Switch Theme:

Decimator Siege Engine, Dedication and Daemon of...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

So the exact quote in IA: Apocalypse goes thusly

"Note that a dedicated Decimator counts as a daemon of the appropriate alignment when used in a Codex: Chaos Daemons army."

Now, on initially reading this, I just assumed that it meant that a DSE dedicated to Nurgle also benefitted from the rules for Daemon Of Nurgle (ie shrouded, slow and purposeful, defensive grenades) in addition to the rules for Dedication to.. (IWND etc..)

However, on reading some old threads, and as a result of a discussion I was involved in over in tactics a while back, I'm aware that there is a line of thinking that it merely counts as a daemon of.. for the purposes of effects that target those sorts of daemon (hatred, Warp Storm table etc) but doesn't receive any further benefit/drawback.

Interested to hear others opinions and if they can offer any RAW for either way of interpreting.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/29 19:16:05


We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It is simply a daemon of nurgle, it gains no benefits from the codex though, just can be targeted by spells specifying daemon of... Etc
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

But the CD codex states

"daemons of x have...."

"daemon of..." Isn't a special rule in and of itself, merely a combination of your alignment and the daemon USR.

If, as you say, it is simply a daemon of Nurgle, then, RAW, within the CD codex (but not CSM) it benefits from the extra rules for being so.

EDIT

But elsewhere in the book it refers to the collections of USRs as "Daemon Of X"

So I guess it boils down to, do FW mean "counts as "Daemon of X' " or "counts as a daemon of X"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/29 20:18:55


We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






I asked FW this very question, among others, a few months ago. Here is their response:

Hi Alex,

Thank you for your patience. In answer to your questions:

Melee bonuses for walkers work as written, this does mean that walkers which voluntarily reduce their attacks score by replacing close combat weapons with guns will be at a disadvantage in close combat as they lose both a point in their Attacks score and the bonus Attack for additional close combat weapon, this is not a mistake. As with all our rules we appreciate all feedback on the effectiveness of these rules and will take it into consideration when next we update them.

Decimators do not gain the bonuses of the Daemon of (insert name of Chaos power) special rule, they merely count as the appropriate type of Daemon when counting how many such daemons are on the table for certain rules, such as the Warp Storm table in Codex: Daemons.

The Blood Slaughterer's Impaler cannot target Zooming Flyers or Swooping Monstrous or Gargantuan Creatures.

If there is anything further we can do to assist you, or if you have any queries about the information we have requested or provided, please telephone us.

Regards,
Forge World
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

Well, that's not good enough for the tenets of YMDC, but it's good enough for me, for now.

In the interim between the OP and this, I fired a similar email over to FW, will be interesting to see if I get the same result!

We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

When it comes to Forgeworld I accept their Email replies because they are usually consistent, Game Workshop could learn from their daughter company.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: