Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/13 20:04:39
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Evasive Eshin Assassin
|
assume a unit of 3.
do i... choose a target, roll for scatter, reroll if i dont like it since its twin linked, place marker and then roll to place 5 more templates around the first?
also...
a model can be hit multiple times if its covered by multiple templates right?
is this right?
sorry, its been awhile for me
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/16 13:50:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/13 20:09:42
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
On the special rules section there's a how-to on how to handle multiple blasts (it's like 4/5 of the way through the rules).
You fire, scatter, and count how many are hit. You do this however many times, then you add up all your to hits scored and then proceed to roll those for wounds.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/13 20:10:30
Subject: Re:wyvern - am i using it correctly?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
A model can be hit by multiple blasts, total up the hits and apply to the unit using the centre of the first blast for the "origin" for wound allocation purposes.
And stormshard mortary thingumms are Heavy 2 and each Wyvern has 2 of such, so that's 11 rather than 5 more templates...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/13 20:16:43
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
victorydeluxe wrote:On the special rules section there's a how-to on how to handle multiple blasts (it's like 4/5 of the way through the rules).
You fire, scatter, and count how many are hit. You do this however many times, then you add up all your to hits scored and then proceed to roll those for wounds.
Except this is not the process for the Stormshard Mortar.
The Stormshard Mortar is not just a blast weapon, it is Barrage as well, so you use the barrage rules to fire all of the Stormshard Mortars in the squadron.
Check the barrage rules for the full process, but basically you roll to hit, use the Twin Linked re-roll if you want to, then any subsequent shots will be placed adjacent and touching that first blast marker in the direction of the scatter die. On a hit you can place it adjacent and touching or directly over the first marker or touching a portion of the first marker, then you roll the scatter die for the subsequent shots to place them adjacent and touching or directly over the first marker or touching a portion of the first marker, rinse and repeat. This is a quick summary of the process.
for the full rules check the barrage rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/13 20:20:07
Subject: Re:wyvern - am i using it correctly?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Quanar wrote: total up the hits and apply to the unit using the centre of the first blast for the "origin" for wound allocation purposes.
Isn't it from the firer? In the wound allocation section it says to allocate wounds from the wound pool to the enemy model closest to the firing unit. I believe it reiterates this in the section for multiple blasts as well under special rules.
DeathReaper wrote: victorydeluxe wrote:On the special rules section there's a how-to on how to handle multiple blasts (it's like 4/5 of the way through the rules).
You fire, scatter, and count how many are hit. You do this however many times, then you add up all your to hits scored and then proceed to roll those for wounds.
Except this is not the process for the Stormshard Mortar.
The Stormshard Mortar is not just a blast weapon, it is Barrage as well, so you use the barrage rules to fire all of the Stormshard Mortars in the squadron.
Check the barrage rules for the full process, but basically you roll to hit, use the Twin Linked re-roll if you want to, then any subsequent shots will be placed adjacent and touching that first blast marker in the direction of the scatter die. On a hit you can place it adjacent and touching or directly over the first marker or touching a portion of the first marker, then you roll the scatter die for the subsequent shots to place them adjacent and touching or directly over the first marker or touching a portion of the first marker, rinse and repeat. This is a quick summary of the process.
for the full rules check the barrage rules.
I don't have the AM codex, the way OP wrote it I assumed it was just multiple blasts.
Well, now I know!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/13 20:21:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/13 20:29:23
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
It would be from the firer but it is barrage so it uses the center of the marker for wound allocation.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/13 21:45:01
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
DeathReaper wrote: victorydeluxe wrote:On the special rules section there's a how-to on how to handle multiple blasts (it's like 4/5 of the way through the rules).
You fire, scatter, and count how many are hit. You do this however many times, then you add up all your to hits scored and then proceed to roll those for wounds.
Except this is not the process for the Stormshard Mortar.
The Stormshard Mortar is not just a blast weapon, it is Barrage as well, so you use the barrage rules to fire all of the Stormshard Mortars in the squadron.
Check the barrage rules for the full process, but basically you roll to hit, use the Twin Linked re-roll if you want to, then any subsequent shots will be placed adjacent and touching that first blast marker in the direction of the scatter die. On a hit you can place it adjacent and touching or directly over the first marker or touching a portion of the first marker, then you roll the scatter die for the subsequent shots to place them adjacent and touching or directly over the first marker or touching a portion of the first marker, rinse and repeat. This is a quick summary of the process.
for the full rules check the barrage rules.
