Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/02 10:05:17
Subject: Mawloc - Terror from the deep and invisibility
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hi guys,
Just wanted to see what the consensus is with a mawloc deepstriking onto a unit that has invisibility cast on them. Is this just an auto mishap because they can't be targeted with blasts/templates because they can only be hit with snap shots?
2nd question, can a unit in combat be the target of a terror in the deep and be wounded? I know our own guys could also be hit but not sure exactly if this is allowed.
Appreciate your thoughts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/02 10:14:56
Subject: Mawloc - Terror from the deep and invisibility
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The first question is dependent on whether you consider the Terror from the Deep a shooting attack or not.
Nothing in that rule indicates that it is a shooting attack, so if you take the approach that it isn't a shooting or combat attack than it wouldn't be bound by either of the invisibility effects.
The flip-side to that argument is that there aren't any specific rules in the book for resolving non-shooting/non-CC attacks, but then again GW has written rules times and times again acting as if it is possible to cause damage outside of shooting/CC.
So anyway, if you think TFTD is a shooting attack resolved out of phase, then it would be bound by the Invisibility rule about only snap shots being able to be fired at them, and it would be an auto-mishap as you say.
But if you think TFTD is some kind of phantom undefined attack that GW continues to foist on us, then it wouldn't be affected by Invisibility as the attack is neither a ranged attack (which is what snap shots are) or a CC attack.
As for you second question, yes you Deep Strike the model normally before anything else, so you can absolutely intentionally end up over close combat which results in the TFTD attack hitting the models locked in combat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/02 11:58:10
Subject: Mawloc - Terror from the deep and invisibility
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
since its an undefined atrtack special rule until faq'd otherwise it is that and not subject to the invisibility rule
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/02 14:15:45
Subject: Re:Mawloc - Terror from the deep and invisibility
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks for your input guys.
I think the first one is highly debatable. I can see the arguments for both sides.
I wasn't so sure about the 2nd but I hoped it was the case of being able to wound models in close combat.
Anyone else care to argue for or against these 2 scenarios?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/02 14:23:26
Subject: Mawloc - Terror from the deep and invisibility
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You do not target a unit with TftD, therefore no, Invisibility does not apply in any way. CLose combat has no restrictions about TftD, TftD has no restrictions placed on it - you can explicitly be placed ANYWHERE You like with DS, so this includes close combat unless told otherwise - so you can indeed wound models, friend or foe, in close combat
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/02 14:24:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/02 17:08:03
Subject: Mawloc - Terror from the deep and invisibility
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I think Yakface did a pretty good job of arguing for *and* against question 1.
|
|
 |
 |
|