Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/25 21:19:41
Subject: 2 Lords of War?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Unlike the language surrounding Primary and Allied Detachments, and Fortifications, I cannot find anything in Escalation that says you may take a second LoW with your second Primary Detachment. Am I missing something or is this the case?
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/26 01:22:03
Subject: 2 Lords of War?
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
This seems to be the case, BRB says that if you take a second Primary detachment you get an extra Ally and Fortification; there is nothing I can see about the Lord of War detachment that would indicate it also doubles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/26 08:47:41
Subject: 2 Lords of War?
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
page 110 in the brb for bigger games has half the answer for this question. The second half of the answer is page 35 in the escalation book pm what you can take for your primary detachment. LOW where added after the BRB came out but escalation is part of the "core rules" and modifies what you can pick with your primary detachment, a LOW per primary detachment can be picked.
That is how i see it any how.
|
It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/26 12:00:52
Subject: 2 Lords of War?
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
The Escalation FOC just shows one PD, one Ally, one fort and includes 1 LOW, so that reads to me that double force org means 2 Lords
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/26 14:42:25
Subject: 2 Lords of War?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
The BRB specifies that a second Primary and a second Allied detachment, as well as a second Fortification, may be taken in games over 2000pts. The Escalation rules does not have this statement. Can you point to any specific sentence that backs up what you're saying?
Uptopdownunder wrote:The Escalation FOC just shows one PD, one Ally, one fort and includes 1 LOW, so that reads to me that double force org means 2 Lords
Any specific rule/statement that supports this claim? Or is it just an assumption/extrapolation?
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/26 17:29:36
Subject: 2 Lords of War?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
GW again uses poor wording again on the BRB in this regard. You are allowed to take an additional Primary detachment. Included in that are the fortification and allied detachment. The Escalation chart adds LoW to the Primary detachment, so you are allowed to take a second LoW at 2k+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/27 07:04:30
Subject: 2 Lords of War?
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
@elric Greywolf. Both of them are Primary Detachments. What are you allowed to use in a "Primary Detachment"?
also pg34 in escalation "This is an optional detachment just like Fortifications and Allied detachments, as shown in the Force Organisation Chart opposite."
they are just like them showing that they are optional detachments just like Allied and fortifications are with each primary detachment. They act just like other optional detachments.
|
It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case. |
|
 |
 |
|