Almost correct. Note that hits can be placed touching any previously placed blast marker, not just the first, so you can daisy chain with the hits. Only the arrows must be placed adjacent to the first one. OH yeah, and all those blasts after the first can also reroll to hit thanks to twin-linked. Once all markers are placed, count up the number covered and roll to wound (with a reroll due to shred). Per new multiple barrage rules, casualties/cover are determined from the center of the first blast marker.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/13 22:04:44
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
don_mondo wrote:OH yeah, and all those blasts after the first can also reroll to hit thanks to twin-linked.
Debatable.
Only the initial marker is said to Scatter.
The subsiquent markers do not Scatter (that involves a scatter dice, 2D6 and lots of funky rules), they are simply placed using a scatter dice (note the difference between Scatter and scatter dice).
Twin-linked also states that you must re-roll the 2D6 as well. Something that can't be done, because it wasn't a Scatter.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/13 22:51:57
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
don_mondo wrote: DeathReaper wrote: victorydeluxe wrote:On the special rules section there's a how-to on how to handle multiple blasts (it's like 4/5 of the way through the rules).
You fire, scatter, and count how many are hit. You do this however many times, then you add up all your to hits scored and then proceed to roll those for wounds.
Except this is not the process for the Stormshard Mortar.
The Stormshard Mortar is not just a blast weapon, it is Barrage as well, so you use the barrage rules to fire all of the Stormshard Mortars in the squadron.
Check the barrage rules for the full process, but basically you roll to hit, use the Twin Linked re-roll if you want to, then any subsequent shots will be placed adjacent and touching that first blast marker in the direction of the scatter die. On a hit you can place it adjacent and touching or directly over the first marker or touching a portion of the first marker, then you roll the scatter die for the subsequent shots to place them adjacent and touching or directly over the first marker or touching a portion of the first marker, rinse and repeat. This is a quick summary of the process.
for the full rules check the barrage rules.
Almost correct. Note that hits can be placed touching any previously placed blast marker, not just the first, so you can daisy chain with the hits. Only the arrows must be placed adjacent to the first one. OH yeah, and all those blasts after the first can also reroll to hit thanks to twin-linked. Once all markers are placed, count up the number covered and roll to wound (with a reroll due to shred). Per new multiple barrage rules, casualties/cover are determined from the center of the first blast marker.
I was accurate in my quick summary and noted that you need to check the barrage rules for the full rules. there are other steps that I didnt cover because it was a quick summary.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 00:25:32
Subject: Re:wyvern - am i using it correctly?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Wait when Barrage fires directly you still take from the center of the blast correct? Not like the closest model? Meaning it's always the closest model to the center of the blast?
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 00:35:18
Subject: Re:wyvern - am i using it correctly?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Hollismason wrote:Wait when Barrage fires directly you still take from the center of the blast correct? Not like the closest model? Meaning it's always the closest model to the center of the blast?
Yes, direct or indirect it's always closest to the blast marker.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/16 13:17:42
Subject: Re:wyvern - are they worth it?
|
 |
Evasive Eshin Assassin
|
now that i know how they work... how well do they work? any experience with them?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/16 13:23:54
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
grendel083 wrote: don_mondo wrote:OH yeah, and all those blasts after the first can also reroll to hit thanks to twin-linked.
Debatable.
Only the initial marker is said to Scatter.
The subsiquent markers do not Scatter (that involves a scatter dice, 2D6 and lots of funky rules), they are simply placed using a scatter dice (note the difference between Scatter and scatter dice).
Twin-linked also states that you must re-roll the 2D6 as well. Something that can't be done, because it wasn't a Scatter.
Long thread on this somewhere around here. In that thread it's also pointed out that GWs article on the Wyvern in WD did state that you got to reroll the subsequent scatters. Sure, it's WD and not a proper FAQ, but it is an answer.
DeathReaper wrote: don_mondo wrote: DeathReaper wrote: victorydeluxe wrote:On the special rules section there's a how-to on how to handle multiple blasts (it's like 4/5 of the way through the rules).
You fire, scatter, and count how many are hit. You do this however many times, then you add up all your to hits scored and then proceed to roll those for wounds.
Except this is not the process for the Stormshard Mortar.
The Stormshard Mortar is not just a blast weapon, it is Barrage as well, so you use the barrage rules to fire all of the Stormshard Mortars in the squadron.
Check the barrage rules for the full process, but basically you roll to hit, use the Twin Linked re-roll if you want to, then any subsequent shots will be placed adjacent and touching that first blast marker in the direction of the scatter die. On a hit you can place it adjacent and touching or directly over the first marker or touching a portion of the first marker, then you roll the scatter die for the subsequent shots to place them adjacent and touching or directly over the first marker or touching a portion of the first marker, rinse and repeat. This is a quick summary of the process.
for the full rules check the barrage rules.
Almost correct. Note that hits can be placed touching any previously placed blast marker, not just the first, so you can daisy chain with the hits. Only the arrows must be placed adjacent to the first one. OH yeah, and all those blasts after the first can also reroll to hit thanks to twin-linked. Once all markers are placed, count up the number covered and roll to wound (with a reroll due to shred). Per new multiple barrage rules, casualties/cover are determined from the center of the first blast marker.
I was accurate in my quick summary and noted that you need to check the barrage rules for the full rules. there are other steps that I didnt cover because it was a quick summary.
Well, other than the bit about all the markers having to touch the first one, sure....
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/16 15:46:53
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
That is why I said "for the full rules check the barrage rules." This indicated that there were missing parts and not the full rules...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/16 15:47:36
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/16 16:07:00
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
i thought under the new rules you place first blast, tally hits, resolve wounds, then move on to second blast.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/16 16:09:50
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
deviantduck wrote:i thought under the new rules you place first blast, tally hits, resolve wounds, then move on to second blast.
That is correct for blast weapons, but the Wyvern is a Barrage weapon, it works a bit differently.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/16 16:10:04
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/16 16:40:55
Subject: Re:wyvern - are they worth it?
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
They're pretty amazing for deleting any xenos infantry squad. Due to the ridiculousness of the barrage rules (shot comes from the center of the marker) they are fantastic at sniping out characters or heavy weapons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/16 22:29:21
Subject: Re:wyvern - are they worth it?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Trasvi wrote:
They're pretty amazing for deleting any xenos infantry squad. Due to the ridiculousness of the barrage rules (shot comes from the center of the marker) they are fantastic at sniping out characters or heavy weapons.
Not just Xenos but Marines and Daemons too. For 195 points you're getting 12 S4 blasts that reroll just about anything. They should wipe a unit of 5 Terminators or 10 Marines with each volley, basically meaning they earn their points back pretty much wvety single turn they fire. There is not a more points efficient AI unit in the entire game.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/16 22:46:47
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
Usernamesareannoying, just in case you missed it, I thought there are two twin linked mortars per wyvern, giving a total of 4 blast templates. A unit of three should give 12. That's what I remember it to be but I do not own e codex. Automatically Appended Next Post: Maybe 12 blasts can sway the vote towards good? If you were already considering them when they were 6 blasts. Automatically Appended Next Post: And ignores cover. So no jink against wyvern. Pretty decent I'd say, but I have not played against them before.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/16 22:48:16
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 00:07:10
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
|
I saw a unit of two of them go to town against a khorn bloodletter army. It was absurd. They pretty much wiped out a unit a turn. *shudder*
I run an infantry heavy eldar army that depends on its cover saves, so these tanks are pretty much a hard counter to what I'm trying to do.
|
Sable Brotherhood - 2000pts
Wraithsight Corsairs - 2000pts
Void Angels - 500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 01:08:58
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Answer:
A Void shield network, they are now quite powerful.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 01:51:41
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Cackling Chaos Conscript
|
I played 6 the other day (3 units of 2). I felt dirty.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 05:30:11
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
Geeze I felt dirty playing with just two, I can't even imagine playing with 6.
Yes they are very much worth it. 65 points for 4 X-link, shredding blasts. Beats the pants off a 60 point heavy weapon squad with 3 mortars.
|
My IG WIP log
40k is as exciting as riding a pony, which doesn't sound very exciting.......
But the pony is 300 feet tall and covered in CHAINSAWS! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 09:37:55
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Basically its a better version of a TFC for 35 points less and the TFC is one of the strongest HS slots available to marines...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 12:16:57
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Only downside is the Mortars are split between two seperate weapons.
So if it moves, it's firepower is halved.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 12:29:24
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
grendel083 wrote:Only downside is the Mortars are split between two seperate weapons.
So if it moves, it's firepower is halved.
But on the plus side, a weapon destroyed only takes out half its firepower.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 12:30:54
Subject: wyvern - am i using it correctly and are they any good?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Compare to the TFC or a Mortar team and the fact you get half your firepower when moving is no downside at all.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|