 str or +2?
Codex: Grey Knights is irrelevant. The power fist gets +1 strength.
It functions like Codex: Grey Knights and grants the power fist +2 strength.

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Honored Helliarch on Hypex




The Hammerhand power in Codex: Inquisition does not carry the special text present in Codex: Grey Knights that allows models to increase their strength value before applying the x2 multiplier from weapons like power fists. Should we assume it works differently and apply the +1 modifier after doubling the model's strength score?

I'd like to hear how you would play it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/19 06:36:41


 
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






The Faq is for the C:GK and therefor doesnt apply to the C:I.

Pretty sure they will faq it to work like the grey knight version but until then. Its really a shame how many rules problems this new codex causes although most of them wouldve been easily avoidable. Lets it look more and more like a lazy copy-paste-job.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/19 08:01:09


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Actually, if they had literally just done copy paste from GK, it would have been fine, but they either forgot or purposely didn't put in the explicit exception needed.
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






RAW, its not applied before multiplicative modifiers, as is the case in C:GK

RAI: either way, "IF" the FAQ if it comes could as easily be a nerf to GK, or be a re do/removal of this stuff when their new codex comes out, so this is how HH works in the future.

or RAI is that they are even capable of botching a CTRL-C CRTL-V job.....


HIWIPLI its the same as in C:GK... because GW is stupid sometimes

 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

The BRB is pretty clear that WH40k agrees with basic algebra: first multiply/divide, then add/subtract..

GK Hammerhand has a specific exception in the codex (not in a FAQ) to do it differently. Inquisition Hammerhand does not have this exception.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Yep. It'd be 'nice' if they'd taken the entire rule-set from the 'Hammerhand' psychic ability, but they very conspicuously did not in this instance, so the normal order of precedence for modifiers should hold true with this case.

The RAW therefore is pretty clear; until such time as an updated FAQ shows up for the 'dex anyway.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/11/19 19:17:14


 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






 Neorealist wrote:
Yep. It'd be 'nice' if they'd taken the entire rule-set from the 'Hammerhand' psychic ability, but they very conspicuously did not in this instance, so the normal order of precedence for modifiers should hold true with this case.

The RAW therefore is pretty clear; until such time as an updated FAQ shows up for the 'dex anyway.


This is my assessment as well. Either this is an oversight (perfectly plausible given the copy-paste style of the Inquisition 'dex) or indicative of an upcoming change to the way HH works. Regardless, without the specific exception from C:GK given we should use the standard order of modifiers until an FAQ addresses the discrepancy.

That's not to say it isn't stupid that GW continues to produce identically-named rules with subtly but importantly different wording/effects - it bothers me a lot - but hopefully this one can get fixed relatively soon.
   
Made in it
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners






 Elric Greywolf wrote:
The BRB is pretty clear that WH40k agrees with basic algebra: first multiply/divide, then add/subtract..

GK Hammerhand has a specific exception in the codex (not in a FAQ) to do it differently. Inquisition Hammerhand does not have this exception.

GK Hammerhand, though, is in a 5e codex, written before the clarification "multiply first, add second" of the 6e brb.
I think not tweaking it in a faq is an oversight from gw, and that it will be likely corrected as in codex =][= if/when we will have a sixth ed. codex gk

2270 (1725 painted)
1978 (180 painted)
329 (280ish)
705 (0)
193 (0)
165 (0)
:assassins: 855 (540) 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Kerrathyr wrote:
GK Hammerhand, though, is in a 5e codex, written before the clarification "multiply first, add second" of the 6e brb.
I think not tweaking it in a faq is an oversight from gw, and that it will be likely corrected as in codex =][= if/when we will have a sixth ed. codex gk


The GK Codex Specifically tells you to apply the +1 Str for hammerhand before Multiplying the Strength of a Nemisis Demonhammer.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Kerrathyr wrote:
 Elric Greywolf wrote:
The BRB is pretty clear that WH40k agrees with basic algebra: first multiply/divide, then add/subtract..

GK Hammerhand has a specific exception in the codex (not in a FAQ) to do it differently. Inquisition Hammerhand does not have this exception.

GK Hammerhand, though, is in a 5e codex, written before the clarification "multiply first, add second" of the 6e brb.
I think not tweaking it in a faq is an oversight from gw, and that it will be likely corrected as in codex =][= if/when we will have a sixth ed. codex gk

That wasnt needed before, you just used the rules for mathematics. So HH HAD to have this exception, otherwise it would work in 5th just as it does in codex I now - multiply then add.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: